We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms & service! Some common areas need to upated” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shula's Hotel & Golf Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Shula's Hotel & Golf Club to your Saves list
Shula's Hotel & Golf Club
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6842 Main Street, Miami Lakes, FL 33014   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Miami Lakes
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great rooms & service! Some common areas need to upated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I planned a small meeting here for 8 people. Some drove in from other parts of Florida and some flew in (mostly to Ft Lauderdale instead of Miami because it's cheaper and rented a car). Miami Lakes if very convenient for people driving in though, because you don't have to go into "the city" to get there. It's only a few minutes off I-75. Miami Lakes is a cute place and this hotel is in the heart of their little downtown with shops & restaurants. The parking is plentiful and self parking is free! The lobby area is nice. It's one of those hotels with multiple buildings so finding your room is a little odd, but the walk wasn't too bad. The common areas, like the hallways, are VERY outdated. In fact I was a little scared as I was walking to my room that it was going to be a dump from the looks of the hallway, doors, etc. However, my room was fantastic! It's very modern and has hard wood floors. It had a beautiful headboard and nice amenities. Three complaints: no makeup mirror, not enough outlets by the bed for electronics, & my room phone didn't work. The meeting space was very nice though. What really stands out is the service. From the front desk to the van driver, to the banquet servers, everyone was very nice and professional. Let me tell you....in South Florida that is a rarity NOT the norm!!!!! They have a little restaurant on site by the original Don Shula's steakhouse is down the road a little at their former property, which is now a Hotel Indigo....as is the golf course. They do have a complimentary shuttle that will run you over there though.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    126
    84
    43
    35
See reviews for
73
77
25
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My room, 2203, smelled terrrible. Musty and mouldy. I didn't realize how bad until I returned home. All my clothing had to be washed several times to get rid of the mouldy smell. My suitcase fumigated! I also had severe allergies (unusual), which continued a few days after I returned home.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was my third time staying at this hotel in Miami. I'm forced to stay here due to company events. Each time it proves to be even more disappointing than previous stays. I'm scheduled to attend another event in Miami in June of this year but have notified my company that I will pay for my own hotel elsewhere...yes, it's that bad. Poor customer service from the staff, dirty rooms, broken blinds, cold wood floors, and the fitness center is detached and across the street from the hotel.

Room Tip: choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriana T, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Susie8842 – Thank you for your comments and please accept our apologies for falling short of your expectations during your visits to our property. Our team strives to create memorable experiences for all of our guests, and we regret not being able to do so for you. We also want to thank you for your time giving us the opportunity to discuss your experience in more detail. We hope you reconsider giving our team at Shula’s another chance to be of service.

Safe travels,

Adriana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

While attending 4 training events located in Miami Lakes, I had the opportunity to stay at Shula's Hotel. Each week I stayed the hotel staff made my visit uneventful and comfortable. One staff member in particular named Vicky went out of her way to make sure that all my needs were being met and gave me a number of suggestions for dinning and entertainment. Thank you Vicky!!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriana T, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Bob D – We are happy to have been your hotel of choice during your business trips to Miami Lakes. We sincerely appreciate you recognizing Vicky’s level of service. Creating raving fans is our priority, and Vicky definitely represents what Shula’s is all about. We have shared your feedback with her, and we are very grateful for your comments. We hope that your future travels bring you back to Shula’s soon.

Safe travels,

Adriana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Having worked for a resort hotel in the past, I was disappointed with the service or should I say the non-service that was provided. I had to call the desk to ask why our room had not been made-up at 4:00 in the afternoon. When they finally got around to making the beds, that was pretty much all they did. Beside leaving us fresh towels, they didn't leave us clean glasses and didn't take all the trash.

When we were in the hospitality suite provided to our group, there was no way to call the bar or front desk. We had wanted to order some drinks but instead, I had to go the bar and carry the drinks back upstairs myself.

Service in the bar was not great - when I went to order the bartender said she would be right back and then proceeded to talk to one of the waiters and check on a table to see if they wanted more drinks instead of taking my order.

After our event was over on Saturday night, we went back to the hotel to have a few drinks in the bar only to find it had closed at midnight although the sign said they closed at 1:00 am.

There is also no other restaurants around the hotel to get breakfast - eat at the hotel or get in the car.

I would definitely say the service was less than expected for a resort hotel. The hotel could do with a facelift - rooms were drab.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the patio/pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriana T, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Bunny W – Thank you for sharing your comments with us. We apologize for falling short of your expectations. Our team strives to provide the best service, and we regret not having been able to deliver this during your stay. We have shared your comments with our Housekeeping and Food & Beverage teams, and we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.We apologize for the inconvenience with the phone line in your hospitality suite, and we have followed up with our Engineering team to ensure this item is addressed.

Your feedback is valuable to us as it helps us identify and address areas of improvement. We hope that you still enjoyed your even,t and that you can give us another opportunity to turn this experience around.

Thank you,

Adriana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This a good located hotel. Its 30 minutes from most important malls in Miami, 30 mins from Miami international airport, 30 mins from Downtown Miami and the Florida international university. Rooms are average, cleanliness good and the prices average too.

Room Tip: At the end of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriana T, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, 1 week ago
José Odalis O – The Shula’s team sends you greetings from our Miami Lakes paradise to yours in Dominican Republic. We thank you for your comments and hope that our ideal location was convenient to your activities in South Florida. We look forward to your next visit.

Safe travels,

Adriana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

hotel is dated --facilities and service are pretty average. Its expensive for what you get --we chose to eat in the mall of which hotel is part. We played golf --if you're not you can get better for the money

Room Tip: probably overlooking pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriana T, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, 1 week ago
steven b – We appreciate your feedback, and we thank you for sharing. Our team regrets not being able to exceed your expectations. We have several dining options right at our doorsteps, and we are glad you were able to find a restaurant choice of your preference. We hope that you enjoyed your golf experience at our Senator Course at Shula’s.

Thank you for your feedback and safe travels,

Adriana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Shula's Hotel & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shula's Hotel & Golf Club

Address: 6842 Main Street, Miami Lakes, FL 33014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Miami Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shula's Hotel & Golf Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Despegar.com so you can book your Shula's Hotel & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shula`s Hotel And Golf Club
Shulas Hotel Miami Lakes
Don Shula Hotel
Don Shulas Hotel Miami Lake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.