We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes to your Saves list
Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7601 Miami Lakes Drive, Miami Lakes, FL 33014   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Miami Lakes
Tampa
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I recently stayed at the Hotel Indigo for the first time and I must it was a wonderful experience. When i arrived the front desk staff were excellent. They gladly changed my room from a queen double to a king suite (which was an upgrade). The staff dealing with breakfast were friendly and service was quick. I had one situation that I was not happy about, after being gone all day, when I returned my room had not been cleaned. When I contacted the front desk, they made sure someone came and took care of the situation right away. I can say from check in to check out I was pleased with my experience. I have an annual trip that I take to Miami and I've always stayed at the Don Shula, as I was leaving this year I told Chris, the manager, I've found my new vacation spot...Hotel Indigo.

Room Tip: Get a King Suite, you'll love it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
cacolemanjohnson - It is so wonderful to hear your comments and we appreciate you taking the time to share them with us. We look forward to being your new vacation destination and again appreciate your kind words.

Safe Travels

Jorge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    81
    31
    18
    8
See reviews for
51
56
19
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

As an employee of Hyatt, my expectations of hotel rooms, value and service is very high. I booked the room through hotwire.com; not even knowing what i was going to get. The young lady that assisted me at the front desk when i arrived was prompt, cheerful and very helpful, unfortunately her name escapes me. As a woman stay on her own at a hotel, security is very important. The area Hotel Indigo is located in is a decent area and each floor can only be accessed with a room key. The wallpaper in the hotel rooms and some of the decorations are somewhat outdated/cheesy but they add character and warmth to the atmosphere. I even enjoyed the small balcony over looking the tiki bar and pool area in the center of the premise. Its not a luxury hotel /resort by any means, but it served its purpose for being a clean, comfort, and convenient hotel experience for the few nights I was there.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
JaciH - Thank you for sharing your experience at Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes and value your time. We can appreciate your high expectations from being in the business and we were happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that your high expectations were met. We can also appreciate the concern for our female travelers and understand security to be a top priority. Thank you for sharing your insights on that aspect of our hotel. We hope to be of service to you again in the near future.

Safe Travels

Jorge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed on business Feb.14th.. The neighborhood was good no worries there, The staff was excellent. The hotel was a bit worn around the edges and the usual European minimalist chic decor.
The bathroom ceiling went to the next floor with all the plumbing exposed from the bathroom above, it was all painted nicely but why not put a dropped ceiling?
For the price I don't want feel like I'm in the boiler room of a ship. Not cool. I was fortunate the unit above was not occupied otherwise I would hear the shower & toilet.
Also of note IS PVC PIPE OK ON FIRE SPRINKLER SYSTEM? I CANNOT IMAGINE THIS IS TO FIRE CODE.
At 3:45 am I was awakened by loud banging of sounded like a laundry tub/cart trying to get through the doors at the end of the hall. This happened 2 or 3 time in a 5 minute span....I guess if that person had to be up they wanted everyone up....not cool
I have stayed a number of times at the Indigo downtown St Pete & loved it. The staff is great & the hotel is clean & well maintained. The staff at Miami Lakes were very courteous but this hotel needs help.
I hope the fire sprinklers are up to code, this issue makes me uncomfortable

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Tim D,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Our first impression was very good. Friendly, helpful front desk staff. Trendy decor that you expect at hotel indigo. I chose this hotel largely based on the beautiful landscaping and tiki hut by the pool. No sterile suburban concrete. Although it becomes obvious that this was a refurbished older hotel it's ok. The rooms are large and nice though a refridgerator would be good. Small restaurant in the hotel was not so good with microwaved breakfast entrees and lousy coffee. Otherwise ours was a very nice stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutz, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I usually stay at the companion hotel, Shula's Hotel. This was my first time at the Indigo, and I really liked it!! A very "Florida" style hotel -right next to the Shula's Golf Course. Beautiful rooms, very well appointed.
If you are travelling with a sports team to the Miami are, I highly recommend this hotel. It has plenty of extras and is a very relaxing place for teams to stay and get ready for their contests.
All in all, this is one of my favorite hotels anywhere....

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the golf course are really neat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

The staff are what makes this hotel so brilliant! - I hope I can remember all their names: Jovan, Natalie, David, Gio, Yohanus (sorry I spelt it wrong!)
These guys made us feel so welcome and were really helpful and fun!
The pool is lovely (if a bit cold, or should I say refreshing?), the communal area has plenty of shade for the non-sun bunnies!
The food was great - I'm already missing the bbq chicken pizza.
See y'all very soon!

Room Tip: Request a balcony if you're a smoker
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
DebsandAdrian - Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. The team will be really happy to hear that they were able to provide you with such an experience. They are truly passionate about what they do and we are glad you noticed. We look forward to being of service to you again in the near future. BBQ pizza included.

Thanks again and safe travels

Jorge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Wow! When you walk in the Lobby you are greeted with an extremely strong odor of air freshener. It was almost sickening. The lobby is a little run down and is in desperate need of a thorough cleaning and a can of paint. The wall decor is left over from the 80s - it's time for an upgrade, please. The Lobby Staff were nice and helpful, but the first impression had me worried. We arrived at the room and wondered if it had been cleaned. We could clearly see dirty footprints on the bathroom floor. There were big black cast iron pipes exposed on the bathroom ceiling. It was like they forgot to put in the dropped ceiling...it felt, and looked, like we were in the basement. Not attractive at all. There were globs of long black hair pasted to two of the shower walls. Yuk! The hand-held shower head was broken off from the extension hose and there was a dirty towel under the sink. Like I mentioned ealier, we didn't think this room was cleaned properly. The desk chair was stained and broken (leaning to one side, like sinking ship). The larger love seat was dirty and stained as well. Didn't even want to put my suitcase on it. The bedroom floors were tiled and cold. The walls were paper thin and the room was far from sound proofed - wheels from rolling suitcases awakened us at 5 AM. Pipes in the walls clanked all night long. The bed matress had to be at least 20 years old - probably original when the place was built. When the air conditioner cycled off, the room became immediately stuffy and damp. The grounds were nice, but could have been better. The pool was clean, but the decking around the pool needed a power washing. The covered sitting area by the pool was dirty and in disrepair... curtains that hung from the overhang were filthy and torn. The only nice area was the small fitness room. It was clean, had fresh towels, and relatively new equipment. Although this property is on the Don Shula Country Club grounds, Don would not want his name or reputation associated with this hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room in the back - away from the Hwy noise near by. We were in the back, but could still hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
TVinoski - We are very sorry to hear about your recent experience with us and we regret not having an opportunity to make them right before your departure. We do thank you for sharing this with us and we will be sure to share this with our team. Our guest's experiences are important to us and we will be sure to use your comments as opportunities to prevent future guests from similar experiences. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.

Thank you and safe travels

Jorge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes

Address: 7601 Miami Lakes Drive, Miami Lakes, FL 33014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Lakes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Miami Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine a 100% smoke-free sophisticated boutique hotel, whose focus is delivering a unique guest experience. Quite deliberately the Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes Florida has been designed as an urban oasis for travelers who look to escape from the common hotel. We offer the convenience of a 24 hour fitness center, pool, Phi Restaurant and are located on a Don Shula s Golf Course and right next door to .the Original Don Shula SteakhouseLocated just minutes from Miami International Airport (MIA) and Opa-Locka Airport, Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes provides convenient access to Main Street Miami Lakes. Nearby attractions include: South Beach, Dolphin Stadium, Don Shula s Golf Course, Saw Grass Mills, the Theater District and Art Galleries. Whether you are here to relax in the Aveda Concept Spa at Shula s, or enjoy a round of Golf at Shula s famous golf course, the Hotel Indigo offers each guest a blend of modern contemporary living. Rooms include hardwood floors, granite counter tops and spa like showers. Curl up in our over-sized beds with plush bedding, duvets with covers, pillow shams and plenty of fluffy pillows. Stay connected with complimentary Internet access throughout the hotel or in our onsite business center.Relax and have a meal or a drink at the Phi Bar that serves cutting edge cuisine or just grab a latte. We proudly brew Starbucks coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.