We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for first timers, Excelent for Sushi Lovers.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Spoon

Silver Spoon
15352 NW 79th CT, Miami Lakes, FL
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 41 Restaurants in Miami Lakes
Cuisines: Japanese, Thai
Restaurant details
MIAMI
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great for first timers, Excelent for Sushi Lovers.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This place is a "Costco" for Sushi.. You get what you paid for...even though you go for Sushi, Once you go in and look at the menu, it could ezly change your mind for Fish (Volcano one Excellent), tempura, soup, and I could go on and on.. If you never eaten Sushi then this is definitely the place to start.. Whatever you order that may look disgusting to those who don't eat Sushi will be delicious anyway , so basically you can’t go wrong with anything you order.. BTW people there are Great.. Thanks for being near my house.
Gil

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    4
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Regina SK in Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“adequate”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

not great, but good enough.

I went to the silver spoon hoping to find something more than "just another asian restaurant".

didn't

everything was ok. I didn't have sushi, though, and it seems that they pride themselves on that.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Selections”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Had a wonderfull time attending lunch at Silver Spoon while visiting frinds in Miami Lakes. They have very quick service and an enormous amounts of both thai and sushi plates. Tried a combination of both and really enjoyed the meal. Recommended.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Lakes, Florida
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great sushi and service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

Pretty fast for the usual lunch crowds. Services local businesses and locals. Pretty good seating and great specials for lunch.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Lakes, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Subtle merge of Thai and Japanese cooking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Frankly, I did not know what to expect before I went to the restaurant. While I have tried sushi and sashimi in different restaurants I was not familiar with the Thai cuisine. I started by asking suggestions to Ham, the Thai waitresses who took our order. My only remark was to ensure that the dishes were not spicy. She was right on the money. Every dish she suggested and we tried was excellent: Silver Spoon Salad, Tuna Tataki, Chicken Lettuce Wraps and Shrimp Fried Rice. We shared all dishes and asked for two orders of the rice which was plenty for the four of us. Need to mention that that fried rice was the very best fried rice I have had in years; my companions agreed with me. Although I don’t care for beer very much, I would suggest trying the Chang beer from Thailand; I drank two bottles which is rare for me. For desert Ham graciously suggested a traditional Thai desert, simply called: Thai Donuts. Overall there is nice atmosphere with techno-style deco.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Silver Spoon also viewed

 

Been to Silver Spoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Spoon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.