We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serves Its Purpose” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Runway Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Runway Inn to your Saves list
Runway Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   656 East Drive, Miami Springs, FL 33166   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Miami Springs
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Serves Its Purpose”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I'm a budget traveler. I needed a place to crash after a Friday night flight, before my Saturday cruise departure. So I booked Runway Inn for a price that seemed like a steal. The reviews worried me, so I went in with low expectations.
We called to confirm our reservation the morning of, especially since we had a late flight coming in. After arriving at the airport, we called for the free shuttle service. This was probably the worst part of the experience, and in the future I would consider paying for a cab to avoid it. The shuttle was a small van that seated about 8 people and was shared with another hotel. The main problem was when 30+ people were calling for the shuttle service simultaneously. Cue battle music as we all fought to get a seat on the shuttle each time it drove past the airport. People at the far end of the airport were passed over and over again. The shuttle driver was understandably stressed out and drove like a mad man (he literally almost hit a pedestrian). Chaos.
Arriving at the Runway late in the evening, there was only one person working the front desk. So we waited a bit, but not an unreasonable length of time considering. The worker was courteous and efficient, though not overly friendly. We were fortunate enough to get a room on the first floor, so we didn't need to contend with the stairs and our luggage.
The room is pretty bare-bones and has some minor maintenance issues (holes where electrical covers have been replaced, rust on bathroom pipes). Unlike other reviewers though, we found our room to be clean and the bed was comfortable enough. However, due to the paper-thin walls, we did not sleep well.
The free Wi-fi was a plus, and the continental breakfast was adequate. The free shuttle to the Port of Miami was wonderful--a completely different experience than the airport shuttle. Considering the cost of a taxi or the price the cruise line would've charged us to get down there, this was a huge perk.
So, if you're looking to save money and can handle some unpleasantness, by all means book a room. Please understand that if you book a hotel, any hotel, at this price point, you will be making some sacrifices. If you have doubts, spend some more money and book elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    70
    141
    82
    129
See reviews for
65
168
96
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chelsea, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

i made a reservation months in advance for this hotel. I received confirmation and again a few days before our stay got another email. When we arrived at the hotel around midnight they said they had sold our room to someone else because I wasn't there by 9pm. Nowhere on the site or email did it say i needed to tell them if I would be arriving after 9. So we were stuck without a room in Miami. Finally after an hour of calling around we found one room in a seedy hooker hotel. I have tried to contact management at Runway Inn but I have not received a single reply. We paid over $90 in taxi fees to get there too. Then today I got an email from this hotel asking me to rate them. They are awful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Southern Finland, Finland
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Runway Inn does the job as economical airport hotel does; compared to room rate everything worked fine, it's near the airport, shuttle works fine, rooms are ok, basic breakfast is served in tiny room from paper cups and plates. Miami Springs is light industrieal area where you won't find architectual wonders to sightsee. Surely there are better hotels to stay but be ready to pick your pocket deeper.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Toilet flooded, shower flooded. Roach traps underneath the bed. TV did not work. Night attendant did not anwer our calls. Disconnected our phone. Ignored us when we when down to ask for assistance because he would not answer the phone. Attendant laughed when we said there was lots of water on the bathroom floor. He glared and stared and never asked how he could help us. He was very creepy. He made us feel uncomfortable. Very bad customer service. OH but there wasn't ANY!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Let me start with the good. The front desk staff were always pleasant. The cleaning ladies were very accommodating. Nothing against the people of the Inn. But...

There was a moldy smell in the hallways, only to be dominated once a day by the strong aroma of bleach. In the bathroom, the water pressure was so weak that the shower was a trickle and at one point, the sink spout only spouted air. We stayed on the second floor, and there were no elevators. When you have heavy luggage, staying at this Inn isn't worth throwing your back out.

I wouldn't even stay at this hotel again if it were free. Maybe if you paid me $100 a night to stay here... but that'd be a totally different scenario...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Yes, the neighborhood seems a little run-down, but at no time did I feel unsafe. The bathroom was small, and could use a renovation - but it was clean, with ample towels and toiletries. There was free parking, altho it was a little tight. The room was clean and comfortable and nicely decorated, with a big television and free wi-fi. The front desk staff were friendly and polite. And most of all, the price was right.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

The staff are helpful, the room is comfortable, the price is affordable, shuttle service to / from the airport is efficient, the breakfast is varied.
It is exactly like in the pictures of the website.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Runway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Runway Inn

Address: 656 East Drive, Miami Springs, FL 33166
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Miami Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Runway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Runway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Runway Hotel Miami Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Runway Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.