We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Longer there.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holleman's Restaurant - CLOSED

Holleman's Restaurant
1 Curtiss Pkwy, Miami Springs, FL 33166-5263
(305) 888-8097
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Restaurant details
Miami Springs, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“No Longer there.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

This site needs to be deleted. Holleman's is no longer in business. The restaurant closed several months ago.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    9
    7
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food! Not so great service...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We had a groupon for Holleman's while on a week long vacation in Miami. The restaurant was a little difficult to find, as it was off of a round a bout. Also its quite a ways from South Beach, Miami, as thats where we were staying. When we were arrived, we were the only diners there at the time, but as we started eating it got real packed. The groupon entitled us to two entree's, an appetizer, and one dessert. We had the steamed mussles as an appetizer and they were great! I could have eaten a bucket of those alone. I had the lamb dish and it was so very tasty. The only complaint was that it was so tiny compared the the steak my friend had ordered. His was huge, so huge that me barely could eat half of it. I tasted his steak and it was great as well. Our appetizers and food came out at a reasonable amount of time.. Unfortunately, we ordered the cheesecake for dessert and after 20 minutes asked if we could just get it to go. Understandable, it had gotten crowded, but 20 minutes to bring a slice of cheesecake to a table was outrageous. Once she brought our cheesecake to the table in a to go container, it would have been logical to accompany it with our check. That was not the case and we had to ask for our bill and wait, literally another 15 minutes!! Such a disappointment, as the food was excellent. If you are visiting the Miami Springs area, i would definitely recommend checking this restaurant out.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Springs, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Closed down”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Holleman's Restaurant was closed. When open the food was fair, but a little expensive for the value. Karaoki was popular.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homosassa, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Not the best choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Upon arrival noticed the walls needed patching as they were chipped. The booth seats are torrn and patched with silver tape...at this point afraid how the rest will go. Ordered seared tuna and mahi-mahi...our waitress Vanessa was very attentive.' CAPRESE SALAD was good, WINE WAS EXCELLENT......BUT, ENTREE TOOK VERY LONG TO BE SERVED. Tuna was good and Magi Magi was OK....thought it was over cooked. But, will give it another try...

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland Park, Florida
1 review
“Sad, Tired & Smelly”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We were greeted by very rude waitress that threw the menus down in a very brightly lit booth. Never asked if we had a reservation. Never asked if this booth was okay. No pleasant small talk that would have been normal even by the hostess at Denny's. In the first booth that we sat, had a glaring light causing all to squint, we noticed that there was an air freshener hanging from the faux Tiffany light fixture. That’s was odd. We did move to a booth that did not have a search light hanging from the ceiling and again notice tucked into the little niche was a wrought iron plant holder and hanging from that was also an air freshener, and upon further looking around the restaurant, all the booths they all had air fresheners hanging from somewhere. There was only one waiter and one busboy. The waiter leaned against the wall, fidgeted with his hands in his pockets, and was not engaging at all! He never tried to up sell or mention what was good or what was the freshest. Busboy grunted a few times but was not helpful and shuffled through the restaurant just going through the motions of his job never enjoying or engaging anyone including the staff.
Ordered the Calamari with cherry peppers, Medium Rare Rib Eye Steak with what i assumed would be a small pat of garlic compound butter and Fries. The Calamari arrived and was the chewiest Calamari I have ever, ever had. It also did not have cherry peppers tossed into the dish….just because you chop up a bell pepper small it does not make it a cherry pepper.... tried to eat the calamari but did not finish.... My steak arrived and was drenched in a white sauce and served with that were also swimming in this unusual white sauce. The steak, from what I could tell had a good char on it from the grill. I tasted the white sauce which was not a compound butter at all but some food purveyors Imitation Garlic "Butter" Sauce of which was at best cheap margarine with garlic powder. Fortunately, most of the sauce was under the fries and not the steak so I was able to eat most of the steak. My friend that was dining with me could not eat any of his.
The busboy came and stood by the table stared at our dishes…grunted …and we asked for a box to take the non-eaten meat home for the dog.
The waiter came by and explained that the only thing made in house was the Crème Brûlée but there was also cheese cake, chocolate cake and something else equally unmemorable and decided on ordering the Crème Brûlée. The offer of coffee or after dinner drinks was not forthcoming. Dessert arrived with no fanfare and was presented rather plainly. The Crème Brûlée seemed like it was going to win us over but alas...although seemingly perfect, the right caramel crispness and what seemed to be the right custard firmness.....this too failed to delight....the custard was hot and if it was any hotter the custard would have broke, the only thing done perfectly was the Caramel Topping!
I will not be returning this restaurant and if you are in the market for purchasing an type of coupon or certificate - be warned that this is not one of Miami/Dade’s better dinning establishments.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Holleman's Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holleman's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.