We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pre or Post Cruise Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Miami International Airport

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Miami International Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Miami International Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1111 South Royal Poinciana Boulevard, Miami Springs, FL 33166   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 25%
Ranked #5 of 12 hotels in Miami Springs
GreenLeadersSilver level
Burlington, Kentucky
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great Pre or Post Cruise Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We chose this hotel primarily due to the fact that it was close to the airport. The free airport shuttle arrived at the airport after about a 2 minute wait. Whisked us of and we were at the hotel in 5 minutes.
It was about 12pm and 3 hours before check in time. Margot, the front desk assistant, told us no problem and got us checked into a wonderful roomy, and clean room (611). She was very helpful and just a wonderful person as all the other employees at this hotel.
The hotel is not new but it is very clean and just what we wanted for a short stay. Our room was large and very quiet. Used the workout room the next morning. It was acceptable but to warm. Needed more air circulation.
The van driver drove us over to Bennigan's for lunch. It was only 2 minutes away. Actually you can just walk there. Just be careful crossing some of the roads.
We hung out at the pool for a little while that day. Weather was overcast and slightly cool so we did not stay long. Pool was not bad.
We chose to eat at the hotel restaurant that night and it was a great decision. Food was mostly Cuban/American Cuisine. It was absolutely wonderful. It is on the ninth floor and overlooks the distant city of Miami. Nice little lounge is right next door and great for a night cap.
We set a time for the hotel van to bring us to the Port of Miami at 12pm. Cost - $1/person. Can't beat that. A taxi will cost you $25 + tip. I know because I took the taxi back to the hotel from the Port after our cruise. Hotel does not offer shuttle service from the Port to the hotel.
As I said we stayed at the hotel again after our cruise. We arrived this time at 10am. Way before check-in time. Margot was there again and had housekeeping clean our room and we were in at 11am. We again ate at the hotel restaurant and again had a wonderful dinner.
All I can say is Great hotel and great service with a smile.
Hidden charm.

Room Tip: Room 610 and 611 very good. 610 has a bad view however. The side of a building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    86
    115
    115
    56
    47
See reviews for
116
113
37
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

we stayed here on 3/2/2012 prior to embarking on a cruise as it was near the airport. The room was clean and spacious with 2 queen size comfortable beds.
The staff at reception were welcoming and friendly.
The transfer to the airport is regular and prompt.
Unfortunately the breakfast let the place down as there was little choice and the pancakes had little flavour. We also had to wait for seats as the room is quite small for the size of hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helena, mt
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

The shuttle picked us up promptly at the airport and runs every 30 min to the airport 24/7. It's very close to the airport. The hotel has a nice restaurant and lounge on the top floor with a great view of the airport area. Food was ok, service was very slow, especially considering there were only 6 or 8 tables when we were there. The room was clean, but the hotel itself is older with obvious wear and tear. I'm a gold PriorityClub member so check in was quick and efficient. I had requested a room with 2 queen beds as those rooms are usually larger. They "upgraded" me to a king room which was ok with me and got all the usual upgraded amenities, water, snacks, etc. I was surprised to look out the window at a big blank wall. Maybe it kept the airport noise down and I didn't stay there to look at the view anyway. The lamp and alarm clock were both unplugged and I didn't want to fool around with resetting the alarm clock, so just used my phone. I would stay here again just to overnight from the airport, but as a destination or extended stay hotel I would find another place.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterton Indiana
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

we stayed here because of the transportation from the Airport to the hotel and then the transportation from the hotel to the cruise port the next morning. They were so very organized with the transportation to the cruise port, that next time we go out of Miami, we'll probably book this hotel again. This was probably the most organized hotel we have stayed at. We weren't fighting for the shuttle, we were all scheduled, and he called by room number to board the shuttle. Very very organized. Much better than some other places we have stayed at prior to cruising.

Hotel was very clean, and we were also given to coupons for breakfast in the morning from the restaurant in the sky. The breakfast buffet was ok. Nothing to write home about. Didn't make or break the stay. The room was oddly shaped and felt cramped, but the beds were comfortable. It looked like it had recently gone through a renovation? Not really sure, the bathroom was a bit iffy.

Otherwise overall, we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

It is always nice to be treatet with a very nice hospitality especially after a long overseas flight.
Also the amenities like toothbrush, water, some chips etc. were very much appreciated.
Especially as a Platinum member you feel very much treated as a guest?

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

Stayed here to be close to airport for early flight. This is a very old hotel. Check in staff was friendly. Rooms were "ok" and look like they may have been updated in past 2 years. Bar on top floor..... take a pass. Very dark, limited drink choices (only 1 tap beer) and not very friendly. The food up there is not very good either. The view from the rooms - while might be nice is clouded by the filthy windows. This particular area around the airport appears to offer very little. Traffic is horrendous and there isn't anything you would want to walk too. If I ever go to Miami again I'll do my homework first. Stay somewhere else...

PS, the AC unit in the room is "over the top" loud.

Room Tip: ask for a higher floor with the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington DC
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

that rating should be 3.5/5, as in above average but not quite very good...this airport hotel is basically adequate and i have no complaints...i walked around the area, but nothing special to do...the airport shuttle was all right...what WAS special was the reception and the sky bar at the top!!...our checkin lady was friendly and charming in both english and spanish, so we had a warm welcome...we had a saturday night surprise at the sky bar on the roof level, which hosts a latin dance party, attended by festively dressed locals having a good time!...it actually gave me a real taste of miami, totally unexpected from a major chain hotel, so check it out if there on a saturday!...the third charm was the sunday shuttle bus to the cruise port, which is why i chose this hotel, and it delivered perfectly, right on time and a great bargain at $1 plus tip!...so, expecting adequacy, we actually got a few charming surprises, not bad!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Miami International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Miami International Airport

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Miami International Airport Hotel
Holiday Inn Miami International Airport Hotel Miami Springs
Miami Springs Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Miami Springs
Address: 1111 South Royal Poinciana Boulevard, Miami Springs, FL 33166
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 hotels in Miami Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Miami International Airport 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The signs of change are everywhere at the Holiday Inn Miami International Airport hotel. From our iconic signs to our genuine service, from our lobbies to our linens, you'll see the difference the moment you arrive. We invite you to come see for your self, the newly re-launched Holiday Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Miami International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Miami International Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.