We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't believe Marriott allows this kind of service.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Fort Lauderdale SW / Miramar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Fort Lauderdale SW / Miramar to your Saves list
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale SW / Miramar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14500 SW 29th Street, Miramar, FL 33027   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Dining Deal
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Miramar
Traverse City, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Can't believe Marriott allows this kind of service.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

My family's experience at this Marriott was appalling. We were treated sub-human for the entirety of our stay by the staff. It was truly one of the worst hotel experiences that I have ever had. We had never been to Miami, and asked for help with cabs and transportation, which they just handed us the number to the cab company and didn't offer to help us out since we were unfamiliar with the area. This resulted in the cab drivers getting lost and had us waiting in the lobby for over an hour one night for a cab that never showed. We ended up walking across the street to the Hilton Garden Inn and eating at their restaurant instead of the one in the lobby here. Additionally, the Garden Inn employees offered to give us a shuttle to the shopping mall down the street because we had had such a terrible experience at the Courtyard!! To top everything off our reservation was screwed up and we were checked out prematurely.

Room Tip: Choose a room across the street at the Hilton Garden Inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joanna b, Manager at Courtyard Fort Lauderdale SW / Miramar, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Value Guest,

I do apologize for any inconvenience that this may have caused your wonderful get away to Miami. I can understand how difficult it is to come to a place where you know nothing about. It is unexpectable what you experience here at the hotel. We have made a few changes with staff, and I would like more than anything for you and your guests to come back to the hotel and try us one more time.
Thank you for your feedback and time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    32
    12
    8
    3
See reviews for
21
11
4
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weybridge, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

Room is nice, but overall is not clean, noisy with drilling going on in the building , staff is about polite, one was rude . Restaurant is appalling . Outside area is not light up , so trying to escape the drilling noise in the bar, went with my drink outside by the pool... In the dark ... I would not recommend .

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI_Merrillville, General Manager at Courtyard Fort Lauderdale SW / Miramar, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. I have two bits of good news: First the lobby renovation is over and it looks fantastic. Second, there is new management in place at the hotel and I assure you that you will enjoy any future stays at this property.

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Bay, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed one night before the dolphins VS patriots game and the hotel lobby was under contruction but check in was smooth. Rooms were nice and clean and the AC was cold as can be. Lots to do in the local area as well as being very close to major highways and grocery stores. Can't wait to see when the remodel is finished very soon cause we will certainly return.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IndyGM2009, General Manager at Courtyard Fort Lauderdale SW / Miramar, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Since your stay we have also remodeled the rooms and public spaces. Please come see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed here for one night. The rooms were very nice with new furniture, incredibly clean, and had comfortable beds. Internet worked well. I wish breakfast was complimentary. We paid $50 for the room (before taxes) from Priceline, hence it was an incredible deal.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IndyGM2009, General Manager at Courtyard Fort Lauderdale SW / Miramar, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Thank you for the great review. We have actually remodeled the hotel since your stay so please come see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

Hotel was just okay. Older property. All kinds of "stuff" under the beds.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IndyGM2009, General Manager at Courtyard Fort Lauderdale SW / Miramar, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Thank you for your review. We have been completely renovated since your stay and we have a great new management staff dedicated to providing you with a clean and friendly experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

The staff at this hotel is great, the hotel is clean and very well run

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IndyGM2009, General Manager at Courtyard Fort Lauderdale SW / Miramar, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Thank you for your review. I can not ask for more than what you said.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami, fl
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

Last Saturday, my boyfriend and I shared a wonderful evening at Steak 954 in Broward to celebrate his birthday. It was late and a long drive home, so we decided to rent a hotel for the night. Since it was a last minute idea, we decided to go online and book at the Marriott Courtyard via hotels.com. We finally get to the hotel, and we were greeted by the "night auditor" Sarah. Mind you, I put extra emphasis on the night auditor title, since she repeated it numerous times throughout the evening. As we are ready to check in and go to bed, our reservations were not in the system. We did explain that we booked the room via hotels.com maybe 45 minutes beforehand. We showed her our confirmation number, and of course that was not sufficient. She proceeded to criticize hotels.com, and that this happens "all the time" according to her. I then asked, if that was the case, then what are our options? Mind you its 2am, and we are extremely tired, and all we wanted was to get a room. Did Sarah, the night auditor, have any options for us? Yes, call hotels.com and figure it out. Yes, that was her attitude.
My boyfriend decided to call hotels.com and speak to them directly, which the lady from hotels.com called the front desk to figure out what is going on. At this moment, I thought everything will be squared away momentarily since a rep from hotels.com is now speaking to Sarah. Of course, I could not hear exactly what was being said on the other line, but it didn't take a rocket scientist that Sarah was being very unreasonable. The representative from hotels.com requested if they can fax over our reservation to the hotel, and use that as a confirmation, since our reservation was not uploaded to the hotel's system. Sarah, of course, refused adamantly, and explained that is not her procedure, and will not do that. And that she was not able to check us in or out that way. Then hotels.com also suggested that our reservation will be uploaded in the system by the morning, but to just check us in. Nope, of course Sarah, "night auditor" refused to budge. This went on for 30 minutes!! It is now 2:30 in the morning, and Sarah did not show ONE OUNCE of any type of concern or even EFFORT to accommodate us.
Finally, Sarah was placed on hold by hotels.com, and while I tried my best to keep my composure, I did ask again what were our options? Hoping she would show some remorse or sympathy, but did she? You guessed it no. Sarah suggested for us to cancel the reservation via hotels.com and to book it again thru her directly. At that time, I was outraged, not only of the suggestion but her attitude and her unwillingness to even help us. I immediately told her that was not an option, since hotels.com does not have a refund policy, and we were not going to pay for the hotel again!
Eventually, my boyfriend who was outside on the phone, since the lobby area did not have any reception came back. I did have to remind him to please remain calm, since it was late and pretty much we were at her mercy, which she was very well aware of and took total advantage. However Sarah did notice my boyfriend's frustration, and after an HOUR of going back and forth with hotels.com, she decided to accept the fax as a confirmation to our reservation. While she was trying to put us in the system, she complained throughout every minute of it. Like SHE was the one being inconvenienced!! I have stayed in MANY MANY hotels, and I have NEVER EVER experienced the incompetence and unreasonable demeanor as this night auditor demonstrated. So much so, my boyfriend and I will never forget her name. And since then, we have shared our experience to others.
I do not recommend this hotel to ANYONE. If you are in the neighborhood, you might as well rent at the Residence Inn.
I guess there is truth in the saying, you get what you pay for. And if that's the case, we overpaid for our stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel H, General Manager at Courtyard Fort Lauderdale SW / Miramar, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Dear Jennifer,

Thank you so much for bringing your experience to my attention, and please accept my apologies for any inconvenient this may have caused you. After doing some research of my own I found out that there was a "software/timming" problem with your reservation which we fixed and won't happen again. This was a misunderstanding and I do recognize that we could have done a better job while handling this situation.
Anyways we are very happy to see that you are comming back once again as one of our valued guests!
Thank you so much for your patronage, I am sure we will have the opportunity to have you as our guest many times in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Fort Lauderdale SW / Miramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Fort Lauderdale SW / Miramar

Address: 14500 SW 29th Street, Miramar, FL 33027
Location: United States > Florida > Miramar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Miramar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Fort Lauderdale SW / Miramar 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IT'S A NEW STAY! Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Miramar hotel, a member of the Florida Green Lodging Program, has just been renovated! Located off I-75, our hotel is minutes from Sun Life Stadium, Ft. Lauderdale Beach and Sawgrass Mills Outlet Mall. Our Miramar hotel features a state-of-the-art lobby with free WiFi and interactive GoBoard(R) with the latest news, weather and traffic. The highlight of our lobby is the Bistro serving an array of meal options, your favorite Starbucks beverages and a variety of craft beer and wine. Redesigned hotel rooms feature flat-screen TVs with premium cable and large ergonomic workspaces offer the best environment for productivity and relaxation. Upgrade to a room with private balcony and enjoy the fresh Florida sunshine. Guests love our 24-hour fitness center and outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard Fort Lauderdale SW / Miramar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Sw / Miramar Hotel Miramar
Courtyard Miramar
Miramar Marriott
Miramar Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Fort Lauderdale SW / Miramar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.