We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good thai food.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The KIng and I Thai Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The KIng and I Thai Restaurant
15508 NW 77th Ct, Miami Lakes, FL 33016
305-823-1095
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 41 Restaurants in Miami Lakes
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Japanese, Thai
Good for: Families with children
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Wichita, Kansas
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good thai food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

If you are hungry for thai food and find yourself in Miami Lakes, Fl. then look no further than King and I. First off, if you see the strip mall on one side of Miami Lakes drive and a big storage building on the other, go the side with the strip mall no matter what the GPS tells you to do. It is located in a strip mall, which does not affect the taste of the food or value. I had a vegtable curry with white rice and my wife had the vegtable sushi which was very good. The wait staff are from Thailand, and their dishes have heat values of 1,2,3 and Thai hot. The curry was very nice, but I wished the vegtables were cut in bigger pieces. You should give it a try and decide for yourself.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    9
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
baltimore, maryland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“So What, it's in a Strip Mall? Who Cares? Step Inside!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Yes, it's tucked away in a strip mall, near a Winn Dixie grocery store. Once inside, the atmosphere quickly takes you away from suburbia and transports you to a cozy, comfortable Asian oasis. The huge fishtank by the front door serves the set the boundary between the "outside world" and the King and I Thai Restaurant world.

My two adult children and I were there on a Friday night, and yes, it was busy. But if it wasn't busy on a Friday night, that would be a bad sign to begin with. So service was a little slow - but forgivable. Maybe management should add another waiter - or perhaps they had a no-show. Either way, the service was friendly, accomodating, and accurate.

The food was simply fantastic. The flavor and presentation were world class (I know that sounds funny, when referring to a suburban Thai restaurant in Miami Lakes, FL - but I have traveled the world, and the Thai food was as good as I've found anywhere).

This was the third time I've been to this restaurant, and if it's a place that I know I'll visit a couple of times, I like to wait to review after I've taken in the experience a time or two. This third visit was consistent with the previous two and I'm happy to officially (as if I'm some sort of professional restaurant critic!!) pronounce the King and I a destination of choice for Thai in the Miami area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good Pad Thai”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I came to this restaurant on a business trip with a colleague of mine. I love Thai food, and this was quite acceptable in quality, but not superb! However - that being said, the food was absolutely good enough, the service attentive, the prices were reasonable, and the atmosphere was fine. In. my opinion -- this is good value for the money

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good Sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

Sushi and service is good. It is somewhat expensive.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“The sushi is as fresh as the fish in the ginormous salt water fish tank!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

I've been eating at this restaurant for almost 15 years. The management has changed, but the food has remained very good. A recent visit reminded me of why I keep coming back. Delicious! This place is a great value!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The KIng and I Thai Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The KIng and I Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The KIng and I Thai Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.