We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible! Misrepresenting Tex Mex” 2 of 5 stars
Review of On the Border

On the Border
15301 NW 67th Ave, Miami Lakes, FL 33014-2105
305-364-1117
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 41 Restaurants in Miami Lakes
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Washington DC
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Terrible! Misrepresenting Tex Mex”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Stopped in for a late lunch, hoping for spicy Tex Mex. few people there on a Wednesday. Placed my order. Server sort of sheepishly said, we're out of chips today. WHAT? How could a Tex Mex restaurant be out of chips? There are only two of us waiters today. So, do you make them? Yes.

Waiting for my food to come... long waiting, especially without chips, i noticed at least 4 different servers... they nearly outnumbered the customers by this time in the afternoon... but no chips. In a Tex Mex restaurant.

Food finally came. barely luke warm, no spicy seasoning, no server to ask to bring hot sauce or anything.

I'll not return.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    11
    4
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Miami Lakes, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“I love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Great food, great music, great people, great service... It's a 5 star place I love to go there and have some drinks and enjoy the environed... A place to go with your couple, family, friends and everybody...

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Service, Great Food, Great Choice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

I have been there many times before and have always enjoyed it. This time around I noticed how attentive the staff was how great the service was as well as the food. I would recommend to anyone in the Miami Lakes area be it for before the movies or just for a quick dinner with friends or family

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good food but very slow service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

The food itself is very good but the restaurant was not very busy at all when we arrived and it took about 10 minutes for someone to come and seat us. Once we were seated, it took quite a while for the waitress to greet us but she was very friendly once she did. Our food came out at different times so my husband was half done with his meal once I was able to start mine. Would probably not go back. Had a great 2 for 1 happy hour!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

I enjoyed food and service. I will eat there again.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed On the Border also viewed

 

Been to On the Border? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage On the Border, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.