We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disconnect between Management and Cleaning Crew” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Surfside Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Surfside Resort to your Saves list
Surfside Resort
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   1096 Scenic Gulf Drive, Miramar, FL 32550   |  
Hotel amenities
Wilmington
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Disconnect between Management and Cleaning Crew”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Just as a forewarning to other guests, there are several additional fees that are charged at check-in. This is disclosed in the fine print, but I assumed that housekeeping fees would be included unless we damaged the place.

We arrived to a room where a blue substance had dripped down the shower walls and dried there. A speaker on the ceiling was emanating a loud, intermittent static noise that kept my fiancee from sleeping. There were two lamps in the bedroom area, but neither one worked. An area rug covered the carpet but was too big to fit in the space, causing two big ridges to form that would not lay flat (in the room with no working lights). The carpet was dirty. I understand it is right by the beach and sand inevitably gets tracked in, but this was more than just a little dirty.

We asked for another room, and the next room was cleaner and quieter. There was no toilet paper when we got there, but we were so tired that we figured we would just call in the morning to ask for some. The front desk called us to check and make sure that our new room was better, which we appreciated, and we asked for the toilet paper then. We were told that we had to supply our own after the first roll. We explained that we never got a first roll - we didn't get any. We did eventually get toilet paper, but being questioned about it first was disconcerting, especially given our experience with the first room. I've never been anywhere where they keep their toilet paper so close to the vest. The manager later explained that it is because the cleaning company is under contract and is not associated with the property management company. I think it would be more helpful to guests if a system is devised so that the property managers don't have to shift blame or go through red tape to correct a mistake made by the cleaning crew.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    15
    9
    7
    4
See reviews for
31
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodstock, GA
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

Carly answered every question in a quick professional manner. Her condo offers all amenities that vacationers will need including beach service(2chairs/umbrella) with no lines for sevice like the two neighboring condos. Highly recommend Surfside over Majestic. The location is perfect. Down the street from a Winn Dixie, Alvin's, and Silver Sands Outlet Mall. Not as many traffic jams as Destin offered. The condo offers plenty of personal space with both bedrooms being on opposite sides of the living space. Three televisions for down time or rainy days. Pool, hot tub, sanua, spa, resturant, kind helpful front desk service on site. No long wait times for the elevators. Two bathrooms, a separate make-up table accomodiated four teenage girls, mom and grandma getting dressed for dinner. Three generations enjoyed this vacation experience. We did not eat at the resturant on site, because the kitchen offered all applicances including water in the door of the frig. (less need for waterbottle waste) We enjoyed Donut Hole for Chocolate donuts, Zoes; wraps when shopping, Harbor Dock-seafood during lunch. The Lighthouse-seafood and steak when all the resturants had long waits and we had seven people in our party for dinner. The condo staff and residents want a peaceful fun environment. They do not allow children, and teens to run around unsupervised. (Even during crazy springbreak times, this location would be a place for children. I would not take young children to Magestic during springbreak. If you want a wild free-spirited springbreak where parents do not take responsiblity please go elsewhere. Don't ruin the Surfside for the rest of us. Surfside is the BEST!)

Room Tip: Carly will answer all of your questions. Just ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Happyville
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

We stayed in one of the suites, with a view of the beach from the clear balcony. If we got up early enough we saw dolphins. I think the Surfside Resort was good.

Room Tip: the rooms with balconies are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

Our family stayed at Surfside a number of times. We stayed in 1112 and 1112A and our kids and grandkids loved it. We all had a wonderful time. The 3 BR unit was comfortable, clean, well furnished, had comfortable beds, lots of extras, and the restaurant and facilities were first rate. We plan to stay again this summer and the fall and will try to get the same units.

Room Tip: Great shopping at the local malls, easy to get to restaurants, super markets, and of course the beac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Kentucky
1 review
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Booked reservations 30 days in advance. Called 5 times to confirm all paper work was in order. Have credit card statement showing reservation number, room number, date of
check-in. Drive for 6 hours, call and confirm everything is ok and get physical address for check in. Received information we needed and continued on for 6 more hours. Arrived at destination, at scheduled pre-set time. We were told our condo was given away just 2 hours prior to our arrival. NO EXPLANATION AS TO THE REASON IT WAS GIVEN AWAY!
We were offered a motel room, in place of the condo, for the exact same money. THIS WAS A SEVEN DAY STAY! This was the worst experience we had ever had! We asked to be upgraded to another condo. The answer was a very firm, NO. The people we dealt with, in person, were rude and very unfriendly. No explanations, No apologies, NO anything.
We leave and drive back home, 12 hours more. Spent $240 in gasoline. So after 25 hours of driving, we make it back home only to sit here for the next 7 days because we both took off work. All of our money is tied up in the condo we could not stay in. We would NOT recommend this place to ANYONE! We paid in advance, we confirmed our reservations (several times), we had receipts "in hand". This did NOT make a difference to the people at the check-in. We would recommend that you run as far away from this place as you could get! NO WAY TO RUN A BUSINESS. I know, because I own my own business. This place will NOT be here for long!
We were NOT the only ones this happened to this day. While we were standing there, trying to sort this out, another man called (very irate!) because he gave a key to another man to HIS room. So they booked two different parties into the same motel room that very day.

Room Tip: Don't even bother........
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

We went to Destin for the first time this year and were lucky to stay at this apartment. It has an excellent view of the ocean. Also has a nice pool and gym. It was easy to get there. I would definetely recommend this apartment for families looking for a nice place to stay in Florida. It also has a outlet mall with tons of stores, for those who like shopping. We loved it, and we will go back for sure!

Uriel Castillo, CGA
Calgary, AB Canada

Room Tip: Clean, comfortable, cozy,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

Stayed in 711. Roomy, Clean, but not updated. Comfortable beds and lots of them. Master bath clogged and backed up during showers, toaster broken, dryer didn't work well. Pool Old and young kids cannot go in at all!!!!!!! Pretty good side view of Ocean, pool area. Liked the tiki bar

Surfside is great for the location, right across the street from beach with easy access and Whales Tale within walking. Felt very safe letting my teenagers go back and forth. And good for older adults also. It is not for young kids because they will not let a baby or toddler in the pool with or without a swim diaper. The pool is old and recycles its water. They definitely do not tell you this. But we asked neighboring Condo Aerial Dunes if we could have a wristband for the day and they said absolutely. Not that much farther to walk and more updated. We may look there next time. We stayed in 711 and liked the layout, lots of room, just not updated like some of the others. Kinda pricy for not a strait on view.
Our biggest complaint is with the Management company Panama Beach Rentals, who we booked through. It's the same as the front desk . When we called to book, someone quoted us a less amount than previously discussed. We thought it was because it was four days before arrival. Great, on Sale. They said we had to pay in full that day and we got a confirmation. We called the front desk with questions the next day and they said there was a mistake and we were booked in a one bedroom instead of the three for 9 people. She said she would take care of everything and switched us and told us it was all taken care of. When we arrived to check in after 9 hours, the front desk said we owed an additional $1200. They were not going to check us in until a payment had been made. They were very rude and did not care that it was their mistake. We got them to agree at that time to a lesser amount until we could speak to someone in mgt. office the next day. Our issue is that it was their mistake, any other business would just have to deal with it. Especially the Hospitality Industry. Even after they found and corrected their mistake, they still had four days to call us back and tell us they couldn't give us a three bedroom for the price we paid. But that is what they sold us. You don't surprise someone at the front desk checking in that we were not going to get that condo for that price. They never called. We ended up settling and paying more money because we were already there. While we waited two other customers came up and their charges were not what they were supposed to be. There is a breakdown in their communication, service, procedures. I would not stay here again. Check out Aerial Dunes good view literally at the back of our parking lot with family friendly pools and modern interiors with much better rates, just take a wagon or cart to carry eveything and kids.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surfside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside Resort

Address: 1096 Scenic Gulf Drive, Miramar, FL 32550
Location: United States > Florida > Miramar
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Miramar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Surfside Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 216
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Surfside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside Hotel Miramar
Surfside Resort Condo Destin Fl
Surfside Resort Destin Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfside Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.