We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Stay” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale SW / Miramar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale SW / Miramar to your Saves list
Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale SW / Miramar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14700 Hotel Rd, Miramar, FL 33027   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Miramar
Certificate of Excellence
Suwanee, Georgia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Disappointing Stay”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We recently spent one night at this hotel (we had 3 booked) and left very disappointed in our experience. The property itself (lobby, elevator area) is older and looks like it was last renovated some time ago or has some serious wear and tear. The rooms are incredibly small. We had a one bedroom suite with a queen bed, which is the largest bed that would fit in the room. The living room was very tiny, with barely enough room for our daughter's pack and play. The rooms also showed their age, and didn't strike me as being very clean. The main reason we left this hotel early was because of the noise. Part of this was other hotel guests being loud during the night, and this was partly due to thin walls in the rooms. At 11:55pm someone on the floor above us started playing very loud music. After 20 minutes we contacted the front desk and they said they would address it. The music got softer, but over the next 20 minutes it got louder again. We called the front desk and they said they would handle it. The music blared for another couple hours, without getting any softer. It kept our whole family awake. We checked out of the hotel the next morning, and the management apologized and said they would call us, but never did.

  • Stayed August 2015, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald K, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale SW / Miramar, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your providing us with your feedback Julie. As a frequent traveler and father of a 1 1/2 year old toddler, I can understand how frustrating a sleepless night can be. On behalf of the Residence Inn team, we sincerely apologize for the inconveniences experienced during your stay.
While we can't fix the original stay, I would like to speak with you more in-depth about your experience and to see what other solutions may be available. .

I can be reached at 954.874.4007 or donald.kearns@whitelodging.com

I'd also like to apologize for the disappointment in the room accommodations. When I travel I often choose Residence Inn's as well because I enjoy the ability to close the door once my daughter falls asleep in the other room. The rooms were renovated in August 2014 and the square footage of our one-bedroom suites is over 450 sq.ft.

Thank you once again for your feedback and I hope we have the opportunity to show you a better experience in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    53
    15
    8
    10
See reviews for
45
25
7
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015

We stopped just for the night. Got the room 101, huge ceiling! You can sing opera that's eco your voice! Huge room, clean, comfortable beds. Not so impressed with the bathroom, kind of hospital feeling. Missing one towel from the bathroom, only 3, we were 4, called housekeeping services and they brought 2 more in just 2 minutes! Very nice! They don't have free breakfast, it would be a plus! I recommend!







And

Stayed July 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald K, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale SW / Miramar, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time out to provide us with your feedback. We are pleased to hear that the experience was largely enjoyable, except for missing breakfast. We do serve a daily complimentary hot breakfast buffet, which you can find in the main lobby. The hours of breakfast are Monday- Friday: 6am-9am and Saturday-Sunday: 7am-10am.
Stop by again soon to enjoy our delicious breakfast buffet!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
66 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2015

The hotel is situated very near I-75 and convenient to several new business in the MIramar area. The hotel staff are very helpful and friendly and the rooms are clean. This hotel just feels old and could definitely use a face lift. The rooms are small and not typical of the Marriott standard that I have come to know and enjoy. It does have a fitness center and pool, both of which are nice amenities. There are other Marriott properties very near to this location; a Courtyard Hotel is right next door and a brand new Fairfield Inn and Suites is just a few minutes further away. Nice and convenient for a short business trip.

  • Stayed July 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald K, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale SW / Miramar, responded to this review, July 20, 2015
Thank you for taking out the time to provide your feedback from your recent stay BigDawg. Our goal is for our guests to leave feeling 100% satisfied.
The Residence Inn is an all-suite hotel, with our room size ranging from 460 sq ft- 725 sq ft. We most recently completed a renovation of the property in September 2014.
We look forward to the chance of hosting you again on your next trip to the Miramar area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angola
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2015

This is an excellent place to stay wile visiting Florida. Is outside bustling and crowded Miami and next to Fort Lauderdale. This hotel offer a studio or 1 room apartment style with full kitchen, which give you a home atmosphere.

Room Tip: Apartment style hotel with full kitchen and separate bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald K, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale SW / Miramar, responded to this review, July 23, 2015
Thank you for taking the time out to give us your feedback John. The full kitchens in all of our rooms is one of the unique factors that makes us different than other area hotels. We are glad you enjoyed your time at our hotel and hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2015

Samantha very helpful at time of check in. Breakfast buffet was above expectations. The room I had may have been a smoking room at one time because the couch had a smoke like odor to it, but it wasn't the end of the world. Room overall very comfortable. I would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald K, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale SW / Miramar, responded to this review, July 23, 2015
Thank you for taking the time out of your day to provide us your feedback from your visit. We take pride in getting great reviews on our service. We celebrate these reviews as a team and the staff loves hearing positive words after all the hard work that is put in.
Marriott hotels have a non-smoking policy in all hotels which is enforced with a $250.00 fine per smoking incident.
We hope for the opportunity to host you at our properties again in the futue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2015

Check-in was quick and the staff were very nice. The room was huge with vaulted ceilings. They definitely did a wonderful job with the updates. The room was extremely clean. The bed was wonderful and the couch was ok, had funky smell on pillows. Bathroom was very nice and the water pressure in the shower was great. It was so nice to stay here because it was like a little apartment. After staying in many hotels with standard rooms, I thought about giving this place a try. For the price, which was just about the same as regular hotels, it was beyond expectation. The maid service was on point and the hotel was actually very quiet. Breakfast was good, they had plenty of options. They had hot food and an oatmeal station that I loved because of all the toppings. Plenty of seating too. The pool was small but we weren't into swimming.

Room Tip: I asked for a room away from the basketball court.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald K, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale SW / Miramar, responded to this review, July 23, 2015
Thank you for taking the time out to provide us with your feedback from your stay Lauren. I am glad you were able to take advantage of and enjoy the many unique amenities and room features that we offer.
We look forward to your next visit to see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramar, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2015

I checked in earlier today and had a minor problem with my room with a few ants. Other than that the room was pretty great, very new, clean, functional, and comfortable. The property and the room itself would get it 3.5-4 stars. For the price of the rooms, they're very well matched with the cost. Usually for the same amount, it's hard to get rooms nicer than the ones they offer here which, as stated earlier, are a notch above your standard extended stay. However, I'm giving 5 stars purely for the service. From the moment we checked in, the front desk representative, Samantha, was exceptionally pleasant and welcoming. When I had the issue, she went above and beyond to fix said issue and because I liked my original room so much but they had to spray for the ants, she let me relocate to a different room for the night without the hint of annoyance. I know it doesn't sound like a huge deal but it was more her willingness to help and niceness that took me back. She even left me a hand written apology note! I think the closest I've gotten to it is a generic corporate apology statement from the W after a really bad stay there. As someone who travels frequently, the kind of unconditional sincere niceness from hotel staff is REALLY difficult to find pretty much anywhere. So props to this Residence Inn for great customer service, I hope they value their employees as much as their customers do!

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms seem slightly more renovated, there was a difference in the kitchen appliances b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miramar
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ft Lauderdale / Miramar
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ft. Lauderdale SW/Miramar
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale SW / Miramar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Miramar
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale West / Pembroke Pines
0.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Fort Lauderdale Pembroke Pines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale SW / Miramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale SW / Miramar

Address: 14700 Hotel Rd, Miramar, FL 33027
Location: United States > Florida > Miramar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Miramar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale SW / Miramar 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minutes from Ft. Lauderdale and Miami, the newly-renovated Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Miramar offers easy access to sandy beaches, shopping at Sawgrass Mills, restaurants, and the sporting venues for the Heat, the Marlins, the Dolphins, and the Panthers. Beautifully-appointed suites feature full kitchens with new stainless steel appliaces, free WiFi, and separate living and sleeping areas. We're even pet-friendly! Enjoy our onsite amenities including an outdoor pool and Sport Court, free daily hot breakfast, weekday evening social and 24-hour gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale SW / Miramar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Sw/Miramar Hotel Miramar
Residence Inn Miramar
Miramar Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale SW / Miramar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.