We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay with or without kids” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surfside Resort

Save Saved
You added Surfside Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Surfside Resort
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   1096 Scenic Gulf Drive, Miramar, FL 32550   |  
Hotel amenities
Lakeland, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay with or without kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Room 507 -- Would DEFINITELY stay here again!! We booked through Resort Quest and our umbrella and chairs were covered during our stay and 2 dvds at a time were free too to check out from their office.. Fabulous place and really nice! Balcony table and 4 chairs is different than what is shown in video, they are taller FYI. BUT, pull out the wicker chair and ottoman from master room for early morning reading. Order your food at walkover pub/bar and they deliver it from hotel to there so you don't have to walk but two sets of stairs for any food/drinks you want. Both rooms connect to balcony. Very comfortable, great furniture and wonderful experience. Will definitely return! Thanks so much!

Room Tip: We had a side view and it was plenty for what I wanted to see of the beach early morning when readin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    15
    9
    6
    4
See reviews for
30
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dalton, Georgia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We just stayed in Room 802A, a VRBO condo. It is an oceanfront room with a king bed, microwave, small refrigerator, tv, and all the necessities for two people. The balcony faces the beach and is a great place to relax. Surfside has a restaurant on site and a pool bar that serves sandwiches,etc. The pool area has 2 hot tubs, a kiddie pool, as well as a large swimming pool. Beach access is private and is gated, one must have a room key to enter. The owner, Mary Tim, provides 2 beach chairs and an umbrella with the room rental. The location is fabulous with easy access to restaurants, shopping, activities and entertainment. Surfside is a little dated but it easily met every need we had. I plan on returning as soon as possible.

Room Tip: Site link: http://www.vrbo.com/185132
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Just as a forewarning to other guests, there are several additional fees that are charged at check-in. This is disclosed in the fine print, but I assumed that housekeeping fees would be included unless we damaged the place.

We arrived to a room where a blue substance had dripped down the shower walls and dried there. A speaker on the ceiling was emanating a loud, intermittent static noise that kept my fiancee from sleeping. There were two lamps in the bedroom area, but neither one worked. An area rug covered the carpet but was too big to fit in the space, causing two big ridges to form that would not lay flat (in the room with no working lights). The carpet was dirty. I understand it is right by the beach and sand inevitably gets tracked in, but this was more than just a little dirty.

We asked for another room, and the next room was cleaner and quieter. There was no toilet paper when we got there, but we were so tired that we figured we would just call in the morning to ask for some. The front desk called us to check and make sure that our new room was better, which we appreciated, and we asked for the toilet paper then. We were told that we had to supply our own after the first roll. We explained that we never got a first roll - we didn't get any. We did eventually get toilet paper, but being questioned about it first was disconcerting, especially given our experience with the first room. I've never been anywhere where they keep their toilet paper so close to the vest. The manager later explained that it is because the cleaning company is under contract and is not associated with the property management company. I think it would be more helpful to guests if a system is devised so that the property managers don't have to shift blame or go through red tape to correct a mistake made by the cleaning crew.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, GA
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

Carly answered every question in a quick professional manner. Her condo offers all amenities that vacationers will need including beach service(2chairs/umbrella) with no lines for sevice like the two neighboring condos. Highly recommend Surfside over Majestic. The location is perfect. Down the street from a Winn Dixie, Alvin's, and Silver Sands Outlet Mall. Not as many traffic jams as Destin offered. The condo offers plenty of personal space with both bedrooms being on opposite sides of the living space. Three televisions for down time or rainy days. Pool, hot tub, sanua, spa, resturant, kind helpful front desk service on site. No long wait times for the elevators. Two bathrooms, a separate make-up table accomodiated four teenage girls, mom and grandma getting dressed for dinner. Three generations enjoyed this vacation experience. We did not eat at the resturant on site, because the kitchen offered all applicances including water in the door of the frig. (less need for waterbottle waste) We enjoyed Donut Hole for Chocolate donuts, Zoes; wraps when shopping, Harbor Dock-seafood during lunch. The Lighthouse-seafood and steak when all the resturants had long waits and we had seven people in our party for dinner. The condo staff and residents want a peaceful fun environment. They do not allow children, and teens to run around unsupervised. (Even during crazy springbreak times, this location would be a place for children. I would not take young children to Magestic during springbreak. If you want a wild free-spirited springbreak where parents do not take responsiblity please go elsewhere. Don't ruin the Surfside for the rest of us. Surfside is the BEST!)

Room Tip: Carly will answer all of your questions. Just ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Happyville
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

We stayed in one of the suites, with a view of the beach from the clear balcony. If we got up early enough we saw dolphins. I think the Surfside Resort was good.

Room Tip: the rooms with balconies are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

Our family stayed at Surfside a number of times. We stayed in 1112 and 1112A and our kids and grandkids loved it. We all had a wonderful time. The 3 BR unit was comfortable, clean, well furnished, had comfortable beds, lots of extras, and the restaurant and facilities were first rate. We plan to stay again this summer and the fall and will try to get the same units.

Room Tip: Great shopping at the local malls, easy to get to restaurants, super markets, and of course the beac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Kentucky
1 review
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Booked reservations 30 days in advance. Called 5 times to confirm all paper work was in order. Have credit card statement showing reservation number, room number, date of
check-in. Drive for 6 hours, call and confirm everything is ok and get physical address for check in. Received information we needed and continued on for 6 more hours. Arrived at destination, at scheduled pre-set time. We were told our condo was given away just 2 hours prior to our arrival. NO EXPLANATION AS TO THE REASON IT WAS GIVEN AWAY!
We were offered a motel room, in place of the condo, for the exact same money. THIS WAS A SEVEN DAY STAY! This was the worst experience we had ever had! We asked to be upgraded to another condo. The answer was a very firm, NO. The people we dealt with, in person, were rude and very unfriendly. No explanations, No apologies, NO anything.
We leave and drive back home, 12 hours more. Spent $240 in gasoline. So after 25 hours of driving, we make it back home only to sit here for the next 7 days because we both took off work. All of our money is tied up in the condo we could not stay in. We would NOT recommend this place to ANYONE! We paid in advance, we confirmed our reservations (several times), we had receipts "in hand". This did NOT make a difference to the people at the check-in. We would recommend that you run as far away from this place as you could get! NO WAY TO RUN A BUSINESS. I know, because I own my own business. This place will NOT be here for long!
We were NOT the only ones this happened to this day. While we were standing there, trying to sort this out, another man called (very irate!) because he gave a key to another man to HIS room. So they booked two different parties into the same motel room that very day.

Room Tip: Don't even bother........
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Surfside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside Resort

Address: 1096 Scenic Gulf Drive, Miramar, FL 32550
Location: United States > Florida > Miramar
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty lodging in Miramar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Surfside Resort 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Surfside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside Hotel Miramar
Surfside Resort Condo Destin Fl
Surfside Resort Destin Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfside Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.