We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bloody sheets!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Fort Lauderdale SW / Miramar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Courtyard Fort Lauderdale SW / Miramar to your Saves list
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale SW / Miramar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14500 SW 29th Street, Miramar, FL 33027   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Dining Deal
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Miramar
Weston, Florida, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bloody sheets!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I stayed here for one night and in general the hotel seems like a nice place to stay. Polite employees, spacious rooms, and a comfy bed. Everything was fine until I went to take a shower. The tub was very slippery as if there was some shampoo residue once I got in it. I almost tripped trying to get in it. When It came time for sleep there were only 2 small pillows which looked like were just thrown on the bed and it looked kind of odd since it was a king sized bed. There was an extra sheet, pillow, and a blanket in the closet which we used but after I covered myself with the extra blanket my boyfriend pointed out a big stain on it. I took a look and sure enough there was dried blood on it!! And not just small drops, but I'm talking about a big menstrual oops moment. Considering the other reviews complaining about housekeeping I'd have to agree and say they seriously need new people for the job.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI_Merrillville, General Manager at Courtyard Fort Lauderdale SW / Miramar, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am very sorry that you ran into a cleanliness issue. That sounds terrible no matter what the stain was. Please believe that is not normal here. I am the new General Manager and in my two months here we have been really focusing on getting the Housekeeping department performing at a high level. We can always improve but please know that I check rooms every day after they have already been inspected once and now I will be looking in to the bundles of extra bedding to see if there are more issues there.

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    29
    12
    8
    3
See reviews for
17
10
4
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Key West, Florida
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Suetannia and the rest of the Courtyard Miramar associates are outstanding. The Bistro breakfast staff did a great job each morning. The French toast was as good as any I've had anywhere. Most impressive was the level of engagement on the part of the staff; everyone seemed genuine in their desire to see that we were happy. Excellent stay for the weekend

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI_Merrillville, General Manager at Courtyard Fort Lauderdale SW / Miramar, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for the great comments. We have recognized Suetannia in front of all the hotel staff for getting mentioned on TripAdvisor. Please come see us again.

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Usually the nicer hotels are way out east. This hotel is west, located by i-75 and I booked these for a few of the executives I work with. I went by and the staff was very attentive and the place was really clean and nice. The rooms looked great. I haven't heard any bad feedback from the execs. As a matter of fact one of them always requests that I book him here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI_Merrillville, General Manager at Courtyard Fort Lauderdale SW / Miramar, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We love to hear that people enjoy our hotel. Let us know if we can do anything for your people.

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

My family and I went to Florida over Memorial Day weekend to visit my in-laws. Because there were so many of us, we decided to stay at the Marriott which was 20 minutes away from their house. To my surprise it was a nice hotel. This was our first time staying at a Marriott and thought this one was very modern! The lobby reminded me of a chic downtown NY boutique hotel! They even had a very nice pool with a very cool seating area which gives you a resort feeling. The rooms were basic, but very confortable. What I really liked was that inside the hotel was a mini mart that not only allows you to purchase snacks, but you can also purchase beer at a reasonable price. The hotel also has a cafe that sells Starbucks coffee, muffins, etc, but we walked a short distance to Starbucks instead because the coffee is better! If you walk in the opposite direction, you will find a great Mexican restaurant, Tulum Mexican Cantina. Although we were suppose to rest our heads at the hotel, we ended up spending more time there than at my in-laws!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI_Merrillville, General Manager at Courtyard Fort Lauderdale SW / Miramar, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
I am glad that you had a good time here. I disagree with you about our coffee though. It is as Starbucks as Starbucks can be. :) I suppose that you can get a few more options in a full Starbucks store but next time you come I will make your coffee and we will see if you think theirs is better.
Thank you for the comments and please come see us again.

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halton Hills, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I booked this on Priceline, and was placed in this hotel. It was okay, checkin was okay, but when I went to my room, it wasn't my room, someone else was inside. I went back downstairs, and they placed me in a room (king bed w/ sofa), we asked if there was 2 queens as there was 3 of us and they said there was none.

Upon entering the room it smelled as if they sprayed lysol or something quick and give me this room. After a couple hours the smell went away. In the room next to us we had a screaming kid and we could hear them next door. Asked to changed rooms, they said none are left and they could see in a couple hours.

A couple hours pass, and we asked again, nothing. It's bedtime and we just want to sleep at this point, so we pulled out the sofa bed and saw "something" on the mattress. It looked liked urine and fecal matter. Makes sense, lysol smell.

Went back down and showed them a picture and they were utterly disgusted. Surprise surprise, a new room magically opened up literally 20mins after asking.

New room was okay, no screaming kid, no nasty matter on the pull out couch for my brother to sleep on. All was well.

I really lost respect to the Marriott chain of hotels. The staff put me in the wrong room, altering someone to call security to the floor, then clearly lied to me about no rooms free after noise issues and then finding housekeeping is so poor that they didn't note that the sofa bed should've been changed.

Try the hotel across the road, i'm sure you won't have the same issues.

On a positive note, the staff at front was nice (although lied to me), free parking and free wifi was nice to have.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joanna b, Manager at Courtyard Fort Lauderdale SW / Miramar, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel.

We have passed on your concerns to the appropriate department and will use your comments to only better our hotel.

If you need any assistance with making any future reservations, please feel free to contact me directly at Joanna.Brown@whitelodging.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Bermuda
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I stayed at this hotel and really enjoyed my stay. The hotel was not hard to find. The room was great, and it was clean, comfortable and had a nice deco. I would stay at this hotel again. The breakfast was not free, but was reasonable priced.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joanna b, Manager at Courtyard Fort Lauderdale SW / Miramar, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

A lower than average courtyard. Lacked cleanliness, ie need for vacuuming, molding creeping in corners of wallpaper in bathroom. No lotion in toilette offerings. The gym only had a few machines and no stationary bikes which is pretty standard for most hotels. There is a Hilton across the street and residence inn next door, would suggest trying those instead.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI_Merrillville, General Manager at Courtyard Fort Lauderdale SW / Miramar, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I took over the hotel four days after your stay. I encourage you to come back and try us again. You should find that most of your issues have been improved upon greatly.
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Fort Lauderdale SW / Miramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Fort Lauderdale SW / Miramar

Address: 14500 SW 29th Street, Miramar, FL 33027
Location: United States > Florida > Miramar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Miramar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Fort Lauderdale SW / Miramar 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Fort Lauderdale SW/Miramar is ideally locate4d among Miramar, FL hotels, between Fort Lauderdale and Miami, and features newly-renovated guest rooms. This great location is nearby some of South Florida's top destinations including Sun Life Stadium, Ft. Lauderdale Beach, and Sawgrass Mall. Business travelers will appreciate the close proximity to the offices of Comcast, Humana, and Quest Diagnostics. Guests will be welcomed with a speedy check-in as they enter the modern lobby highlighted by private media pod work stations and the touch-screen GoBoard(R) displaying news, weather, and traffic conditions. The modern guest rooms feature brand-new HD TVs, plush bedding, free WiFi, and an in-room mini-fridge and microwave. Start your day off with a healthy breakfast, and unwind in the eving with a juicy burger paired with a glass of craft beer or wine at the onsite Bistro restaurant. The 24-hour fitness center is the perfect place to maintain your active life-style on the road, and guests love to soak in the Florida sun by the heated outdoor pool and patio. With over 1,200 sq. Ft. Of flexible event space, this hotel is also a great venue for small business meetings and receptions. The Courtyard Fort Lauderdale SW/Miramar offers high-tech amenities and newly-renovated accommodations that make this one of the best Miramar, FL hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard Fort Lauderdale SW / Miramar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Sw / Miramar Hotel Miramar
Courtyard Miramar
Miramar Marriott
Miramar Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Fort Lauderdale SW / Miramar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.