We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 for the hotel not the service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Miami International Airport

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Miami International Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Miami International Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1111 South Royal Poinciana Boulevard, Miami Springs, FL 33166   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #6 of 12 hotels in Miami Springs
GreenLeadersSilver level
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“3 for the hotel not the service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Good points, the hotel is very user friendly. Free shuttle, snacks on arrival, clean room had everything I needed barring a safe. Good tv channels. Has breakfast but didnt know about it so didnt have it. Good size lift and was always there when you needed it. People were partying in the pool early hours in the morning so i eventually called front desk who had them gone asap! Has a bakery in house. All in all as a first time Holiday Inn client Ittook care of everything I needed.

Now heres the bad and Ido not write bad reviews unless I feel it is completely necessary. The customer service was non existent! Didnt happen, noone smile, spoke nicely, interacted or god forbid laughed unless it was to another staff member or someone spoke spanish!.No matter how cheerful I came across. No ,matter how much I tipped! Nothing from the front desk to the shuttle drivers to the bakery server to the housemaids. I felt like I was second rate not worthy to look at. Sure there was communication breakdowns through my lack of spanish, nil and their lack of english or wanting to speak it. I found the service was the same at the airport and the same at Dolphin mall! It was like being in a totally different country to the friendly one I had loved travelling in. I would love to stay at a holiday inn again just never in Miami.

Room Tip: When coming from the airport find where the hotel shuttles stop and look out for the green and white...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Miami International Airport, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Flyingsolo44,

Thank you for taking the time to communicate your concerns. I am pleased to know that you found our location to be adequate for your needs and our TV selection was at par with your needs. However, I'd like to apologize for any inconvenience you may have had with the level of service received. This is definitely not up to our standards and we are constantly working on improving the quality of service provided. We will use your comments to improve on our efforts.

Again, thanks for the candid review and my apologies for the shortcomings.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    92
    126
    125
    57
    50
See reviews for
125
117
39
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westborough, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

You know that you are not off to a good start when you are waiting for the shuttle for 20 minutes, under hot and muggy air, you call the hotel and they tell you "the shuttle is leaving in 10 mins, will take 15 mins to get to you at the AA terminal" and like us, there were handful number of people including some people with disabilities. Sure enough, it took that long. Luckily enough were able to get in but after that stop the full shuttle did not stop for more pick ups leaving behind many frustrated guests at the different stops. The story repeats itself on the return to the airport.

Check in was fast and furious to get to a room where the carpet is loosing threads and filthy in general. I woke up with a sore throat from the dust and smell in the room.

It is beyond me to understand why the laundry staff uses the guest elevator with the carts and would not move to the side to allow guests in because he was too busy texting, which means waiting for the next elevator to come back to the 8th floor.

This hotel is not a 3* and it is a shame to the Holiday Inn chain. Thanks God we were just there from one night.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Miami International Airport, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Dear CitizenoftheAir,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding customer service and room condition. We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in hotel I night April 20th pre cruise the hotel was booked as a package deal 4 months earlier sold as a luxury miami hotel. We have stayed in many holiday inns before.
When we arrived late Saturday after delayed flight and missed connection we were told the room we had been allocated had a party going on on that floor which was extremely noisey and there was no way we would get any sleep as it wasn't going to finish until 1am and the only other room they had left was a smoking room. As we had been travelling for over 20 hours and all we wanted to do was get to bed we accepted this. The stench of the smoke was so bad the pillows and the bed stunk of smoke we left the air conditioning on to try to help but this was so old and noisey sounding like a generator. Even after leaving the hotel we could smell the tobacco on even our suitcases. The receptionist did say if the smell was too bad they could send someone up with fabreeze to mast the smell but it would have taken a lot more then this to mast the smell.
My advice is if you are a non smoker under no circumstances accept one of these rooms as soon as you get out the lift the smell hits you.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Miami International Airport, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Jayne O,

Thank you for taking the time to relay your comments regarding our property during your recent stay. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I apologize for any inconvenience the condition of the room and the level of noise caused you during your stay. I have taken note of your valuable comments and would share these with our management team for the purpose of bringing improvements needed. Although we were not able to exceed or at least be at par with your expectation, we hope you give us another chance to change your perception of our hotel.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The hotel is okay. The lobby and staff are very friendly. The room, however, left much to be desired. The outlets were coming out of the wall (that is if you could find one). The air conditioner is super loud so you have to choose between the noise or a hot room. The bathroom was super small and in direct view of the window. Stay if you need to, but luxury this place is not.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Miami International Airport, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear alegaiter,

Thank you for the detailed review of our hotel. It is good to know that you found the staff friendly. I sincerely apologize for the experience you had over the room's condition. Your comments are being reviewed by the hotel's management and appropriate action will be taken. I assure you that every comment, no matter how small, is taken very seriously. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is. I sincerely hope that the next time you are in Miami Springs you will give our hotel another try.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Good hotel, clean rooms, reasonable rates. Breakfast in the top floor restaurant is a must, especially at sunrise. We have spend 1 or 2 nights here every year since 1996 and have always been very happy with the rooms, except for once when we had a room in the second tower.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Free shuttle from Miami International. Also had a $1 fee for the shuttle to the port of Miami. We thought that was a complete steal of a deal. Saved us a decent amount in taxi fees. the restaurant had a great breakfast. Only problem is that it isn't in the best location to walk to restaurants or grocery stores if needed. Overall it was very good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesHIMiami, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Miami International Airport, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your past stay at our hotel the Holiday Inn Miami International Airport. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor and share your experience with others. We have used your feedback to improve our hotel and want to share exciting news.
In 2009 the Holiday Inn Miami International Airport was one of the first properties to re-launch the new improved IHG- Holiday Inn product here in South Florida. This included a major renovation of all public area throughout the hotel, and added new Holiday Inn Hallmarks.
In 2014 the Holiday Inn Miami International Airport renovated AGAIN...... the hotel has BRAND NEW GUEST ROOMS & SUITES. These rooms are beautifully decorated with brand new top of the line furniture, refrigerators and microwaves in every room, larger 40" flat screen televisions, new bedding, additional outlets, and new bathrooms with your choice of a traditional tub or new shower.
The Holiday Inn Miami International Airport has added value: Complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel and in all guest rooms, Complimentary Parking, Complimentary Transportation To/From Miami International Airport, Transportation To the Port of Miami, Signature Car Rental & Juma's Transportation Services on Property (3rd parties), and on-site 24 Hour Lobby Cafe & Room Service, Our Famous Vista Lounge (formerly the Tree Top) with Live Salsa Music on Saturday Nights & Salsa Dance Lessons on Sundays, and my favorite our El Mirador Restaurant with amazing views is located on the 9th floor "Sky Level" the 360 degree view of the City Sky Line will take your breath away.
Looking to book a meeting we have over 3,000 sq feet of flexible meeting space. Our talented culinary staff can cater any event from Weddings to Corporate Events for information about our Meeting & Catering Services and Availability contact catering@himiaia.com.
Please let us know if you need any assistance with future reservations. We would love to have you stay here with us. You can contact our reservations team at reservations@himiaia.com. Thank you for staying with us we appreciate your business.

Warm Regards,
Doreen Latimer
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

I am in the middle of a trip in which I am staying in a few Holiday Inns. I arrived here at 9am and was met with the best customer service I have ever received from any hotel - thank you Margot. At other properties I would have been told to go away until 3 pm check in time but not here. Within an hour I was in my room with a complimentary breakfast , goodie box with chips, water etc in and the ability to maximise my time in Miami. The room is clean and is modern with a nice 42" plasma and whilst it is an older property it is just what you need from an airport hotel. Functional with great views of downtown and the airport and a decent pool to top up your tan as well. A free regular shuttle to the airport , shuttle to the cruise terminals for a small charge plus a bus to the huge Dolphin Mall for $ 10 return several times per day just adds to my satisfaction. I will remember the service I received here for a long time.
Well done Margot and well done Holiday Inn Miami Intl Airport.

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesHIMiami, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Miami International Airport, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your past stay at our hotel the Holiday Inn Miami International Airport. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor and share your experience with others. We have used your feedback to improve our hotel and want to share exciting news.
In 2009 the Holiday Inn Miami International Airport was one of the first properties to re-launch the new improved IHG- Holiday Inn product here in South Florida. This included a major renovation of all public area throughout the hotel, and added new Holiday Inn Hallmarks.
In 2014 the Holiday Inn Miami International Airport renovated AGAIN...... the hotel has BRAND NEW GUEST ROOMS & SUITES. These rooms are beautifully decorated with brand new top of the line furniture, refrigerators and microwaves in every room, larger 40" flat screen televisions, new bedding, additional outlets, and new bathrooms with your choice of a traditional tub or new shower.
The Holiday Inn Miami International Airport has added value: Complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel and in all guest rooms, Complimentary Parking, Complimentary Transportation To/From Miami International Airport, Transportation To the Port of Miami, Signature Car Rental & Juma's Transportation Services on Property (3rd parties), and on-site 24 Hour Lobby Cafe & Room Service, Our Famous Vista Lounge (formerly the Tree Top) with Live Salsa Music on Saturday Nights & Salsa Dance Lessons on Sundays, and my favorite our El Mirador Restaurant with amazing views is located on the 9th floor "Sky Level" the 360 degree view of the City Sky Line will take your breath away.
Looking to book a meeting we have over 3,000 sq feet of flexible meeting space. Our talented culinary staff can cater any event from Weddings to Corporate Events for information about our Meeting & Catering Services and Availability contact catering@himiaia.com.
Please let us know if you need any assistance with future reservations. We would love to have you stay here with us. You can contact our reservations team at reservations@himiaia.com. Thank you for staying with us we appreciate your business.

Warm Regards,
Doreen Latimer
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Miami International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Miami International Airport

Address: 1111 South Royal Poinciana Boulevard, Miami Springs, FL 33166
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 hotels in Miami Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Miami International Airport 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The signs of change are everywhere at the Holiday Inn Miami International Airport hotel. From our iconic signs to our genuine service, from our lobbies to our linens, you'll see the difference the moment you arrive. We invite you to come see for your self, the newly re-launched Holiday Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Miami International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Miami International Airport Hotel Miami Springs
Miami Springs Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Miami Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Miami International Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.