We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good Cuban restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Caretta

La Caretta
14791 Miramar Parkway, Miramar, FL 33027
(954) 437-3602
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 123 Restaurants in Miramar
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Cuban
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Very good Cuban restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We found this by accident on a Saturday evening and we're glad we did! It had quite a crowd and took this to mean it was popular. It was. The food is quite good and the service was prompt. The white bean soup was very tasty and Cuban sandwiches were some of the best we have had. I recommend it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    23
    10
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
254 reviews 254 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“all those bad reviews did some good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

I unwilling went back to eat at Caretta. And I ordered the kind of foods I like and came out pretty happy. We only go for lunch and they had vaca frito Puerco which is fried beef pork, which was not bad. I wished that the pork pieces was more tender. The service was ok and the atmosphere is great. I love it there. The moro rice which I guess is frijoles negro mixed with rice. I prefer the Colombia calientado but hey Caretta has improved in leaps and I don't mind going there to eat at least this one in Miramar.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Sub par for the area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

This a a cuban restaurant in a predominantly cuban area. The food was not good. We had a party of eight. We ordered appetizers. The calimari was awful. Overall none of us really enjoyed the meal. The waitress on the other hand was very friendly and provided good service.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Delicious.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

The Caribbean/Creole menu choices are delicious, and priced fairly. The ceviche and the croquette appetizer portions were good, as was the sangria. It's a neighborhood family restaurant with a pleasant atmosphere.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, USA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Vaca Frita Thursday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

My wife and I love La Carreta's vaca frita. They make it on Thursdays and it is delicious. We mainly go to eat their vaca frita. I recommend the vaca frita on Thursdays. The other meals are good as well, but not as good as the vaca frita which is what this review is about.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Caretta also viewed

 

Been to La Caretta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Caretta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.