We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sad how far this place has fallen in a short time.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Italy Today

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Italy Today
6743 Main Street, Miami Lakes, FL 33014-2071
(305) 817-3122
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 41 Restaurants in Miami Lakes
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
McDonough, Georgia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Sad how far this place has fallen in a short time.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I ate here a lot the last time I was in Opa Locka and was anticipating eating here again when I came back. Unfortunately it is not what I remember. They changed their menus, removed a lot of their lunch options and replaced them with more expensive options. I ordered the chicken piccata and found it unappetizing. Don't know how you screw this dish up so badly when it used to be a favorite. Service was slow and rude also. Don't get there right when they open as you will not be helped until they are ready to serve you.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    14
    7
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Under Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I went here about a year ago for an early dinner. I had ordered lasagna. The actual pasta layers felt a little undercooked & the sauce was a little too greasy. It seemed as if it was microwaved. The flavor was pretty bland & the preparation was less than average. Now keep in mind that this was a year ago but from what I'm reading below I can see that this is a common practice at this restaurant. If I do go hear again it will definitely be on a weekend. Their pricing isn't very competitive with the rest of the corporate chain italian restaurants.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Very good restaurant with good food selection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

I only ate here once so far, but I was mostly impressed with the selection of food offered, and the quality of the food.
The service was average, not being offered more bread, and needing to ask that toilet paper be re-supplied to the restroom.
But it is the food that will have me coming back.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“EH!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Nothing special, and sometimes tasteless. Located near the movies or it wouldn't be alive today. Service sucks.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“We enjoy it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012 via mobile

This is an excellent Italian restaurant, very well located at Main Street, you can walk after eating and a very nice place. You can ask for the Capresa Salad even if is not in the menu. Good wine and very good pasta! Try something with shrimps!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Italy Today also viewed

 

Been to Italy Today? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Italy Today, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.