We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the Best Deal near MIA” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Extended Stay America - Miami - Airport - Miami Springs

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Extended Stay America - Miami - Airport - Miami Springs to your Saves list
Extended Stay America - Miami - Airport - Miami Springs
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 Fairway Drive, Miami Springs, FL 33166 (Formerly Homestead Studio Suites)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 10% Today!
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Miami Springs
Memphis, Tennessee
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Still the Best Deal near MIA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

We stayed again this winter at the MIA Homestead Suite Studios and planned it as our base while enjoying the many sights around Miami. Our comments mirror that of our previous review, except that we wanted to add a few notes.
First of all, we were here both before and after our trip to Barbados and therefore stayed in two different rooms (#331 and #339). In both cases, the rooms had NO evidence of bugs of any kind, much less the description by an earlier reviewer. Also, I felt compelled to mention the outstanding assistance at the front desk -- not only Tommy but also Horatio, who offered help and medical advice to my wife who was not feeling well (even checked her blood pressure!). We still highly recommend this extended stay hotel for affordable "hangin' " around Miami!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    38
    19
    14
    13
See reviews for
27
20
16
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

Based on the reviews here in TripAdvisor, we were doubtful about this apart hotel. But it had a really good price and in the photos looked nice. It totally exceeded our expectations. The suite was big and comfortable, very clean, and in good shape: soft bed and sheets, good pillows, big refrigerator, dishwasher. On the downside, the tv was a regular tube with few channels, and the kitchen-ware was minimal. Keep in mind they don't have cradles, so if you have a baby, bring your own.

The pool area was nice, with plenty of chairs and umbrellas, we used it several times. Clean water and a person collected the fallen leaves every morning.
Breakfast was more than OK, with plenty of bread, bagels, French toast, pancakes, muffins, yogurth, fresh fruit, and cereal. Only salty food like bacon and eggs were missing. Nothing you can't live without. The coffe was good as well, and they had decaf.

Staff is very friendly, nice and willing to help, and almost everyone is from Latin America, so no trouble with the language (as in all of the Miami area), since we're from Argentina.

Wireless internet was $5 the whole stay. Good access speed.
Another good thing is there's plenty of food delivery options right to your door.

The apart is located in a very peaceful area, surrounded by similar hotels, even though really close to the airport, we didn't hear a plane. Walking dinstance to IHOP, MacDonalds, Denny's, Burger King and a little foodmart. Close to Hialeah and Doral (less than 10 minutes) and less than 20 minutes from Miami Downtown and the beaches.

I would definitely recommend this hotel, and consider Extended Stay/Homestead in the future.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayamón, Puerto Rico
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2010

My company book me in this hotel for 60 days training, I couldnt sleep all night bother by small flying insects, in the morning i kill arond 30 of those insects and when the maintance dept arrive they confirm they were termites! a little powder just like sand can be found inside the closet YUACK! Now my wife want me to get rid of the suitcase and wash all clothes in hot water, is scary if you bring that back home!
STAY AWAY

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2010

First of all, it should be pointed out that this review is for the Miami Springs extended hotel -- not the one in Doral (as is at least one posted review below).
We are biased to staying on the Miami Springs side of the Miami Airport, because it's safe and fairly convenient to many area eateries. Prior to this trip (in previous years), we had stayed numerous times next door at the Sleep Inn (at a comparable price)...but grew tired of their inability to offer the simple concept of a microfridge in a smoking room. So this time we tried the Homestead Suites, and now we can't imagine why we didn't come here in the first place!
There are not only smoking rooms, but each room boasts a full kitchen. We stayed for a full week (receiving maid service on a weekday of our option) and would have likely continued our stay, had the upcoming weather forecast looked more favorable (at least, by South Florida standards).
The location is not directly under a jet path, so most days we hardly noticed the airport noise outside at the nice pool. Behind the hotel is a popular walking trail around the perimeter of Miami Springs Golf Course, and the homes in that area run $300k or more -- so there's no riff-raff around. Beyond the golf course is downtown Miami Springs with a grocery, pharmacy and some upscale restaurants. To the west of the hotel about 5-8 minutes walk is a variety of fast-food and carry-out restaurants and even an Irish pub ("Bryson's" -- a favorite of ours) .
Regarding the hotel itself, we found that the staff were not only outgoing but responsive to any and all room issues (particularly Justin at the front desk). The rooms are rather large with several sets of screened windows, which could be fully opened to enjoy the fresh Florida air. The bed mattress was exceptionally comfortable. The TV, though, was old and was unable to show text along the bottom (sports scores, etc.) and is in need of replacement. The continental breakfast (which some extended stay hotels don't even offer) was decent with a very responsible attendant who kept all selections available right up to its closing time. On our departure, the shuttle driver cheerfully granted our unusual request to the Tri-Rail train station adjacent to the airport.
Without a doubt, Homestead Suites is the best deal we've found if you plan to stay near MIA, whether it be for a day, a week, or longer.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

My company booked me here and I was not happy after seeing all of the other reviews. The hotel is cheap and pretty clean. My biggest complaint was with the service of the hotel. My smoke alarm was broken and would go off at night. I told the front desk and they attempted to fix it. But then the next night same issue. They then said that they replaced it. But once again at 3am the alarm would sound.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2008

Homestead Extended Stay – Miami, FL Dec 29th – 31st 2007
Experience overall – the Hotel looked nice for the type of accommodation that it is.
Overall – outside clean, up-kept, pool available – that’s a plus – interior: clean and modern.
Rooms: Clean – a few items left behind from last person staying there.
1 disadvantage – someone kept leaving a wood-chip in the back door downstairs so that they could get in without going through the front door – this was on more than one occasion – I removed it at least 3 times and it was always back again – this greatly decreases the feel of security, while a door being open to anyone who wants to come into the back door of a hotel at night does not make me feel safe.
Service: There's a great full continental breakfast being served, but only Mondays to Fridays. There's wireless Internet for 4.99$ per Stay, and the guy at the front desk gave me the code for free, maybe because we were just staying 2 nights.
Staff: friendly enough - no above and beyond – just service as needed and polite.
Out of 5 Stars, I guess I would give it 3 because the room was clean, the service was good enough and the value for the price was good. It would have been 4 stars for the type of hotel it was, had the staff gone a little extra out of their way to be friendly and the wood chip have been removed permanently from the back door. Also, the bathroom really left something to be desired – the tub wasn’t the cleanest, and there was a really gross big stain on the floor in the bathroom as well.
I would recommend this hotel for the price and convenience

Stayed December 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2008

We stayed here during a business trip to Miami. I normally like Homestead Hotels, but not this one.
I should have posted this warning sooner, but am just about to take another trip to Miami and am not going to use Priceline to make sure we don't get this hotel again. Instead I am reading traveler reviews on this site to make a better choice, and decided to share my experience.
It first appears to be a nice hotel, but borders a bad neighborhood and the grounds back to a park.
The parking lot has no security of any kind, no fence, no camera, no security guard. Our vehicle was broken into and everything inside stolen. We had driven a van and there was business property inside we could not transport to our room--it must have taken a little while to clean it out. The police who responded said it happened there frequently and the hotel had been advised repeatedly to install cameras, but would not. We were also told by the police a similar event had happened there THE PREVIOUS NIGHT but there were no warnings or information given to guests.
The management acted absolutely unconcerned about the event.
Unfortunately I had booked two consecutive weekends through Priceline and had to return the subsequent weekend. The manager had assured us that we would have a room where we could park outside our own window on our return, but when we returned we were told he was on vacation and no such room was reserved for us. Again, no one seemed to care even a little bit.
Only use this hotel if you are not parking a vehicle and if your transportation can safely drop you at the door and watch you enter.

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Extended Stay America - Miami - Airport - Miami Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Miami - Airport - Miami Springs

Address: 101 Fairway Drive, Miami Springs, FL 33166 (Formerly Homestead Studio Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Springs
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Miami Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Extended Stay America - Miami - Airport - Miami Springs 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Extended Stay, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Extended Stay America - Miami - Airport - Miami Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestead Studio Hotel Miami Springs
Homestead Studio Suites Miami Springs
Miami Springs Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites Miami Springs
Homestead Miami Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Extended Stay America - Miami - Airport - Miami Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.