We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A convenience appreciated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Miami International Airport

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Miami International Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Miami International Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1111 South Royal Poinciana Boulevard, Miami Springs, FL 33166   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Miami Springs
GreenLeadersSilver level
Trinidad
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A convenience appreciated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

My husband and myself were directed to this hotel via AA after they put us through a hellish experience after we returned from our honeymoon.
We arrived at this hotel a couple of hours before check in time and we were greeted nicely and the man at the front desk tried to locate a comfortable room for us with a king size bed. This was a relief since we were exhausted. I liked the size of the room and found it very accommodating. The bathroom could be a little cleaner but I am very particular about bathrooms, I did not find any hair on the floor so that was a plus.
Didn't have much food choices, however for dinner the view from the restaurant on the upper floor is really breathtaking for this hotel it is one of the nicest things.
However the elevators really need some work there is a bit of time delay in the response and sometimes the elevator I chose did not even work so they could try to update that.
I also liked that there was a shuttle taking you to dolphin mall costing only 10 bucks a person round trip where as a taxi cost 30 bucks one way.
I also had a good experience with the shuttle driver who brought us to the hotel he was very courteous.
For swimmers the pool is very deep...so you may enjoy it after a long day, my husband did.
Overall, the location was nice but with some adjustments and renovations this could be a great hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    128
    128
    59
    50
See reviews for
128
119
39
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This hotel had a makeover! Could not get over the fact that they painted over peeling paint? Bathroom appeared clean initially but found long black hairs in toilet and shower.
There was a party on top floor and I was two floors down, could not get to sleep until the party ceased at midnight, so a lot less sleep than I had hoped for.
The only plus for this hotel is the staff, they were great!
Unfortunately will not be staying here again and will advise others to avoid

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at numerous hotels and I have to say that this has been the worst so far. We were told that because we booked our room through Priceline that we had to stay in a smoking room. (What hotel still allows smoking in there rooms?) As soon as we stepped off the elevator onto our floor, it reeked of smoke. When we got to our room it too reeked of smoke and some sort of nasty disinfectant they had used to try to mask the smoke smell. Needless to say now everything we brought with us (clothes) stinks like smoke!! It is absolutely disgusting. We pretty much begged the manager to find us another room, but they were no help! Stay here at your own risk!!

Room Tip: Book at another hotel! Spend a few extra bucks because it will be well worth it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrg971, General Manager at Holiday Inn Miami International Airport, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

We had previosly responded to your complaint though Guest Relations and through your booking agent, we did agree that your booking agent made your reservation for a smoking king size room. Our hotel was sold out during your stay and we had no available rooms to provide you with a room change. We do apologize for your experience , and as a none smoker I can udnerstand your reaction to being on a smoking floor. I will like to also advise you to double check when booking with a third party like Priceline as they don't guarantee bed type of smoking preference, and this can be very misleading and confusing to the guest.

Thank you for your comments

Markos A Rivas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Texas
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Booked two nights, one before a flight to Barbados and one coming home from Barbados a week apart. We booked through American Airlines, not directly through the hotel and paid in full. Upon arrival at the hotel, they did not have our reservation. I produced a copy of the confirmation we had and that still did not get us a room immediately. The first lady who took the confirmation from us "disappeared" to the back room leaving us to stand at the counter for what seemed like ages. Then a man came out however did nothing and FINALLY he came back to say we had a room. The issue seemed to be that we went through a third party to make the reservation and they had not communicated with the third party [AA]. While there I gave the man a copy of the return confirmation and he assured us there would be a reservation. Considering the flight from Barbados was delayed and we arrived after midnight it was good there was a reservation. The lady who was there this time demanded to see a copy of the confirmation showing we had prepaid [even though we'd already given them a copy of the confirmation] and was very abrupt and rude. We asked if the stay was going to be recorded in our Priority Club account and she said no because it was booked through a third party. We were tired and wanted a room and this sent us over the edge, so now we were arguing about whether or not this was really a Holiday Inn. Finally she gave us the room keys and we were done for the night. On the courtesy trip from the hotel to the airport both stays the driver made a detour to pick up other people at another location which confused us. When I looked at other reviews on Tripadvisor I finally saw one that expressed the same confusion, it would be very helpful if the driver could just let us know there was a detour and then we wouldn't be concerned. Overall the room is fine for a one night stay at the airport, the hotel staff are the worst customer service people I have experienced in a long time and the hotel does not represent the Holiday Inn image/reputation. We will be letting Holiday Inn know as well. My suggestion would be to avoid this location if at all possible.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Miami International Airport, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Connie C,

Thank you for posting a review of our property. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring the matter of the front desk and the shuttle service to our attention and apologize for any inconvenience caused you. We will follow up with the appropriate department to ensure that similar incidents won't happen again.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

On October 13, 2012, myself and my wife were married and had a reception at the Holiday Inn in Miami Springs. We were a special case due to the fact that the wedding event was less than two months away. I met Doreen the event/sales manager and from the first meeting, she began with a "How can I help you approach". Doreen was able to put the event together, streamline the catering, show set up plans for the room, and make the event come together. The food service manager, Mohamed was also key in the coming together of this event. He made the process of the catering easy and painless. Of all of the portions of the wedding planning, Doreen and Mohamed made this the easiest part of the event. I would recommend the Hotel to anyone I know and especially if you are interested in an event. They do a tremendous job and focus on the true meaning of hospitality!

Room Tip: The airport side of the hotel has excellent views of Miami during the day and at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Bahama Island
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

the highlight of my stay was thinking im on my way to the airport in the "free shuttle" only to realize the driver detours, to pick up a pilot from some apartments for some side deal, they discussed payment and how many times he had done it previously. inconvenient and just plain rude.

the hotel is disgusting, outdated worst holiday ive ever encountered. (sarcastically) your better off staying at a motel 6 (best comparison)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrg971, General Manager at Holiday Inn Miami International Airport, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

I will like to offer an explanation as to why the driver stoped on the way to the airport by Airport Villas which is actually a hotel that houses airline crews for many commerical domestic airlines that fly out of MIA. We had a group of guests that were staying at the airport villas and we picked them up on the way to the airport, Airport villas is half of mile away from the airport so we did not consider this a major inconvenience to our guests being trasported to the airport at that time. There as no side deals and the drivers did not receive conpensation from the passengers, this was clearly a service offered to these stranded crew members. We take great pride on the condition and cleanliness of our hotel and over 70k custormers a year leave our hotel happy. We certanly did not make this impression on you and for that I apologize. we have reviewed your comments with our staff and we take them very seriously, We assure you that quality and service is our focus. Thank you for your feedback and we hope this experience did not change your view of this great brand which is Holiday Inn.

Regards,

Markos A Rivas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Ask for Israel! This man is exceptional and amazingly gifted in customer service! His sincere passion for his position made the entire trip! The restaurant overlooking the Miami skyline with the ambient music in the background made for a very relaxing dinner. The food, staff, and the service was above average.

Room Tip: Ask for a front room on the 7th floor. It overlooks the Miami skyline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesHIMiami, Manager at Holiday Inn Miami International Airport, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
We truly appreciate your review and we are glad you had a great time with us! We hope you will return soon.

Sincerely,

Doreen Latimer
Senior Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Miami International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Miami International Airport

Address: 1111 South Royal Poinciana Boulevard, Miami Springs, FL 33166
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Miami Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Miami International Airport 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The signs of change are everywhere at the Holiday Inn Miami International Airport hotel. From our iconic signs to our genuine service, from our lobbies to our linens, you'll see the difference the moment you arrive. We invite you to come see for your self, the newly re-launched Holiday Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Miami International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Miami International Airport Hotel Miami Springs
Miami Springs Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Miami Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Miami International Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.