We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting and Enjoyable Layout, Tricky Water Hazards, Fairly Well Maintained” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shula's Golf Club

Shula's Golf Club
7601 Miami Lakes Dr, Miami Lakes, FL 33014
+1 305-820-8088
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Senator Course at Shula's Golf Club is a classic style course located in the serene town of Miami Lakes. Sprawling over 500 tree shaded acres, players of all skill levels will be challenged by 18 holes, Par 72 championship course. Known as one of Miami's best Championship Golf Courses, The Senator Course is unlike the typical hotel golf course. Originally designed of Bill Watts in 1962 and later updated in 1998 by nationally recognized Golf Course Architect Kipp Schulties, is the perfect destination for great golf.
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Interesting and Enjoyable Layout, Tricky Water Hazards, Fairly Well Maintained”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

This course is interesting and enjoyable for the average golfer. It starts off fairly non-threatening, but the back nine is tricky with water hazards and some narrow fairways. Surroundings are scenic. It is not meticulously kept (some fairways and rough have rough patches, greens are mostly pretty good), but generally conditions are acceptable. Both the hotel and course are a bit time-worn; it could be a gem if maintenance and landscaping is lavished on it. We wanted a drink at the clubhouse but the bar/restaurant was closed, and we had to go to the hotel dining room instead. I would play it again.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    11
    5
    2
    2
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
279 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Best Steak Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

This rates among the best steak houses that I have ever been to, and being a steak lover, I have been to plenty.
The service is wonderful and you have a great selection of steaks that are cooked to perfection.
Don't miss this steakhouse, it is first class

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
77 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice layout, not worth the retail greens fee, but deals can be had!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

The staff is very nice. Steve, the starter, is great! The course was in good shape, even though it had been quite wet lately. I played three times over a two week period. Greens were better than average for south Florida, putting at about 8-8.5. Fairways and course in better than average condition. Though the tee boxes were a little rough and not well cared for. They were not cut (any of the three rounds!!), had unfilled divots all over and just overall slightly neglected by maintenance.
The layout is challenging enough. Water on many holes, especially on the back nine, and it plays longer than the yardage because of the wind. At least it did when we were there.
Oh, and BTW, very expensive drinks, $9.50 for a well rum and coke!!!! especially for the tiny, dull, spartan bar at the clubhouse!!!

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Thumb's up on the front nine”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

The front nine of this gold course was really nice and a pleasure to play. The workers were all happy and had good attitudes. The back nine however, does not drain well. You might want to be aware of this should you go during the rainy season like we did. It might be better in a drier season.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Friendly layout”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

A small group of friends played Shula's golf course and found it an agreeable and fair test of golf for the average recreational golfer. The first hole is both magnificent to look at and quite simple to play; a real confidence-booster. This course is no pushover, however, and the back nine reserves some watery pain for anyone wayward off the tee. Moreover, the course was not crowded when we played which always makes for a more relaxing experience. We will certainly go back given the chance.

Visited October 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shula's Golf Club also viewed

 

Been to Shula's Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shula's Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.