We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average budget place (for Miami) to stay.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Miami International Airport

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Miami International Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Miami International Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1111 South Royal Poinciana Boulevard, Miami Springs, FL 33166   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #6 of 12 hotels in Miami Springs
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Average budget place (for Miami) to stay.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We did a late check-in - no hassles.

The airport shuttles are very frequent but you have to stand outside on the curbside (sheltered) and wave to the driver to stop. However, the shuttles are different for different locations of Holiday Inn. So, don't be annoyed if you see a Holiday Inn shuttle refusing to board you.

At the hotel, the bell-carts were not good - shaky.

We booked a king-size bed hotel room through priceline but when we checked in, it was a single queen bed room. It was a handicap access room - so, both the bathroom and room were roomy.

After we checked-in at night, there were no shampoos/soap in the room. So, my wife called the reception and was asked to go down (7 floors) to get the items. She was not given a conditioner - they did not have any.


The air conditioner was very old and noisy.

The coffee maker in the room was very dirty and there was no complimentary tea. The coffee shop in the lobby, as a result, makes good money ($2/cup) and is open 22hrs/day.

The room has no fridge/ microwave however, they provided us with a broken one first but later they gave us one in working condition. To store stuff in the refrigerator you can give to front desk but the cost is $5/day to have one in the room.

No means to open the windows - so, we were dying for fresh air.

Corridors were old-ish. The elevators were slow.

The front desk ladies get you a taxi, which arrives on-the-dot. The taxi guy was very courteous. We had the same guy ferry us in the morning for 3 days.

The hotel has free car parking and I would recommend it because it will not be easy to walk around for stuff.

All the house-keeping barely speak any english.

All in all a very average experience - barely made it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Miami International Airport, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear travel_dermie,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving a review. It is good to know that you had a good experience during check in. However, I would like to apologize that the room was not completely at par with your expectations. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    92
    125
    123
    57
    50
See reviews for
124
117
39
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
São Paulo, SP
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

The hotel is great for anyone who goes to Miami for the sole purpose of shopping or for those who are is in transit.
The location of the hotel for those who is car is excellent. Getting to twenty minutes from Miami Beach and next to shopping malls and restaurants in the area. And parking is free.
My room had no minibar, but asked for one at reception and was answered promptly.
The rooms are large but noisy. The cleaning is not very efficient. The shuttle service is efficient and the lobby of the hotel features panels indicating the flow of arrivals and departures from the airport.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Miami International Airport, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear AleteiaBofelli,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate that you find our location to be convenient and the nice comment regarding our shuttle service.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding housekeeping and the noise during your stay. We will look into this point. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Our family stayed here the night before our cruise, and it was great! The service was excellent the rooms were very nice and clean. There was a free shuttle from the airport and it was a dollar/person for a shuttle to the Miami port. There are cheaper hotels near the airport but the shuttle convenience makes it with staying here. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a nights stay in Miami. There are a few restaurants you can walk to as well.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesHIMiami, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Miami International Airport, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your past stay at our hotel the Holiday Inn Miami International Airport. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor and share your experience with others. We have used your feedback to improve our hotel and want to share exciting news.
In 2009 the Holiday Inn Miami International Airport was one of the first properties to re-launch the new improved IHG- Holiday Inn product here in South Florida. This included a major renovation of all public area throughout the hotel, and added new Holiday Inn Hallmarks.
In 2014 the Holiday Inn Miami International Airport renovated AGAIN...... the hotel has BRAND NEW GUEST ROOMS & SUITES. These rooms are beautifully decorated with brand new top of the line furniture, refrigerators and microwaves in every room, larger 40" flat screen televisions, new bedding, additional outlets, and new bathrooms with your choice of a traditional tub or new shower.
The Holiday Inn Miami International Airport has added value: Complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel and in all guest rooms, Complimentary Parking, Complimentary Transportation To/From Miami International Airport, Transportation To the Port of Miami, Signature Car Rental & Juma's Transportation Services on Property (3rd parties), and on-site 24 Hour Lobby Cafe & Room Service, Our Famous Vista Lounge (formerly the Tree Top) with Live Salsa Music on Saturday Nights & Salsa Dance Lessons on Sundays, and my favorite our El Mirador Restaurant with amazing views is located on the 9th floor "Sky Level" the 360 degree view of the City Sky Line will take your breath away.
Looking to book a meeting we have over 3,000 sq feet of flexible meeting space. Our talented culinary staff can cater any event from Weddings to Corporate Events for information about our Meeting & Catering Services and Availability contact catering@himiaia.com.
Please let us know if you need any assistance with future reservations. We would love to have you stay here with us. You can contact our reservations team at reservations@himiaia.com. Thank you for staying with us we appreciate your business.

Warm Regards,
Doreen Latimer
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gastonia, North Carolina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We were picked up at Miami Intl. by hotel shuttle which runs from hotel every half hour. Upon arrival everyone was very courteous and as a Priority Club Member was given the customary white box package, then was told they upgraded our room, which by the way is very nice. Then the gave us complimentary breakfast vouchers and and a buy a drink and get one free card. The Cafe in the lobby is open 24/7 and the attendant, Alien, was more than helpful. My wife and I could not be more satisfied. We went for a walk and found even the traffic to be friendly.


A+ for Miami.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesHIMiami, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Miami International Airport, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your past stay at our hotel the Holiday Inn Miami International Airport. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor and share your experience with others. We have used your feedback to improve our hotel and want to share exciting news.
In 2009 the Holiday Inn Miami International Airport was one of the first properties to re-launch the new improved IHG- Holiday Inn product here in South Florida. This included a major renovation of all public area throughout the hotel, and added new Holiday Inn Hallmarks.
In 2014 the Holiday Inn Miami International Airport renovated AGAIN...... the hotel has BRAND NEW GUEST ROOMS & SUITES. These rooms are beautifully decorated with brand new top of the line furniture, refrigerators and microwaves in every room, larger 40" flat screen televisions, new bedding, additional outlets, and new bathrooms with your choice of a traditional tub or new shower.
The Holiday Inn Miami International Airport has added value: Complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel and in all guest rooms, Complimentary Parking, Complimentary Transportation To/From Miami International Airport, Transportation To the Port of Miami, Signature Car Rental & Juma's Transportation Services on Property (3rd parties), and on-site 24 Hour Lobby Cafe & Room Service, Our Famous Vista Lounge (formerly the Tree Top) with Live Salsa Music on Saturday Nights & Salsa Dance Lessons on Sundays, and my favorite our El Mirador Restaurant with amazing views is located on the 9th floor "Sky Level" the 360 degree view of the City Sky Line will take your breath away.
Looking to book a meeting we have over 3,000 sq feet of flexible meeting space. Our talented culinary staff can cater any event from Weddings to Corporate Events for information about our Meeting & Catering Services and Availability contact catering@himiaia.com.
Please let us know if you need any assistance with future reservations. We would love to have you stay here with us. You can contact our reservations team at reservations@himiaia.com. Thank you for staying with us we appreciate your business.

Warm Regards,
Doreen Latimer
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
119 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I was a little nervous about staying at this property given some of the poor reviews, but an extra night on my trip warranted finding a hotel at short notice where I could redeem some priority club points. Figuring I would not be in the hotel that long, and aided by the fact that this was the only property with availability, I took the plunge.

I wasn't disappointed. When I go into a Holiday Inn, I don't expect 5 star luxurt - rather a functional, clean hotel. And that is what I found.

Check in was easy, and the staff friendly, Free parking close to the airport was a boon, and although close to the airport and a main road, I did not notice that much noise. The room was adequate - not huge, but there again I did not need it to be. I needed it to be clean and comfortable, which it was.

The bathroom was also clean - quite small but again it did the job. Amenities were present, but sparse, and towels looked mid-refurb. One was threadbare and the other fluffy. There were washcloths and hand towels, again a mix of old and new.

WiFi was available in the rooms and was fast compared to some of the other hotels I had used on this trip.

I ate dinner in the lounge which was possibly the weirdest part of the stay. The bar and restaurant were on the top floor and had seen better days - and those better days were some time ago. I can't really describe what it was like. Views of the airport were possible, but only if contorted on high back sofas which had positioned so that you could not easily see the view. What is the point of having a bar with a view if you don't allow guests to see it?

The food was fine - again, not spectacular, but not horrible either.

Breakfast has been a recurring theme in recent reviews...but not this one. I had to make an early getaway so instead ate at a Cracker Barrel half way between Miami and Orlando.

I would stay here again, but probably only for a night at a time. It is a clean and useful standby for an emergency overnight stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Miami International Airport, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear wildthing271,

We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment. Once again thank you for the wonderful and kind words of praise.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I don't normally write poor reviews but this place deserves one.

Old, tired, run down and noisy... did I say noisy... yes very. It's just off the flight path of MIA ... close to the airport yes but unfortunately you hear the big guys climbing out at full throttle from 6am to midnight. Also the walls are paper thin, you get to enjoy the adjacent rooms conversations and other activities. Poorly maintained ... faucets loose, toilet seat loose, a/c was a window rattler with a broken front that wouldn't clip on ... if the simple stuff isn't getting done what can you think about the stuff you can't see ...

Basically this is an older, run down, poorly maintained place that is definitely not up to normal Holiday Inn standards... it should be either brought up to specs or dropped from the chain.

Oh ... no free breakfast either, just a small counter that sells basic stuff. There is a restaurant, and what they call a sports bar, on the 9th floor, but the service is slow and the food marginal.

The front end staff are friendly and helpful, that's about the only good thing I can say about this place.

Take a pass on this one... you can do better for the money.

Room Tip: Just don't stay here, that's all I can say ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrg971, General Manager at Holiday Inn Miami International Airport, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

I apologize for your recent experience and will like to advise you that we are not in the direct landing path for the Miami Int Airport, we also take pride in the upkeep of our rooms and we are up to Holiday inn Standards having obtained a 95% on our last standards inspection only 6 months ago, we are also aware of our guest's perception of our ammenities and we are embarking on a complete renovation of our hotel rooms and public areas. This process has already begun and we have completed a part of this project to ensure our guest's in room experience is in par to the high standards that Holiday Inn demands. We take your comments very seriously and I would like to have the opportunity to discuss this further at your convenience. My e mail is : Markos@himiaia.com and I would love the opportunity to speak to you on this matter.

I remain at your service

Markos A Rivas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Having read some bad reviews (dirty rooms etc) I was a little wary of this hotel but we had club points to spend so we stayed. I was not sorry. The room was large, comfortable (2 queen beds and a huge armchair and desk etc) and clean. We had an excellent dinner in the top floor restaurant. It was very convenient to get to and from the Rental Car Centre and had a large car park. Breakfast was OK, not up to same standard as dinner. There was an option of light breakfast at the groundfloor cafe.
Air-con was a little noisy (as we found in most places), but it was January so we just turned it off.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrg971, General Manager at Holiday Inn Miami International Airport, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words and constructive critism of our hotel, we take all of our guest's feedback and review it with our staff to improve on our services and ammenities.

I remain at your service

Markos A Rivas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Miami International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Miami International Airport

Address: 1111 South Royal Poinciana Boulevard, Miami Springs, FL 33166
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 hotels in Miami Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Miami International Airport 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The signs of change are everywhere at the Holiday Inn Miami International Airport hotel. From our iconic signs to our genuine service, from our lobbies to our linens, you'll see the difference the moment you arrive. We invite you to come see for your self, the newly re-launched Holiday Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Miami International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Miami International Airport Hotel Miami Springs
Miami Springs Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Miami Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Miami International Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.