We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run to this hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Runway Inn

Save Saved
You added Runway Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Runway Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   656 East Drive, Miami Springs, FL 33166   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 12 hotels in Miami Springs
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Run to this hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012 via mobile

I was watching my budget and this hotel was a perfect choice. Clean room and staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Guest Relations Manager at Runway Inn, responded to this review, April 7, 2012
Dear Singinthesun,

The Staff and I at Runway Inn would like to convey our thanks for such a wonderful review. Hearing such kind praise is what makes this job so special. Every day we strive to make all guests feel like family. We pride ourselves in taking that extra time to get to know them. The stories of adventures and travels always bring smiles to our faces. Thank you again for choosing our hotel and we will see you the next time you travel to Miami Springs, Florida.

Best,
David Preston
Director of Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    92
    182
    106
    140
See reviews for
61
163
91
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Markham, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

Decent, close to the airport, clean hotel with a free shuttle from the airport and to the Port of Miami. There is a free continental breakfast. We stayed for one night in March 2012 before board the ship. Friendly staff.

Room Tip: If not sure ask the person on the reception for advice, We booked through Priceline, but the recepti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Guest Relations Manager at Runway Inn, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
Dear Silviya N,

The management and staff at Runway Inn would like to convey our thanks and appreciation for writing such a glowing review. I am equally glad we were able to save you money. Here at Runway Inn we love saving our guests money while bestowing great accommodations. We look forward to providing you lodging the next time you travel to Miami Springs, Florida.


Warmest Regards,
David Preston
Director of Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinross, Mi
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Reading the prior reviews of this place, I did have my doubts, but upon entering the room I was pleased. I've stayed in name-brand chains that weren't as clean! I'd stay here again, defiinitely.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Guest Relations Manager at Runway Inn, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Dear YooperBart,
Thank you for taking the time and writing a review. I am glad you found our hotel so accommodating and clean. We here at Runway Inn love seeing reviews that write about how clean our rooms are. We have an excellent housekeeping staff that really works hard ensuring all guest feel the way you did. Thank you again and we will see you the next time you come to Miami, Florida.
Warmest Regards,
David Preston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

Hotel possibly built in the 50's-60's, but tastefully updated. Room was cozy, bed comfortable. Airport shuttle provided. Staff pleasant. Great coffee and continental breakfast. Stayed one night as a stop on a budget-minded trip, would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Guest Relations Manager at Runway Inn, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Dear junglesoul,

The staff and management would like to take the time and thank you for writing a review. I am very glad that you found your room cozy and comfortable. I am equally happy you found the price affordable. These days it is hard to find a clean hotel room in Miami for a fair price. Thank you again and we will see you the next time you visit Miami Springs, Florida.
Warmest Regards,
David Preston
Director of Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

Very comfortable bed, clean room and bathroom, plenty of hot water. The shuttle was good too.

Room Tip: Asked for quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Guest Relations Manager at Runway Inn, responded to this review, March 9, 2012
Dear Joann B,

Thank you for taking the time and writing a review for others to see. Here at the Runway Inn we hold ourselves to high standards. We love hearing that a guest found our Inn comfortable and clean. The next time you find yourself in Miami please give us a call.

Best,
David Preston
Director of Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, B.C.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
201 helpful votes 201 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

The Runway Inn has all of the attributes of a good airport hotel: it’s relatively cheap at $70/night, only 10 minutes from the airport by shuttle (hourly beginning at 5:30 am), has comfortable beds and a reasonable shower and is located in a relatively quite area.

Unfortunately, there are a number of negatives that outweigh the positives: there is no elevator, or anyone to help you to carry your bags to the second floor where all of the rooms are located; the rooms are small, cramped, tired and run down (dirty doors, scuffed and chipped walls, worn baseboards and door trim, a noisy air conditioner and ancient windows); and there is a mandatory $2 charge for a room “safe” that sits completely unattached on the closet floor. When we arrived, the floors seemed wet – we thought that they had just been washed – but they were the same in the morning (yuck).

While the Runway is better than sleeping on a bench at the airport, an extra $20 will buy you a night at one of the many better hotels in the area. We won’t be coming back and we don’t recommend it to anyone else.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Guest Relations Manager at Runway Inn, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Dear ndser,
I am sorry you had a bad experience at Runway Inn. We appreciate when guests take the time to critique the Inn; it helps us improve as a hotel. Were any of your concerns brought to the attention of the staff? We would have moved you to a room that was more to your liking. If you would like to discuss this in more detail, please email me at director.customerservices@gmail.com.
Warmest Regards,
David Preston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winslow, Maine, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

we stayed for 1 night after getting back from the Dominican. The Phrase, " Never judge a book by its cover" comes to mind. Outside it doesn't look like much and its in a heavy traffic area of Miami. However it was so beautiful inside and in the rooms, the room was actually much nicer than the big brand name hotel we stayed at in the Dominican. The only downside was the lack of sound dampening. We could hear some hallway noise due to the tile floors, the doors on the room also let in alot of light from the hallway and we had to place items in front of the door to make the room dark. However all this being said, with only 1 night stay it was great! The only other possible further stay issue was that the hotel front desk staff didn't have any customer service skills, he was all matter of fact, and somewhat cold, almost what you would expect from a hotel that caters to a short-term, discreet client-tell and seeing as its an airport hotel that's fine. The whole process was seamless including their shuttle, the only issue with the shuttle being first come first serve, and they serve 2 hotels, so if you cant get a seat then you have to wait 30 min to an hour for the next shuttle. But we had a good experience.

Room Tip: We had a great room, I bet all are like the one we stayed in room style is great, one word of advice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Runway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Runway Inn

Address: 656 East Drive, Miami Springs, FL 33166
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 hotels in Miami Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Runway Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Runway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Runway Hotel Miami Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Runway Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.