We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleazy with bugs” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Alladin Hotel Miami

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Alladin Hotel Miami to your Saves list
Alladin Hotel Miami
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   901 S. Royal Poinciana Blvd., Miami Springs, FL 33166 (Formerly Royal Poinciana Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Miami Springs
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sleazy with bugs”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

Initial room ok until about an hour on when we noticed bugs climbing out of the sink and into our bag.also noticed them over our bed. Asked to be moved rooms which we did with no hassle.arrived at new room very creepy have to walk through dark garage with no light. Got in and a mirror on the ceiling (really should have read reviews) glass shower no privacy a laughable experience a story to tell but will not be returning close to airport definitely don't stay if you have kids. Did I mention there was two different types of bugs!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    21
    20
    17
    25
See reviews for
6
57
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MAYFIELD HEIGHTS
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This was a wierd experience, both good and bad...

First, the girl behind the desk asks me for my passport. I'm now guessing they don't have many Americans staying at this hotel. Then she won't check me in because their internal reservation number didn't match the reservation number from the web portal I used. I had to wait for 20 minutes for a manager to come and tell her it was OK.

So I get my room assignment and am told to park in that room's garage. Yes, each room on the ground floor (actually 2nd floor) has its own garage with its own electric garage door. You enter the room via a RF ID card from the garage.

So I open the door and it is completely dark. I see a glowing light on the wall and try pressing it. Nothing. I finally put the RF id card to it and all the lights come on. So I proceed up the stairs to the room (there is nothing downstairs except the garage door entrance). About halfway up, the lights go out. Complete darkness (the room has no exterior windows ecxept for a frosted mini window in the bathroom). I fumble up the steps with my luggage and am lucky I didn't kill myself.

Anyway, I used a flashlight I carry to go back downstairs and reactivate the lights. Again they go out almost immediately. It took me a while to figure out you had to keep the RF id room key in the slot behind the light switch reader. IT WOULD HAVE BEEN NICE IF THEY HAD TOLD ME THAT FIRST!

The room is beautiful. Artwork, sculptures, furnishings, color, etc... The toilet is behind a swinging glass door as is the shower (huge walk in shower with the spout directly overhead, not on the wall). No privacy there. Anyone in the room can see into the toilet and shower. Looks great and if that isn't an issue, fine.

Then I notice some odd things...
-No hand towels or wash rags. Only two shower towels.
-No blanket/comforter on the bed, just a fitted sheet and bottom sheet.
-No closet or ANY PLACE to hang clothes.
-No place to set luggage except on the floor.
-No soap dish in the shower, IE no place to put the soap except on the lip just above the ground.
-The TV is a 23" computer monitor with a tuner. There is a Bose sound system, but the TV sound wouldn't come out of it, so I could never hear the TV.

While I was waiting at check-in, three others had inquired about no blanket and small towels. She told them they were out, so I didn't bother even asking for them.

Lastly, at checkout, they told me I would have to wait 5 - 10 minutes while they checked the room to ensure I had not used the mini-bar. That was very aggravating. Having not used anything, I just walked out despite their protest.

Overall a negative experience with a few nice amenities but missing some key basics.

Room Tip: Get a room with a garage. Check the room immediately for all the necessities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony Point, New York, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I booked a few nights at this place because it was close to the airport. After seeing a few bad reviews, I was trying to keep an open mind.

Big mistake. It sucks. Your room key is 'reset' and doesn't work about 10 minutes after you leave. So every time we went out and came back, we had to go to the front desk and have the thing re-activated. So inconvenient since our room was around the other side of the building.

You also have to buzz out in order to get your vehicle in or out. So if you're in a rush to leave or return, you have to sit there in your car waiting for the barricade to open!

And the power goes off unless your room key is in. So the fridge doesnt work unless youre in the room hahaha.

The chick at front desk was not the most pleasant, I think mentally a little... slow.

The room was fancy looking (glass showers, mirrored ceiling), but lacks basic amenities: no closet, no hair dryer... Clearly this is meant for people who need an hour or two to do naughty things.

DO NOT RECOMMEND.

Room Tip: Don't book ANY room. Leave!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I had booked my wife and friend a room via Priceline for this hotel, which was rated as a 3star the the Priceline site. What I didn't know was that it really was more of a "couples" playground. When my wife and friend hesitantly went in, they asked if they could see a room (it was afternoon) and their room was not ready. When telling the clerk that they were uncomfortable with the surroundings and would like to cancel their reservation, they were denied a refund. I contacted Priceline, which tried to help on our behalf (as I felt the hotel was misrepresented on their site), but again was denied by the Alladin management. Very disappointing.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

It is completely false on Expedia.com, is a motel, not hotel, the neighborhood is horrible and frightening, attention is terrible, only one person spoke English, I asked three times, SOAP and towels and never came. The sheets are old and dirty. the price-value relationship is totally disproportionate. never in my life I will return this dirty and scary MOTEL

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Maybe the intermittently flashing neon "open" sign and the confusing difficulty of locating the front door should have been the first tip off to our stay at Hotel Aladdin which has quickly become one of those laughable "can-you-believe-that-actually-happened-never-again!!" kind of memories. New husband and I booked a simple boutique room for one night because it was close to the airport and we literally had only about 8 hours til our next flight. We thought, "wow, way cheaper than the rest of the hotels around, great!" Not so great. Initial impressions walking into the "lobby" (think cheap roadside motel front desk reception) included a weird scent (that went on to permeate all the rooms, it turns out) and the sight of a chintzy fake gold Christmas tree in the corner (still hadn't gotten around to taking that down mid-January?). Girl at the desk was rather emotionless and seemed to have a hard time finding our online reservation as she shuffled through a stack of papers. No high-tech operations here. As we go to our room, we find out we "conveniently" have a GARAGE under our room...yep...that's a first for a hotel stay. We spent about 10 minutes in said garage trying to get our room key to work to no avail. Went back to desk and girl switched it out for a new key. More multiple tries, no luck. Instead of offering assistance the girl switches our room and gives us another key. At least this one works.

Initial impressions of the room was the very strong perfume smell (again) and a stained and spotted carpet that leads you upstairs. You hope it gets better as you climb the stairs...could be cool, right, like a studio apartment style? Or not. In its favor, Hotel Aladdin must have spent the most money hiring a web designer to put together a very nice looking virtual hotel; sadly, the room itself is a far cry from the sultry professional photographs online that lure in their guests. The bed appears nice and relatively clean, and a glass-walled shower could be construed as romantic, but the weirdness continues: mirrors over the bed ("Honey, I don't know if I can sleep like this") and a glass enclosed toilet ("what the...."), a couple teeny tiny toiletries on the counter ("good thing we have our own"), and a door with a sign reading "Do not open only fire escape door" ("Which door? Is that even English?")

But let's get down to the real cons...

-No real restaurant options close for those without vehicle access. We walked about 1.5 miles to a hole-in-the-wall place through a sketchy neighborhood and had about 5 cop cars fly by us lights and sirens and all. Would not have ventured out by myself if I was a single lady.
-We only had 2 small towels in the room. We asked the front desk for more and waited...nothing. Called about them again and waited...an hour or more later after we were in bed someone knocked but left without leaving towels before we got to the door. Seriously??
-The sink had major issues and stayed clogged halfway full the whole time.
- No airport shuttle service or even numbers for taxis or restaurants in the room.

In an attempt to be fair, the shower was kind of fun, almost like standing under a warm rainstorm, and the bed was decently comfortable.Free breakfast offered very basic decent options (no frills here - toast, bananas, cereal, coffee with powdered coffee creamer), but was served in a very small room making it awkward to eat and maneuver around other guests you don't really want to chat with early in the morning. Enough good to make up for all the rest? I think not. At least we'll have a funny story to tell about the seediest hotel we've ever stayed in.

Room Tip: Any room at the Holiday Inn across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucuresti
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

As soon as we arrived at Aladdin the problems started, the clerk put us in a different room than the one that we booked. After telling her the situation she rudely gave us the key to our room. Seeing that the previous room was extremely dirty, we decided to check this one out before getting settled in. When we entered the room we encountered a dreadful smell; the sheets looked like somebody just got of them, there were no blankets, no towels, the toilet was broken, the tub was dirty and the walls next to it were covered in markings from previous wall hangings. We were supposed to stay for New Years and we decided that is not the place we want to spend the Holidays so we went back to the clerk for a refund. I offered to pay for one night and "check out early", but she was rude and said there are no refunds. After having a conversation with her boss on the phone entirely in Spanish (I don't speak Spanish), she informed me that I can get my money back for the 3 nights that I booked but they will keep the deposit (around $100). We were just happy that we could get out of there and find a decent hotel. Seriously avoid this place at all costs. There are some very nice empty parking lots nearby where you can sleep in your car; a better plan.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alladin Hotel Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alladin Hotel Miami

Address: 901 S. Royal Poinciana Blvd., Miami Springs, FL 33166 (Formerly Royal Poinciana Inn)
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Miami Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alladin Hotel Miami 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Regatta Hotels, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Alladin Hotel Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alladin Hotel Miami Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alladin Hotel Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.