We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Miami Lakes

Save Saved
You added Courtyard Miami Lakes to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courtyard Miami Lakes
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15700 NW 77th Court, Miami Lakes, FL 33016   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Great Florida Savings!
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Miami Lakes
Reading, England
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Could be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This is an older hotel and looks a little tired in places, but the staff are friendly and helpful. There is a small shopping plaza a few minutes' walk away with four or five places to eat including an Outback Steakhouse. Someone else mentioned the strange smell in the room on arrival - mine was the same. The air con is noisy and so is the refrigerator, and there's a major highway close by. The so called bistro is what really lets this hotel down. In the evenings they do very basic food - not much more than snacks, sandiwches and salads - and it's served on plastic plates. There's a menu on a board above the bar, which gives the impression of being in McDonalds. If you want a drink in the hotel, again it's there, but very basic, although they do have a small cocktail menu. Breakfast is not great - very limited choice, nothing hot except coffee, cereal in those tubs with peel back lids, served on a tray, orange juice in bottles, coffee in paper cups - the whole thing just doesn't sit well in the Marriott range and I doubt very much I'll ever come back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardMgmtML, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Lakes, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback about our property. We are glad our staff was helpful and friendly, showing the Marriott customer service standard for which we are known for.

While our hotel is an older building, it was fully renovated at the end of 2011 to positive responses from our guests. With this renovation came The Bistro and since it opened, we have received an overwhelmingly positive response to our new restaurant concept. The Bistro was created to provide a variety of dining options for our guests. During our breakfast service, we offer everything from fresh, cooked to order entrees, to ready to go items for our guests on the run. Our business travelers have really enjoyed the ease of getting a quality cooked meal in just minutes to suit their schedule, and our guests on vacation have enjoyed relaxing over breakfast with full entrees such as our Texas French toast and Daybreak Fried Eggs. We also have a Starbucks outlet in our Bistro to provide our guests with high quality coffee service. During the evening hours, our guests can join us for happy hour and enjoy a light bite and cocktail with friends in our social gatherings spaces, or they can choose to dine in and enjoy meals such as BBQ style ribs, artisan style flatbread pizzas, as well as healthy salad options. For guests who prefer their privacy, we provide room service delivery. We offer our guests the flexibility to dine however they wish and we have provided an option to serve them. You will never find disposable plates in our restaurant, and yes, you will find menu boards, which include the nutritional content of all our menu items, which our guests really enjoy.

We do hope that if you are in the Miami Lakes area we have the opportunity to be your host once more so we can make your stay a memorable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    31
    19
    7
    6
See reviews for
15
14
6
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

The deodorizer smell is overwhelming. Even with the window open it is still so strong that it makes my eyes water. This is such a big issue that it is hard to care about anything else. The hotel seems pretty clean though it is clearly an older property that has not been redone in a while.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardMgmtML, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Lakes, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for sharing with us your experience during your stay at the Courtyard by Marriott in Miami Lakes. It’s unfortunate that it was not to your enjoyment. We do treat our rooms to a small amount of scented air freshener so that it’s pleasant to our guests when they check in. Unfortunately it seems your room may have been overly treated. We are sorry this was an inconvenience to you.

Our hotel is an older building, but it was fully renovated at the end of 2011. Our guests, both regular and new, have enjoyed this change and have let us know. If in the future your travel plans bring you to the Miami Lakes area, we hope we’re able to provide you with our exceptional service and another opportunity at a pleasant stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Very good instalations. Far from South Miami Beach (20 min), but better prices than over there. We stayed in 5 people very confortable, bathroom could be a little bigger. The Suite Rooms are big and confortable. To eat at night you have some facilities around (Outback, etc), or 10 min from there. Friendly staff.

Room Tip: in front of the hotel you have a highway, so prefer the rooms that have the pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I m normally very lucky to stay in very nice expensive hotels but this time i have to pay for my room and it was to use it only to "spend the night" so i looked for an easy nice, clean place . We arrived late and left early the next morning. We were visiting The International Miami Boat Show and after a full day of walking we want to arrive to rest and eat but getting there was a little difficult. Some atractive restaurants were next this Hotel; only about two minutes around the corner, that was good.. The decorations are fresh and nice. They have a Coffee shop at the lobby but as usual; expensive !! I will get back if i have to be in the area, i will say is not bad for the rate.

Room Tip: Ask if there is a termostat in the AC/Heat unit in the room you re staying ...Funny but real...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardMgmtML, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Lakes, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank for your taking the time to post your review about our property. We greatly appreciate it. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay with us; we always strive to give our guests the best experience possible. We very close by to many restaurants with a great variety in menus to choose from. As you mention some are even a few steps away. Our Bistro, which came with our renovation, also has many alternatives for both breakfast and dinner. Or you may choose from a variety of snacks and quick meals The Market has to offer 24 hours a day. Again, thank your for your response and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Why would you stay here when you can get free full breakfast, free wifi, frig, microwave, clean room down the street? Great location close to highway and lots of eateries, IF YOU COULD FIND IT. Your GPS may give you the run around. it is off the main street, the road curves around a Mexican restaurant then, like a frontage road, runs parallel to the highway.

Hope you have a good Chiropractor. All the rooms, but handicapped, have TVs that sit side ways, so you get that stiff neck trying to watch from your bed. The room was small, no microwave or frig, BRING A NIGHT LIGHT for the bathroom, pitch black at night. You can purchase food and drinks downstairs at certain hours.

Only coffee and Wifi is free. Lobby is nice, modern. Still not worth another trip back.
Love Marriott but do not understand why people would stay at ANY Courtyard versus Residence Inn or Fairfield Inn.
Edit Remove

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardMgmtML, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Lakes, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for your feedback about your stay with us. Our hotel is conveniently located off a major highway, with our Courtyard signage visible from it. We are close by to restaurants, shopping centers and restaurants, and just a couple of minutes away from I-75. This is one of the reasons our guests enjoy staying with us. The positioning of our televisions is on top of the dresser with a swivel base, so you can watch it from either the comfort of your bed or the sofa.
You did stay in one of our standard rooms, but have other options like our Executive Kings and Suites which offer refrigerators, microwaves and balconies. Average size if our rooms are about 300 square feet, which is average based on industry standards and surrounding properties.
We do pride our selves in the Marriott standard of customer service and offering a great value to our guests. We hope you do give us another opportunity to showcase this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

This may sound petty but today was my last stay at the Courtyard Miami Lakes. I found out this morning that this hotel no longer provides complementary coffee to its guest in the morning. They did however offer this service for the last four mornings this week. I was offered the option of making my own coffee in the disgusting little one cup coffee maker in my room or paying a premium for the Starbucks coffee at the bistro. Petty? Well yes, maybe, but I payed over $900 for my 4 night visit this week and bought water at $2 a bottle because I arrived late when I checked in. The wonderful lady at the front desk was quite embarrassed when she explained the new "corporate" policy to me and I made sure she knew my displeasure was not directed toward her. She suggested I write the corporate office but what do the care. It was their policy to squeeze a few more dollars out of me, surely they can't be wrong!

Hello Mr Hilton my name is David and I'm happy to give you my 90 plus nights that J. W. got last year! Oh, and thanks for the cup of coffee.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

I travel to Miami Lakes for business and thus is my preferred hotel in Miami Lakes. There is a wonderful bistro andcwine service as well as outdoor space. Super friendly staff and clean accomodations will keep me coming back!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard Miami Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Miami Lakes

Address: 15700 NW 77th Court, Miami Lakes, FL 33016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Lakes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Miami Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Miami Lakes 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Marriott, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Courtyard Miami Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Miami Lakes Hotel Miami Lakes
Miami Lakes Marriott
Miami Lakes Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Miami Lakes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.