We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale SW / Miramar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale SW / Miramar to your Saves list
Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale SW / Miramar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14700 Hotel Rd, Miramar, FL 33027   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Spa Package
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Miramar
Kitchener, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Adequate hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

Similar to other Residence Inns, but this one was not as quiet. Adequate but fewer kitchen amenities. Good breakfast buffet. Two computers in lobby.
Need a car. Not much close by.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    40
    12
    7
    9
See reviews for
36
17
4
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kissimmee, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

We stayed at this Residence Inn overnight as we were taking a cruise out of Port Everglades the next morning. We wanted something reasonably priced and we found this gem. Although the hotel appears older, everything was very well kept and clean. The rooms are so spacious, with a kitchenette, sitting area and separate bedroom(s). We chose the one bedroom suite which was just fine for a one night or multiple night stay. Bathrooms are large with a separate sink/vanity. Free breakfast buffet each morning with the usual fair, waffles, bagels, cereals, etc. I have to give kudos to the hostess. She did a great job, keeping everything stocked, considering how busy it was. There is plenty of seating in the buffet area.
Only drawback I could see was the parking lot was not very well lit, possibly due to ambiance. I was concerned about being on the first floor, but the young lady checking us in moved us to the second floor quickly when I requested it. Found out later that there is on-site security at the entry doors from the parking lot. I would definitely stay there again and regret not staying for more than a stopover the first time. 15 minutes to the airport, cruise ships, shopping and dining. Each of the staff that we encountered was friendly and professional and eager to assist.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norcross, GA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

On a positive note, the front desk staff was friendly and as accomodating as they were able to be. However, the overall condition of most of the hotel was unappealing with a very run-down look and general housekeeping was very lacking.

While the lobby is fresh and appealing, once you cross the threshold into the area where the guest rooms are (an adjacent building) your the positive first impression is quickly forgotten. You are immediately accosted with the pungent smell of laundry soap. While I recognize this should not be unusual since the laundry is clearly on the main floor, the smell is really quite overwhelming as if you are being suffocated with overly perfumey soap.

Next, we arrived in our room. I was traveling with my mother and husband. We were in a studio and so we gave the bed to my mom and we took the sofa bed. When I asked for an extra blanket for my mom all that they could manage was an extra sheet. I was told they were sold out. Also, we discovered a stain on the matress of the sofa bed- yuck! and there was trash behind the couch. A full kitchen is nice but not so much when you find glasses in the cabinet that haven't been cleaned! How hard could it be, there is also a dishwasher!!

Ironically, although the main floor hallway smelled of soap, the carpets (in the hallways) looked as if they had not been cleaned in months or even years.

We arrived the night before a family wedding which was taking place the next day in early evening. We made plans to meet some family members for lunch and then returned to the hotel to quickly get ready. I specified in the morning when our room was made up we needed at least 4 bath towels. Upon our return from lunch when we intended to shower and ready ourselves for the wedding, only 2 bath towels had been left, and on a time crunch we had to make due and improvise with those and the hand towels.

I have stayed at many Residence Inns and am rarely disappointed with a Marriott property but this was really a pitiful experience.

While the front desk agent did give me some extra points on account of my inconveniences, the bottom line is that the hotel is very ill-prepared for guests. Having clean hallways, clean rooms (including the glasses, etc. in the kitchen when a full kitchen is provided), responding to requests for extra towels, and having a supply of extra blankets are just basic things. It is hard to understand how these could be so overlooked.

My advice to you is to definitely overlook this property and see what else is around. It suited our purpose but I certainly would not go back.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestsnumberonefan, Manager at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale SW / Miramar, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
I'm very sorry we failed you from a customer service perspective. We have taken your comments into consideration and use them to continue in our efforts in providing our team with the training necessary to overcome these challenges. Please feel free to contact me directly or via email at cristina.andujar@whitelodging.com. We want our guests to have the best stay ever at our Residence Inn by Marriott. Thanks for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

I've stayed in a lot of RI over the years and while this one is in a relatively convenient location, nearby Starbucks, Publix, banks, business park, etc., it is in need of some "spiffing up". My biggest issue w/ any hotel is that you expect the basics to be there, safety, clean room, fully functioning facilities, etc. That is ground zero...well my shower had no (OK, a little) flow of hot water...finding this out late in the evening after a long day is not too fun, but it was passable. I also found that the gym was in poor condition and really could use some new equipment. Finally, while I know the hotel can't pick and choose who stays there, there were some folks who just seemed a bit out of place for a business hotel. I will say that the staff responded quickly to my issues and gave me a generous MR bonus for the issues I had. So net-net, I don't think I'd return to the hotel based on the facilities unless it got a major upgrade...there is a Courtyard just down the block, so that might be a possibility.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

I have just checked in today. After the predominantly rave reviews on TA, I was really excited when I secured it through Priceline last night (we were already in the area visiting family). When we pulled up, the first thing we saw was 2 police cars parked in front of the doorway. My husband and I looked at each but remained optimistic.

Next, I check in and I immediatley ask for the business center b/c my husband had to be on business call in 20 minutes. This was a majorly important aspect of our booking as my husband and I both need to make some work calls during our stay and as we have a toddler with us, we can't work in our room. The business center, as advertised and in pictures, was listed as "full service" business center. I confirmed this before proceeding with my Priceline bid as I knew RI was a possible win and again, the business center aspect of a hotel was crucial.

But this was actually just 2 computers in the corner of the lobby next to the blaring TV. This was not a place where anyone could make business calls or hold meetings. I indicated my concern and the discrepancy from what was advertised. I asked if there was a place nearby conducive for business calls. They didn't know of one. I asked if I could pay to upgrade to a 1 bedroom suite so we could have a room for these calls. I was told that I could not. I could call Priceline to see if they would cancel my reservation and refund me and then book directly with RI for double the price. Or I could cancel my reservation and leave. These were my options. She was not particularly nice or empathetic. From the moment I walked in, I did not feel the amazing customer service I read about at all.

So even though I know Priceline's policies, I sat down in the lobby with my toddler to call (because my husband was now up in the room on a conference call). As I was preparing for my call, 2 cops came from the residence building with a woman in handcuffs and escorted her out of the buidling! Seriously? Now I want to cry because not only is this not going well, but now I'm wondering if this place is even safe?

So I call Priceline and as expected, they wouldn't help upgrade the room or move me to another hotel. They did agree to cancel my reservation. I said I'd get back to them; I certainly can't cancel without booking another hotel first.

I went back to the front desk and asked for the manager to try again. I explained my situation (though I heard him being briefed on my story in the back before he came out to talk to me). He let me tell my story although he already knew what he was going to say - we have no 1 Bedroom suites, we are fully booked. Ok. And yet, 20 minutes ago I had the option of canceling Priceline and rebooking through RI for 199/night to get a 1BR? Okay.

He said he would be happy to cancel my reservatoin and let me go. Wow, they seem really excited to just have me leave. They kept stressing, "we will gladly cancel your reservation and you can go." Perhaps because of the Priceline reduced rate I booked under they want me out? Or is this what they say to everyone? I really don't know. I've never seen such apathetic "customer service" at a hotel. It sucks to be treated like that.

*******

In the spirit of general info for TA reviews, I'll digress for a second and provide other notes and observations so far:

*Room is on the smaller side but okay.
*Full kitchnette with full fridge and even a stove top is nice. Good for families and long stays.
*I haven't seen the pool or gym yet.
*Bed is just a queen bed which was unexpected.Not the end of th world, but dissapointing. We have a toddler who has recently transitioned from a crib, so in recent hotel stays she's slept with us in a king. if we stay, we will have to cram into this queen bed.
*There are two buildings. I go thru a small "courtyard/alley" to go to the residence buidling where my room is. Today is cold so it's a pain but I'm sure it's usually fine.
*Overall, it looks a little rundown and while not dirty, it's not spotless (the bathroom feels a little icky) and def not as clean or as nice as some 2.5 stars in the area. And this is a 3 star.
*This is VERY OVERPRICED for the condition of the hotel.
**********

So moving forward I will either leave today or have to stick it out if I can't find anything else for a decent rate and see if by chance this gets any better. However, once I've been treated poorly, it's kind of hard to really feel any better about it. I did some searching and it's hard to find anything else b/c of the Orange Bowl so we just might be stuck here. And unfortunately , that's how I feel - stuck! If we do stay, I will just have to try my best to put this out of my mind, enjoy my visit to the area and know that I won't ever stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestsnumberonefan, Manager at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale SW / Miramar, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
I'm so sorry we could not accommodate your need for a private area to conduct your business needs. We have learned from your comments and understand the importance of being able to respond accordingly to our customer needs regardless of booking method. I apologize that your stay was not a good one and would love for you to give us another try in the future. We want our guests to have the best stay ever at our Residence Inn by Marriott. Thanks for your feedback! Please feel free to contact me directly or via email at cristina.andujar@whitelodging.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

Had to stay for 10 days in June as my son was having an operation. unfortunately he was already incapacitated when we arrived as he had dislocated his shoulder ,which led to a very stressful journey from the UK. I was bowled over by the amazingly helpful and reassuring welcome from Ashley the manager. This wonderful service continued throughout the stay with so many kindnesses shown by Ashley and her staff. The one bed suite with sofa bed was spacious and comfortable but the kitchen was a little inadequately equipped. The stove top and micro wave ( with no instructions) were not enough for living there for 2 weeks However the breakfasts were so ample and with the weekly social events we didnt go hungry. The laudary service was helpful and the housekeeping was very efficient. All over the stay was excellent and I hope to stay there again under more pleasant circumstances.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

We made reservations to stay two nights this past weekend at this hotel. The first room that we got assigned to had a moldy and a fumigating smell. Was unhappy with the smell so I tried to open windows and noticed MOLD all around the window and down the wall behind the curtains. We immediately asked to change rooms. The second room we were given was much nicer and cleaner BUT when I unfolded the couch to make the bed for my son, the matress had bright red blood stains in different places (disgusting!!!). We called and ask to switch matresses and they were not able to do so nor did we have any linens to cover the bed. We refused to stay in that room if unable to fix problem and we were told that there were no more rooms available. We ended up leaving to another hotel. Cheap prices from priceline gave us what we paid for. JUNK! The lady from the front counter was under staff and kept us waiting for answers till about 1am from our 11pm check in time. Will never stay at a Residence Inn!!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale SW / Miramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale SW / Miramar

Address: 14700 Hotel Rd, Miramar, FL 33027
Location: United States > Florida > Miramar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Miramar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale SW / Miramar 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minutes from Ft. Lauderdale and Miami, the newly-renovated Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Miramar offers easy access to sandy beaches, shopping at Sawgrass Mills, restaurants, and the sporting venues for the Heat, the Marlins, the Dolphins, and the Panthers. Beautifully-appointed suites feature full kitchens with new stainless steel appliaces, free WiFi, and separate living and sleeping areas. We're even pet-friendly! Enjoy our onsite amenities including an outdoor pool and Sport Court, free daily hot breakfast, weekday evening social and 24-hour gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale SW / Miramar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Sw/Miramar Hotel Miramar
Residence Inn Miramar
Miramar Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale SW / Miramar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.