We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sad how far this place has fallen in a short time.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Italy Today

Italy Today
6743 Main Street, Miami Lakes, FL 33014-2071
(305) 817-3122
Update restaurant details
Ranked #10 of 42 restaurants in Miami Lakes
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
McDonough, Georgia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Sad how far this place has fallen in a short time.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I ate here a lot the last time I was in Opa Locka and was anticipating eating here again when I came back. Unfortunately it is not what I remember. They changed their menus, removed a lot of their lunch options and replaced them with more expensive options. I ordered the chicken piccata and found it unappetizing. Don't know how you screw this dish up so badly when it used to be a favorite. Service was slow and rude also. Don't get there right when they open as you will not be helped until they are ready to serve you.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

67% Recommend
    8
    11
    5
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Under Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I went here about a year ago for an early dinner. I had ordered lasagna. The actual pasta layers felt a little undercooked & the sauce was a little too greasy. It seemed as if it was microwaved. The flavor was pretty bland & the preparation was less than average. Now keep in mind that this was a year ago but from what I'm reading below I can see that this is a common practice at this restaurant. If I do go hear again it will definitely be on a weekend. Their pricing isn't very competitive with the rest of the corporate chain italian restaurants.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Very good restaurant with good food selection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

I only ate here once so far, but I was mostly impressed with the selection of food offered, and the quality of the food.
The service was average, not being offered more bread, and needing to ask that toilet paper be re-supplied to the restroom.
But it is the food that will have me coming back.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“EH!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Nothing special, and sometimes tasteless. Located near the movies or it wouldn't be alive today. Service sucks.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“We enjoy it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012 via mobile

This is an excellent Italian restaurant, very well located at Main Street, you can walk after eating and a very nice place. You can ask for the Capresa Salad even if is not in the menu. Good wine and very good pasta! Try something with shrimps!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Italy Today also viewed

 

Been to Italy Today? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Italy Today, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.