We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not really on beach” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Majestic Sun Condominiums

Save Saved
You added Majestic Sun Condominiums to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Majestic Sun Condominiums
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   1096 Scenic Gulf 98, Miramar, FL 32550   |  
Hotel amenities
PINSON
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“not really on beach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

We had two 2 bedroom units for 12 people (adults). We were disappointed in how small the lanai was for a unit that size. The beach is across the road. Then you must go down a fairly long stairway to the beach area. This is quite a workout if you are carrying much with you.

Room Tip: there are 2 buildings- one faces the gulf, the other has very small lanais that only accomodate 2 pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    6
    5
    4
    3
See reviews for
12
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, AL
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2010

Before we left on our trip we were really worried after reading the other comments that others had written on this website. I guess the age old saying is true, a Negative word travels 5 times quicker than a positive one! We rented this condo back before the Oil Spill began threatening the coast but after talking with our rental mangement company, viewing the live cam and being assured we would be ok, we came anyway. The Beach was BEAUTIFUL! The condo was gorgeous and very comfortable! The pools were amazing! While we did have to show our arm band for the pool it was a non-issue. The condo was very convient to restaurants and OUTLET MALL SHOPPING!!! We will come back next year for sure!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

My husband and I stayed in a one bedroom condo in 2007 for our honeymoon and loved it. We took a family vacation there using a 3 bedroom condo and everyone else loved it, too! The view of the ocean is awesome, and the location is ideal for shopping and restaurants. We WILL be back!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madison
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2009

First of all, the pool personnel were like Nazis attacking people even if they did have their ridiculous arm band on. It was very unrelaxing to watch. I witnessed one staff member literally chase a man out of the gate when he was with his daughter who was wearing her swim pass. RIDICULOUS. I made a complaint to the Female manager who could care less because apparently she hates her job. My second encounter was the noise. Construction was going on every morning at 7:30 AM, but what really did me over was the 3rd encounter. My child left his blanket there, and we didn't realize it until 3 hours out. I called and spoke with one manager, Warren, who was so sweet about it. But when I called back, I spoke with a female, who I won't mention names, that was very RUDE. I understand that there are rules, but when your 5 year old child leaves their blanket that they have had since birth, you would think she could just run up there and get it for me.. NO!! I had to go through pens and needles of phone calls, but luckily we retrieved it. She had no compassion whatsoever and apparently takes no pride in actually being a manager because of the lack of trying to please her guests. She is also very controlling because she would not put the other manager on the phone.. I doubt she will still be there in a year, but if she is I am not going back.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2009

First off, please please please look closely at the pictures of this condo. The official pictures will hardly reveal that the condo is NOT on the beach. It is accross a two-lane road from a very well-used PUBLIC beach. So unless you like CONSTANT car stereos, loud Harleys, and well.....riff-raff people going by yelling at all hours, you should pass on this property.

Next, this facilty is POORLY built. The walls and ceilings are thin. We could hear a pin drop in the condo above us. Everytime these folks opened their balcony door, it sounded like an earthquake in our unit. The units have wood floors, so every movement of a chair on the floor above sounded like a construction zone. There is little sound-deadening between the units, so plan to hear everything around you.

There are a few other oddities at Majestic Sun. Most condos in Destin and Miramar have gas or charcoal grills. Not so the Majestic Sun. In this unit's price range, this should be a given. Check-in occurs offsite at a realty office and the local staff, while friendly, were fairly useless in addressing the problems with the unit we stayed in (water leak from vanity, stove malfunction, non-working lights, intermittently working jacuzzi tub, icemaker problems, no chairs on the balcony!). Pets were not allowed, but somebody had a couple of dogs. It seems there is a double-standard here for owners versus renters and the owners are allowed to bother others with their pets.

With all this negativity stated, I should note that the unit was big and the location (near Silver Sands Outlet Mall) was good. The beach staff was helpful and friendly even if their prices were high. There were several good restaurants nearby and easy access to golf and activities.

This condo is not for middle-agers like us. It's better suited to younger childless couples that like noise and activity.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2007

this condo was overall MAZING..i met a LOT of new friends while there, although i suggest keeping the pool open longer because that was the only place i could hang out with my new friends @ night and i suggest having like a teen "partyish" type thing because that would be a good way for teens to hang out 2gether

  • Liked — sight
  • Disliked — early pool closing
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
in
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2007

Nice condo overall, but not what we were led to believe. The beach is across the street, private with public access, basically public beach. The chair rentals were $40/day but placed so close to the water you couldnt have your children play in the water without renting the chairs. The advertised tennis courts cost $18/HOUR to use. There was no BBQ grills available as advertised. About 20 lounge chairs around pool with only 2 tables that had umbrellas for entire facility(300-400 rooms). The advertised Kiddie pool is now a fountain with no children access. Staff was nice but never able to answer any questions, not sure exactly what thay do all day, think play on the internet. They are planning to build a parking lot on the beach so you may want to ask some direct questions before scheduling your vacation here.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Majestic Sun Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Sun Condominiums

Address: 1096 Scenic Gulf 98, Miramar, FL 32550
Location: United States > Florida > Miramar
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Specialty lodging in Miramar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Majestic Sun Condominiums 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Otel so you can book your Majestic Sun Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Sun Condominiums Hotel Miramar
Sun Destin Resort
Destin Majestic Sun Condo
Majestic Sun Destin Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Majestic Sun Condominiums, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.