We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre Golf at a snail's pace” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Shula's Golf Club

Shula's Golf Club
7601 Miami Lakes Dr, Miami Lakes, FL 33014
305-820-8088
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Golf Courses
Attraction Details
BAY SHORE
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Mediocre Golf at a snail's pace”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

The pro shop & clubhouse are fine. The starter's staff is nice. But, groups are put out too closely, and no one bothers to move slow groups along. We quit because the back nine was taking 30 minutes a hole. The driving range is the most miserable range I have ever seen. The course would be ok if they made any effort to keep play moving, but they don't. For this reason, I would recommend against playing here. The area is also seedy.

Room Tip: I am reviewing the golf course; I did not stay at the hotel.
See more room tips
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenny F, Manager at Shula's Golf Club, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
WordlyTraveler44 - Thank you for your review of Shula's Golf Club. While pace of play is an ongoing challenge for many golf courses, especially on busy days, it is a key component to a guest's experience. I apologize if the pace was too slow for you and that a ranger did not speak to your group. I recognize that the back nine is harder than the front nine and can play slower at times. Our rangers have been trained to monitor pace of play and work on groups that appear to be out of position on the golf course. I am not sure if the back nine had cart restrictions on the day you played. I know that cart path only resrtictions will slow down pace of play. We schedule groups to go out at 7 and 8 minute intervals. We will continue to monitor pace of play, search for ways to improve pace on busier than normal days, and re-train staff on how to handle pace of play. Thanks again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    5
    5
    2
    2
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
BAY SHORE
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Worst Pace of Play in America”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

Shula's is a decent course with a back nine distinctly more challenging than the front nine. It also features the most ratty driving range in the US. As a twosome, we expected to wait, but still played the front nine in a respectable 2 hrs. & 5 min. Then we made the turn, and it was like a death march......30 minutes to play hole 10, 30 minutes to play 11, 30 minutes to play hole 12. Calls to the ranger could not speed slow groups up; they wanted their money's worth. Starter must send groups off the back & it ruins pace of play for everyone. We quit after 14 holes and will never play at Shula,s again. They make ZERO effort to keep groups moving; so, it just isn't any fun. Golf is a game; games are supposed to be fun.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Interesting and Enjoyable Layout, Tricky Water Hazards, Fairly Well Maintained”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

This course is interesting and enjoyable for the average golfer. It starts off fairly non-threatening, but the back nine is tricky with water hazards and some narrow fairways. Surroundings are scenic. It is not meticulously kept (some fairways and rough have rough patches, greens are mostly pretty good), but generally conditions are acceptable. Both the hotel and course are a bit time-worn; it could be a gem if maintenance and landscaping is lavished on it. We wanted a drink at the clubhouse but the bar/restaurant was closed, and we had to go to the hotel dining room instead. I would play it again.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
75 attraction reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Best Steak Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

This rates among the best steak houses that I have ever been to, and being a steak lover, I have been to plenty.
The service is wonderful and you have a great selection of steaks that are cooked to perfection.
Don't miss this steakhouse, it is first class

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice layout, not worth the retail greens fee, but deals can be had!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

The staff is very nice. Steve, the starter, is great! The course was in good shape, even though it had been quite wet lately. I played three times over a two week period. Greens were better than average for south Florida, putting at about 8-8.5. Fairways and course in better than average condition. Though the tee boxes were a little rough and not well cared for. They were not cut (any of the three rounds!!), had unfilled divots all over and just overall slightly neglected by maintenance.
The layout is challenging enough. Water on many holes, especially on the back nine, and it plays longer than the yardage because of the wind. At least it did when we were there.
Oh, and BTW, very expensive drinks, $9.50 for a well rum and coke!!!! especially for the tiny, dull, spartan bar at the clubhouse!!!

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shula's Golf Club also viewed

 

Been to Shula's Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shula's Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.