We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive room and breakfast blew up this decent stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Ft. Lauderdale SW/Miramar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Ft. Lauderdale SW/Miramar to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Ft. Lauderdale SW/Miramar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14501 Southwest 29th Street, Miramar, FL 33027   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 25%!
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Miramar
Dracut, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Expensive room and breakfast blew up this decent stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Stayed one night on business. Checkin was smooth. Room was ok - could use some updating/cleaning, but nothing that would prevent me from staying in the room. Sheets were clean and good. Drinks at the bar were good and the service at the bar was also good. The thing that got me was the $11 bowl of oatmeal for breakfast. Understanding that there were other choices, but still - could have stayed at the Hampton Inn (same quality room the next night in a Hampton Inn at $60 less) and they give free breakfast. $11 for the breakfast was kind of a joke.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmili808, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Ft. Lauderdale SW/Miramar, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your feedback.

We are very glad and appreciative that you enjoyed your room. I'm very sorry about your experience with breakfast.

Please keep in mind, that the next time you are booking your reservation to stay at any Hilton Garden Inn, it would be best to book the Bed and Breakfast rate. With this rate you and a guest will have breakfast included at almost less than half the price of breakfast for every day of your stay.

Once again, I apologize and hope to see you soon.

Regards,

Mychal Milian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    82
    30
    6
    8
See reviews for
68
31
18
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This is a decent hotel but maids will enter your room with the deadbolt locked and the privacy sign displayed. Not a very nice practice for privacy and security. Good thing I always use the safety catch. Hotel is also currently undergoing renovations.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmili808, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Ft. Lauderdale SW/Miramar, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Hello,

I'm terribly sorry to hear about the unfortunate experience you had while staying with us. We're reviewing housekeeping procedures to ensure missteps like this don't occur in the future. The safety and security of our guests is very important to us and we appreciate you alerting us to the issue. I apologize for the inconvenience and hope you will give us a second chance.

Kind regards,

Mychal Milian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed here for three nights in December. We had fled the Wingate down the street which was dirty and had horrible customer service. We walked into a cleaner, brighter, and much friendlier hotel. They accommodated our last minute reservation, the room was quiet and clean and nice, and the staff was wonderfully responsive to every request. We were also there for soccer, and yes, the hotel was full and busy. It's possible other floors had parents letting their kids run around, but that isn't the hotel's fault and we had no such problem. And the lobby restaurant served great food and drink--much better than most hotel food and at a pretty reasonable cost. The restaurant got a little overburdened one night when a large soccer team and parents all descended at once, but they tried very hard to keep everyone happy. You can see they respond to every negative review to try to make it right--compare that to the Wingate we ran away from. This is a good hotel, and the best option in the area as far as I could tell. We couldn't recommend it more.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmili808, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Ft. Lauderdale SW/Miramar, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for review.

We are so grateful that you choose to stay with us whenever in the area and hope to see you back soon.

Best Wishes,

Mychal Milian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

One of our family members had an emergency stay in the nearest hospital for our whole visit to Miramar. It was a very stressful time for us, but the hotel staff was great to help us in any way they could. I plan to contact Hilton directly to commend their people in this hotel. Our rooms were very clean, and the food was way beyond what I expected. The carpeting throughout the property was being replaced while we were there, but it was never an issue to us on our floor. The morning we left there were major renovations beginning in the lobby. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmili808, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Ft. Lauderdale SW/Miramar, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your feedback.

We're sorry to hear about the emergency during your stay but we are so glad that we were able to help you make the best of it.

Hope to see you soon!

Regards,

Mychal Milian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed at this location while traveling for business. Front desk staff was no where to be found upon checking in and during the evening. Rooms were average but need updating. Would not stay again while in the area due to nothing special with this HGI.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmili808, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Ft. Lauderdale SW/Miramar, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Hello,

I want to thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience us. Your feedback is very important to us as it allows us to better understand how we can improve our service to you.

I am sorry for the unsatisfactory experience during your recent visit. Please be assured that we want to provide you with an exceptional experience every time you visit us. From your email, it is clear we did not meet your expectations. Again, I am truly sorry we disappointed you.

I want you to know that I have already taken action on your feedback. After reading your email, I immediately shared the information you brought to our attention with the front desk team.

Additionally, I would love to know what day you stayed with us so I can pinpoint the individuals who worked that night.

Please feel free to email me this information to mychal.milian@hilton.com

Thank You,

Mychal Milian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Just left from this hotel. We left early even though we would lose money for the night. Traveled for a soccer tournament and used a Hilton brand like we always do. Got there at 5:30 p.m. On a Thursday and some of our teams rooms were not ready. Other teams were there and hotel was sold out. The noise and running up and down halls was out of control. We travel quite a bit with soccer and never have I been to a hotel that was so out of control. Started calling the front desk at 10:30, then 11:30 and then at 1:15 in the morning to ask them to send someone up on Thursday night to get kids and adults out of halls and to get noise under control. Never worked. On Friday morning I even went to the front desk and asked if they could put a note in the rooms asking parents to control the noise. Clerk assured me it would be taken care of but Friday night came and it was almost as bad. Tried running the fan on the a/c to mute the noise but it would only work on auto so it kept going on and off.
The breakfast was better than most hotel breakfast and the staff in there was very nice and helpful. The rooms were pretty clean. Had hair on our sheets and asked for new ones. One of our team's rooms had a big leak in it by the entry door from water from the above floor. They left early too.
Stay could have been a lot better had we got a good night's sleep. Staff just didn't seem interested in helping. Several of us left early even though we paid with a group rate and it was not refundable. Our team was done and the thought of another miserable night trying to sleep just wasn't appealing. Drove 4 1/2 hours home instead.
If you are thinking of staying here, make sure you ask if they have any groups there. If they do, go somewhere else where you can sleep!

Room Tip: Top floor and away from elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmili808, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Ft. Lauderdale SW/Miramar, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your feedback.

First of all, I'd like to apologize for disturbances during your stay with us. Unfortunately, on that night that the noise complaints were made we did send one of our employees up to check the floor and it did quiet down for a few minutes but then again it would continue. While he was up on the floor he said he didn't hear any noise, and once he would leave it looks as if though the noise would begin again inside the rooms.

Please be assured though, that this is not a normal occurrence at our property as we hardly ever have a hotel full young children.

Thank you for your feedback on the restaurant team as well. I will be sure to pass the feedback over to our Executive Chef.

Regards,

Mychal Milian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We were here for a sporting event. We use Hilton because they don't make you cancel 3 weeks before, and we can usually check out if plans change ( like the team doesn't make it on). But this time we still had to pay for a night we didn't use. Will think about someone other than Hilton possibly next time. The staff was very friendly. Joey at front desk very great. The carpets were old, very dirty, and very smelly in rooms and halls. Good location to I-75 and restaurants. Sometimes Hilton forgets to be a hotel and reduces to a motel. Thin walls. I think I know my neighbors next door pretty well.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmili808, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Ft. Lauderdale SW/Miramar, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your feedback. I will be sure to recognize Joey on his great service at the front desk.

Regarding the condition of the hotel carpets, I am very pleased to inform you that we are current undergoing a reservation which included the hallway carpet, lobby, and all the meeting rooms.

As far as the group rate, it was indeed a non refundable rate as stated on the contract and I apologize if it was misunderstood.

Please feel free to contact me at mychal.milian@hilton.com should you have any other questions.

Thank You,

Mychal Milian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Ft. Lauderdale SW/Miramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Ft. Lauderdale SW/Miramar

Address: 14501 Southwest 29th Street, Miramar, FL 33027
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miramar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Miramar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Ft. Lauderdale SW/Miramar 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hilton Hotels, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Ft. Lauderdale SW/Miramar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Ft. Lauderdale Sw/Miramar Hotel Miramar
Hilton Garden Inn Miramar
Hilton Miramar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Ft. Lauderdale SW/Miramar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.