We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky design with lots of problems” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes

Save Saved
You added Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7601 Miami Lakes Drive, Miami Lakes, FL 33014   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Miami Lakes
Frankfurt, Germany
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Funky design with lots of problems”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

First of all: we really loved this place. Real good vintage1960 design has been partly refurbished. Now comes in fresh colors and crazy designs and is so refreshingly different from all the other hotels you usually get to see. Our suite 2123 was very spacious. We missed a safe in the room and, more importantly, a fridge.

The hotel is on a golf course and has nice views. Also nice pool area surrounded by a beautiful garden. Very friendly and helpful staff. Also breakfast is different. A (too) small diner style breakfast corner where charming Juanita (forgot her real name) serves breakfast cooked to order. The coffee can compete with Starbucks and there is even chinaware and real iron cutlery. Unfortunately we both felt sick after breakfast and it took us the whole day to recover. We reported the problem to the frontdesk and got many excuses and a room rate reduction.
There is a nice little gym with real good and up to date fitness equipment.

What is really not acceptable is that the shower in the morning was just lukewarm and the water pressure was much too low. And even worse: The drain pipe from the room above is just above your head when showering and it is dripping slowly! According to the calcination it has been dripping for years. The windows seem to be from 1960 and they are not closing tight. They would also need some cleaning at the lower part of the window frame. My wife tried to use the hairdrier which she found under the sink. It was totally filthy and greasy. Has not been cleaned in years.
When we came back in in the evening our corridor has not been vacuumed and our room has not been cleaned. There was also no hot water at all because the boiler of the building was broken. It was still not working the next morning but we could have a shower in another building.

Bottom line: This was our first and last stay in this hotel. Too many problems in just 2 nights. What a pitty, it is such a nice place... I want to emphasize that the staff was very helpful at all times. They even gave us a 50% reduction for all the trouble without being asked.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Carlos C - Our sincere apologies for the challenges you encountered during your stay and hope you are feeling better. During your stay, we were working on updating our heating and cooling systems and it should have been seamless with no guest service issues. Our team really appreciated your patience and understanding during this challenge. Thank you for posting your review and we hope you would reconsider staying with us next time you are traveling to Miami as we would like to another opportunity to turn your experience around.

Thanks again and safe travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    90
    77
    29
    18
    6
See reviews for
49
52
19
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

In the past several months I have stayed at this hotel 3 times. The staff has been friendly and openly appreciative of the business. My issue of dissatisfaction has been with the hotel itself. In two of my three visits I experienced a hotel "kiss of death" which for me is a room that will not cool and a shower that will not heat. At Hotel Indigo it appears the quality of your visit is very much tied to the luck of your room draw. My second visit was completely without incident and actually caused me to bring family on my third attempt. In my third, and what will be my final, visit the lack of creature comforts was compounded by a large group of noisy guest drinking and partying in the parking lot. I had not experienced anything like this on my other two visits and their rowdy presence made for an uneasy passage to our room. The remains of the "parking lot party" also made for and an unpleasant morning exit picking our way through beer cans and broken bottles. At the end of the day no amount of friendly staff can overcome a hot sleep, a cold shower and a concern for family security. Thank you for the friendly staff and best wishes on correcting the facility issues you are experiencing.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
gib3 - We are very sorry to hear about your recent experience at Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes. We have made some recent enhancements to our heating and cooling systems and should not have affected your guest experience. We obviously failed in this effort and are truly sorry. We also acknowledge an issue with a guest attempting to have a large party in their room and we were able to disburse them but unfortunately not before it disturbed some of our guests. Our wish is to go back and change your experience but know we can only move forward. We are committed to providing our guests a great hotel guest love and hope you would reconsider giving us another opportunity to turn this experience around. Thank you for your time.

Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Free parking. The customer service is top-notch. The hotel is setup in a way that it looks almost like a villa...with lots of lush greeneries in between. I had a standard room (no microwave, no fridge) but it looks almost like a small suite and the decor is pretty. It's right next to a golf course so the view there is pretty nice. If you didn't qualify for the free breakfast rate, the food is a little pricey for the amount given. There's a CVS and Publix very close by. But, depending on which direction you are coming from, you might get a hard time going in/out of the parking lot when it's rush hour since the entrance is on Miami Lakes Drive. Also, my bathroom had ants...not too sure what's going on there but I assume it's due the abundant plants around the hotel. This hotel is about 30 minutes away from Miami beach. Overall, I like this place! Once again, the customer service is amazing.

Room Tip: For $10 more you can get a room that looks out to the golf course for better scenery
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
C N - The staff at Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes is very appreciative of the wonderful comments regarding the service you were provided. They are very committed to giving our guests their best and love to hear the efforts acknowledged by our guests. We appreciate your time and look forward to your next visit.

Thanks again and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

The location is great. It is right next to a Shula's steakhouse which is my favorite steakhouse. The Shula's in tampa is in an Intercontinental Hotel which is VERY nice so I assumed this would be just as luxurious. Not so much. The rooms were very "Miami". Very bright colors and ultra modern sheik. Our room had a musty smell it it. Kind of like it used to be a smoking room. Toilet did not flush unless you hold the handle down. Room was VERY humid and moist the entire stay....which made our clothes moist too. Out last night stay was interrupted by saws and drilling in the adjacent room at 8a.m. The night before we were awoken by the unnecessarily loud talking between the spanish house keepers.

Over all, the hotel was nice. I probably wont stay again. Was just too loud.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dcarr777- Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay at Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes. We are very sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations and are disappointed you encountered some challenges during your stay. We hope that in the future you will give us another opportunity to turn this experience around.

Thanks again and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Great Stay..... Friendly Staff. I have stayed at this facility several times during the past year for work. I was not at all disappointed. HSIA was dependable. I enjoy staying at this property when in the area for work.

Room Tip: The Suites are spacious and comfortable!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Sparky575 - Thank you for your continued loyalty. We are very happy to continue to provide you a great experience and are committed to exceeding your expectations on every stay. Thank you again and we appreciate you taking the time to post your review.

Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Our professional association met in October 2012 in Miami Lakes, FL and the Hotel Indigo was our hotel site. Rooms were bright and clean, very comfortable. The hospitality of the staff, especially Guest Service Manager Chris Conte, was superb! The Indigo restaurant provided a good place for breakfast and evening relaxation. We were disappointed that the adjoining restaurant was unexpectedly closed on Sunday afternoon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Kathleen B- on behalf of the entire Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes team, we thank you for choosing us as your host hotel. It was truly our pleasure to serve you all as we could not have asked for a nicer group to have stay with us. We are very appreciative of your review and look forward to hosting your group again in the near future.

Thanks again and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orange, Florida, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

The hotel has a shuttle that will take you within a mile of the hotel. The little bar/restaurant is convenient too. Looks like a good business traveler's hotel; but I don't think I'd use it again as my Miami vacation location. Had to take a taxi everywhere we went.

Room Tip: FYI, the pool isn't heated. If you are used to heated pools, you may be unpleasantly suprised.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
David P -Thank you for staying at Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes and for sharing your review. We hope you enjoyed your vacation in Miami and we look forward to the next opportunity to serve you.

Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes

Address: 7601 Miami Lakes Drive, Miami Lakes, FL 33014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Lakes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Miami Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine a 100% smoke-free sophisticated boutique hotel, whose focus is delivering a unique guest experience. Quite deliberately the Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes Florida has been designed as an urban oasis for travelers who look to escape from the common hotel. We offer the convenience of a 24 hour fitness center, pool, Phi Restaurant and are located on a Don Shula s Golf Course and right next door to .the Original Don Shula SteakhouseLocated just minutes from Miami International Airport (MIA) and Opa-Locka Airport, Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes provides convenient access to Main Street Miami Lakes. Nearby attractions include: South Beach, Dolphin Stadium, Don Shula s Golf Course, Saw Grass Mills, the Theater District and Art Galleries. Whether you are here to relax in the Aveda Concept Spa at Shula s, or enjoy a round of Golf at Shula s famous golf course, the Hotel Indigo offers each guest a blend of modern contemporary living. Rooms include hardwood floors, granite counter tops and spa like showers. Curl up in our over-sized beds with plush bedding, duvets with covers, pillow shams and plenty of fluffy pillows. Stay connected with complimentary Internet access throughout the hotel or in our onsite business center.Relax and have a meal or a drink at the Phi Bar that serves cutting edge cuisine or just grab a latte. We proudly brew Starbucks coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.