We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meh” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Fort Lauderdale SW / Miramar

Save Saved
You added Courtyard Fort Lauderdale SW / Miramar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com Courtyard.com
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale SW / Miramar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14500 SW 29th Street, Miramar, FL 33027   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #5 of 6 hotels in Miramar
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Meh”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

A lower than average courtyard. Lacked cleanliness, ie need for vacuuming, molding creeping in corners of wallpaper in bathroom. No lotion in toilette offerings. The gym only had a few machines and no stationary bikes which is pretty standard for most hotels. There is a Hilton across the street and residence inn next door, would suggest trying those instead.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI_Merrillville, General Manager at Courtyard Fort Lauderdale SW / Miramar, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I took over the hotel four days after your stay. I encourage you to come back and try us again. You should find that most of your issues have been improved upon greatly.
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    26
    8
    6
    3
See reviews for
12
7
4
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

My business trip was extended by an additional day, and the Hampton Inn could not accomodate me for 1 additional day, so I had to quickly find a place to stay, and it was suggested that I go to the Courtyard, and which I did, and yes it was $10 more per night, I was desparate and could not squabble. Upon my arrival, I was in total shock! This hotel was a breath of fresh air!, very modern and clean! The front desk personnel was not wearing stuffy attire and was extremely friendly and helpful.
When I got to my room, I was more shocked!, The rooms were extremely large, and absolutely GORGEOUS and CLEAN! It reminded me of home, no detail was forgotten, I was so sad that I had to spend two nights at the outdated Hamptons, when I could have had fun at the bar/lounge area here , or just lounge in my beautiful room which was so very beautiful and relaxing and the work area was awesome, my deskchair didnot bump into the bed like it did at the Hamptons.
I was able to go SHOPPING, which was fun because it was only 1.5 minutes away. Kudos to the Courtyard. I was very sadi to leave!

Room Tip: Go with the Flow, and enjoy the area, absolutely awesome!! Restaurants and shopping, I do believe y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joanna b, Manager at Courtyard Fort Lauderdale SW / Miramar, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay, and as well sad that you could not stay longer. We hope to see you again soon at the Courtyard Miramar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

I got to stay at this place with my family for just one night and got this in a bid on Priceline for 50 bucks for which it was a great value.

Clean rooms and nice deco although location was not great at all. It was a little far from everything.

I may stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joanna b, Manager at Courtyard Fort Lauderdale SW / Miramar, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay.

We hope to see you again soon at the Courtyard Miramar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

After bidding for a Miramar room on Priceline and getting this Courtyard, I got nervous based on recent reviews and tried to cancel, which of course is impossible. So I hoped for the best – and as it turned out, my 3-day stay was great with no problems at all.

We arrived after midnight. I called at 11:30 pm to let them know we'd arrive by 12:30 am. This is important … When we got there they said we had the last room, and there were no rooms anywhere from Miami to West Palm Beach. Possibly a slight exaggeration, but we later heard there were 31 conventions in S. Fla. that weekend. This can happen – especially in the winter. They could have resold our room for 3 times what we paid for it – they turned someone away while we were standing there checking in. So be proactive and call in advance to reconfirm.

Once we were checked in, we really did not encounter any of the problems described by recent reviewers. The rooms seem newly renovated. We had no problems with housekeeping or the cleanliness of the room. We had a balcony door that opened which was nice. We had no problems with management or staff. Breakfast was not included – it may be at a regular, higher room rate. They have a nice coffee shop in the lobby, which seems to be the new design for Courtyards. We had no problems with the free wifi. Didn't use the pool, which is kind of small but probably good for kids. Didn't use the fitness room, which also looked good. The location is fairly upscale/suburban and safe, with new development all around. There's a Publix supermarket and Walgreens in nearby shopping centers.

When we left, we spent a night in a recently renovated 2-star hotel in another city and had some things we didn’t have here: twice as many accessible electrical outlets, extra towels, better placement of lighting and mirrors for putting on makeup, free breakfast, and a safe. So although the Courtyard was good and did a fine job of delivering what was promised, I can't give it a 5, just a solid 4. I would recommend it and I would stay there again if I had to be this area again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joanna b, Manager at Courtyard Fort Lauderdale SW / Miramar, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Courtyard in Miramar.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Please feel free to contact me directly if I can be of any assistance while make arrangements at Joanna.Brown@Whitelodging.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

My family and I checked into this hotel on Friday, February 2nd for an overnight stay to attend the Miami Beach Antiques Show the following morning. We reserved three rooms. The first room had leftover takeout containers in the refrigerator. The second room had dirty coffee cups and an ashtray with used cigarettes on the balcony. The third room had a remote control left in the middle of the bedsheets (which naturally raises the question of whether the sheets were actually even changed between guests) and a giant black hair on the pillow. While the staff did apologize for the issues (and came up to the room to re-change the sheets), the fact that all three of our rooms had housekeeping issues lends some doubt as to the overall cleanliness of the rooms. We were all very grateful to check out of the hotel the following morning and will likely not be returning to this location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joanna b, Manager at Courtyard Fort Lauderdale SW / Miramar, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to review the Courtyard by Marriott in Miramar.

I want to apologize for the issues that you had encountered here. We have passed on all of these comments to the correct deparments so that this will not happen again.

I am glad to hear that our staff was accomodating and were able to help.

Please, if I can be of any assitance if you are ever back in the area, please feel free to contact me directly at Joanna.Brown@whitelodging.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

My family's experience at this Marriott was appalling. We were treated sub-human for the entirety of our stay by the staff. It was truly one of the worst hotel experiences that I have ever had. We had never been to Miami, and asked for help with cabs and transportation, which they just handed us the number to the cab company and didn't offer to help us out since we were unfamiliar with the area. This resulted in the cab drivers getting lost and had us waiting in the lobby for over an hour one night for a cab that never showed. We ended up walking across the street to the Hilton Garden Inn and eating at their restaurant instead of the one in the lobby here. Additionally, the Garden Inn employees offered to give us a shuttle to the shopping mall down the street because we had had such a terrible experience at the Courtyard!! To top everything off our reservation was screwed up and we were checked out prematurely.

Room Tip: Choose a room across the street at the Hilton Garden Inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joanna b, Manager at Courtyard Fort Lauderdale SW / Miramar, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Value Guest,

I do apologize for any inconvenience that this may have caused your wonderful get away to Miami. I can understand how difficult it is to come to a place where you know nothing about. It is unexpectable what you experience here at the hotel. We have made a few changes with staff, and I would like more than anything for you and your guests to come back to the hotel and try us one more time.
Thank you for your feedback and time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

Room is nice, but overall is not clean, noisy with drilling going on in the building , staff is about polite, one was rude . Restaurant is appalling . Outside area is not light up , so trying to escape the drilling noise in the bar, went with my drink outside by the pool... In the dark ... I would not recommend .

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI_Merrillville, General Manager at Courtyard Fort Lauderdale SW / Miramar, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. I have two bits of good news: First the lobby renovation is over and it looks fantastic. Second, there is new management in place at the hotel and I assure you that you will enjoy any future stays at this property.

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard Fort Lauderdale SW / Miramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Fort Lauderdale SW / Miramar

Also Known As:
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Sw / Miramar Hotel Miramar
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Sw / Miramar Hotel
Courtyard Miramar
Miramar Marriott
Miramar Courtyard
Address: 14500 SW 29th Street, Miramar, FL 33027
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miramar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 hotels in Miramar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Fort Lauderdale SW / Miramar 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Fort Lauderdale SW/Miramar is ideally locate4d among Miramar, FL hotels, between Fort Lauderdale and Miami, and features newly-renovated guest rooms. This great location is nearby some of South Florida's top destinations including Sun Life Stadium, Ft. Lauderdale Beach, and Sawgrass Mall. Business travelers will appreciate the close proximity to the offices of Comcast, Humana, and Quest Diagnostics. Guests will be welcomed with a speedy check-in as they enter the modern lobby highlighted by private media pod work stations and the touch-screen GoBoard(R) displaying news, weather, and traffic conditions. The modern guest rooms feature brand-new HD TVs, plush bedding, free WiFi, and an in-room mini-fridge and microwave. Start your day off with a healthy breakfast, and unwind in the eving with a juicy burger paired with a glass of craft beer or wine at the onsite Bistro restaurant. The 24-hour fitness center is the perfect place to maintain your active life-style on the road, and guests love to soak in the Florida sun by the heated outdoor pool and patio. With over 1,200 sq. Ft. Of flexible event space, this hotel is also a great venue for small business meetings and receptions. The Courtyard Fort Lauderdale SW/Miramar offers high-tech amenities and newly-renovated accommodations that make this one of the best Miramar, FL hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Courtyard Fort Lauderdale SW / Miramar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Fort Lauderdale SW / Miramar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.