We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Leeward Key Condominiums

Save Saved
You added Leeward Key Condominiums to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Leeward Key Condominiums
2.0 of 5 Condominium   |   2936 Scenic Gulf Dr, Miramar, FL 32550   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Home away from home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We vacationed at Leeward Keys Condos in Destin Florida last month. We were on the 12th floor (rm 1204) with an ocean view and it was AMAZING. It was very clean and comfortable. The furniture and decor was perfect! We plan on going back next year. It was a true vacation!! Good job Leeward Keys:)

Room Tip: Rooms on top floor with ocean view have spectacular views. Peaceful and beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    4
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
11
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We just can't say enough about the Destin area and Leeward Key. We stayed in unit 604 and it was wonderful. The owner, Marcella, was very helpful pointing us to different places to go and things to do. The beach is wonderful and the sugar white sand is just like you would expect in the Bahamas or some Caribbean island. Unit 604 had a wonderful view of the beach and ocean and I would definitely stay there again. The furniture was updated and the bed was super comfy. all in all we had a wonderful time and you will too at Leeward Key.

A tip is that there is a very nice grilling area behind the back pool that not many people know about it has gas and charcoal grills and was very clean and well maintained when we were there.

Room Tip: We enjoyed unit 604 but it seems that all rooms above the first or second floor will have a good vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

This is a great place centrally located on the main beach drive (Scenic Hwy 98). I stayed in unit # 103. Nothing fancy, but had everything we needed. The a/c functioned well, washer and dryer were put to good use, and the kitchen was fully equipped with just about anything you might need during a week-long stay. There is an LCD TV and DVD player in the living room and master bedroom and an old tube TV in the second bedroom (but hey, you're at the beach right!!??). Master had a king size bed and the second bedroom has a full and twin. There is also a pull out queen sofa if needed. Both bathrooms have shower/tubs.

My one gripe would be this: The company that does the leasing for this unit clearly states: “Walk out your door to the beach or beachside pool!”. This is somewhat true. You actually walk out your door, walk down a hallway, turn into another hallway that takes you out to a sidewalk where you cross Scenic Hwy 98 for access to the pool and finally to the beach. It is very convenient but the description to me is a bit misleading as I had visions of merely opening my door and hitting the sand. Technically anywhere you stay you would walk out your door to get to the beach! That being said, this is a first floor unit and it was nice to not have to use stairs or elevators every time we went out.

There are two restaurants literally next door (Kenny D’s) and across the street (Captain Dave’s). Neither is anything fancy but the food was very good for what it is. While you could walk to a couple of others (Pompano Joe’s and The Crab Trap), it would be a hike for some and I would suggest going by car. You are also close to the outlets mall and outdoor Destin Commons Mall and of course any number of local and chain restaurants within a ten minute drive.

The beach itself was quite nice. The sand was very clean and umbrella/chair rentals are available for $30 day with some discounts for multiple day rentals. The water was very nice except for a couple of particularly windy days post storms that caused high amounts of seaweed. The pool is small (posted max occupancy of 20) but it is serviceable and has restrooms which are very handy. We never had an issue with the pool area being overly full. There is a similar sized pool in the parking area at the rear of the building but we never even entered the area so can’t say much else about it.

While I was quite pleased with the condo and the nearby restaurants, this is by no means the fanciest of Destin. In fact, it was more reminiscent of Panama City Beach although we were surrounded by multi-million dollar properties on all sides. If you are looking for upper crust fancy schmancy, keep looking down the road a ways. This was my first time in Destin and I have always heard it’s a step (or two) up from Panama City Beach. However, our complex and the nearby restaurants were very reminiscent to me of Panama City.

All told, if you are looking for a reasonably priced, centrally located property with all of the necessary amenities then this is the place for you!! I would highly recommend!

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor give easier access while the upper floors afford a better ocean view if th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

We are so pleased with Leeward Keys , we are going back to get married on the beach here. The place is just wonderful it is has everything you need in the condo, it is much better than the pictures show. Our unit was 1202 2 bedroom 2 bathroom King size bed looking straight out to the ocean the bedroom is huge the bathroom has jets in bathtub ///very clean... has washer and dryer and fully equip kitchen. We plan to vacation here twice a year . There is not a lot of traffic at all .. we even took our little dog which is allowed he loves it...some places where pets are allowed are not clean ...this place is spotless...LOVE THIS LEEWARD KEYS!!!!

Room Tip: Unit 1202 is pet friendly a spotless clean condo. 2 bedroom 2 bath washer dryer in unit fully equip...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

We stayed at Leeward Key Condo....unit 1202. This was a wonderful place to stay we will be back. It was better than the pictures I had seen on line. We looked out from our balcony with a perfect view of the ocean. Just love it!!!!

Room Tip: Lots of room...the beach view perfect,,,Love it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed here as a beach vacation and wanted to find a place with Gulf Front view. Be careful with other places because a lot of other views at other places you can barely see the ocean.
Our unit was a 2 bedroom with a King bed that had windows looking straight onto the beach and a full bath with double sinks and a nice tiled shower. The second bedroom had 2 single beds and was connected to the second bathroom. The sofa was also a sleeper and there was a set of sheets wrapped up ready use.
The kitchen was nice and it was great having the countertop bar to eat at if you did not feel like using the glass dining room table. We had turned on the ice maker right away so we could get some drinks going. We really wish that a roll of paper towels was included, but we ended up using towels until we got some.
There was internet, but it was a wired outlet near the bar. We ended up buying a cheap wireless router for the week we were there and it worked great.
All the TV's in this unit were flat screens and all had DVD players. The living room player was even a BluRay player. Right by the front door there was a washer and dryer with a box of soap for your first use.

The Property
It appears that all the units are Gulf Front views and they are all 2 bedrooms. You are across the street from the beach, but as long as you are not on the ground floor you should have a great view of the Gulf of Mexico. There is a small weight room on the ground floor and a room with some vending machines and a DVD rental box. Behind the building is a pool and a few gas grills for cooking out in the middle of the parking area. There is another pool across the street as you access the beach. This is really nice because there are also toilets there so when you are on the beach you do not have to go far. We rented through Resort Quest and we had free rental of 2 beach Chairs and an Umbrella. That was a nice surprise. We used a few dollars from the rental money we saved to tip the chair guy.

Near By
We rented bicycles from Costal Cruisers. It was a wonderful idea. They are only a mile or two away, but they will deliver and pick up the bikes to Leeward key. There is a bike path right in front of the building, but we decided to take a day and put them in the trunk of the car and take them to Seaside and ride around there.
There are a couple of restaurants nearby, but be careful not to fall into a tourist trap. We were not impressed with Captain Dave's at all, we ordered food to go from Kenny D's and it was good. On that strip of road I would suggest Cameilles. We also liked Pompano Joes, but our service really sucked.

Room Tip: All rooms are great. Try for 4th floor or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011 via mobile

A group of 4 of us stayed in condo #605 over Labor Day weekend 2011 and could not have been happier. The unit was very nice and had most everything we wanted including plenty of towels and dinnerware. Helen at the front desk was very nice upon check-in and the pool on the beach was a trip-saver due to the inclement surf from Tropical Storm Lee. There were plenty of restaurant options within walking distance. Having stayed farther down in Destin proper a few years ago, I would highly recommend the Miramar Beach to anyone and will definitely return to this location again.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Leeward Key Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leeward Key Condominiums

Address: 2936 Scenic Gulf Dr, Miramar, FL 32550
Location: United States > Florida > Miramar
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty lodging in Miramar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Leeward Key Condominiums 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Leeward Key Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leeward Key Condominiums Hotel Miramar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leeward Key Condominiums, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.