We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not go here” 1 of 5 stars
Review of On the Border

On the Border
15301 NW 67th Ave, Miami Lakes, FL 33014-2105
305-364-1117
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #26 of 42 restaurants in Miami Lakes
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
OREGON
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Do not go here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Worst experience. Beware of friends of staff hanging around computer with iphone- potential credit card fraud. Cold food. No plates brought with sampler. For entertainment watch friends get loving with staff. Receipt on floor never picked up- lots of people passed by and never picked up. Lots of staff and moderate customers. As a road warrier, I eat out 8 meals a week so will definitely never grace the doors of any On the Border again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

61% Recommend
    3
    8
    1
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
“Horrible service. Even Mc Donald's has a better costumer service.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Walked in on a friday night with my bf for mexican delite. The hostess at the door wasn't exactly a meany but she wasn't welcoming at all. Told us to wait 25 mins and we did, while noticing that there were many tables clean and open. Finally they sat us down after 1/2 hr at a back table at the end of the restaurant where no server was ever seen for at least 15 min until 1 appeared asking if we had been serviced, She was kind enough to bring us chips and salsa and get our order for drinks, then disappeared. The water and drinks ordered never arrived, nor did the server after our order was taken. After other 15 min of waiting and almost dying of thirst with no drinks or service we walked out and complained to the hostess who didn't do anything, not even a facial expression was showed from her. No manager was even available to say I'm sorry! or to help us get served. No one ever was available to fix anything. I dont know about the food cause obviously we didnt get the chance to try it.. but service was the worst I ever had experienced. If you have a nice night planned with your significant other; please don't go there!!! It will get ruined!!! I do not recommend it!!!!
I ended up having dinner right next door at rubby tuesday with a much better service!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A great restaurant at a good price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The ambiance is great with Mexican pottery and designs on the walls.The service was quick and efficient and friendly.The food was plentiful and very good and the price is reasonable.The place is a little small and it can get overwhelmed with people fast ,but all things considered this is a great restaurant.Goo Mexican food at a fair price!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Terrible! Misrepresenting Tex Mex”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Stopped in for a late lunch, hoping for spicy Tex Mex. few people there on a Wednesday. Placed my order. Server sort of sheepishly said, we're out of chips today. WHAT? How could a Tex Mex restaurant be out of chips? There are only two of us waiters today. So, do you make them? Yes.

Waiting for my food to come... long waiting, especially without chips, i noticed at least 4 different servers... they nearly outnumbered the customers by this time in the afternoon... but no chips. In a Tex Mex restaurant.

Food finally came. barely luke warm, no spicy seasoning, no server to ask to bring hot sauce or anything.

I'll not return.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Lakes, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“I love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Great food, great music, great people, great service... It's a 5 star place I love to go there and have some drinks and enjoy the environed... A place to go with your couple, family, friends and everybody...

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed On the Border also viewed

 

Been to On the Border? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage On the Border, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.