We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seriously?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Shula's Hotel & Golf Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Shula's Hotel & Golf Club to your Saves list
Shula's Hotel & Golf Club
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6842 Main Street, Miami Lakes, FL 33014   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Miami Lakes
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Seriously?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

After 4 years without having to attend a conference at this hotel I returned. Everything looks pretty much the same. An outdated hotel that is way overdue for a restoration and implementing more effective cleaning practices, not to mention go visit some hotel and learn how a nice breakfast looks like. The aisles to the rooms keep having that dull look, rooms are not very clean and you may run out of warm water anytime.

Room Tip: as far as you can from parking (if that is an option)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Luis E - Thank you for providing us some insight into your recent experience at Shula's Hotel. We are disappointed to hear that your stay did not meet or exceed your expectations and truly sorry for this. Our team is committed to providing our guests with the best possible experience and falling short of our guest expectations is not what we want to hear. We continue to listen to our guests and value what they express to us. We have shared your comments with our team and again we apologize for some of the experiences you encountered.

Thank you again and safe travels

Jorge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    105
    71
    37
    28
See reviews for
61
61
22
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Immaculate, clean, and posh hotel. There is an air of old school elegance to it, with a grand piano and steakhouse in the hotel lobby. Hotel is located on Main Street, off the main road and is surrounded by little shops and restaurants for some light shopping. There is an Aveda spa and golf course there if you are interested and a Miami Lakes Ale House across the street with a great cocktail selection.

Beds were super deep and comfortable and the bath area large and spacious. Wish the water in the sink turned hot faster, but I didn't mind too much as the weather was in the 80s the time I was there :)

Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Not ground level - it can get loud with all the foot traffic and hotel events
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Kit K - We are happy to hear you had an opportunity to experience some of what our local neighborhood has to offer. Shula's is nestled in the heart of Miami Lakes and we wish more of our guests could have the opportunity to take in some of the local flavors our neighborhood has to offer. Thank you for sharing these experiences with us and the Tripadvisor community.

Safe Travels

Jorge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Lakes, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

You will love this hotel. Front desk team: Natasha, Daz, Jackie & Carolina are 4-star professionals. Hotel ambience, amenities & value -- all amazing. We travel US & Europe & this property is in top 10 for its unique niche.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
RoonAWS - Thank you for taking them time to share your experience and for giving specific team members an extra recognition for all their hard work. We will be sure to share this with them and the rest of our team.

Thank you again and we wish you safe travels

Jorge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

We booked this as a stay before a cruise, so weren't looking for anything special. We arrived fairly late in the evening and were surprised to find a place we could still get dinner. The rooms were great and the area had a lot of shops and places we just didn't have enough time to explore.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
cmpmekrmom - Thank you for choosing us as your pre-cruise hotel and for sharing your stay experience with us. We hope you had a great time on your cruise and look forward to having another opportunity to be of service to you in the near future.

Safe Travels

Jorge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

Have to say beautiful place room sparkly clean friendly staff thank you Nathalie for your wonderful service
Great Restaurant and bar
Complete and delicious breakfast service
I will stay in again In a heartbeat

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
jrivera68 - Thank you for sharing your recent review of Shula's Hotel and for the wonderful comments regarding our team. We will be sure to pass them along and look forward to being of service to you in the near future.

Safe Travels

Jorge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

This place is very good for keen, average golfers. Rooms are comfortable, roomy, clean and well equipped. A bit far from the beaches, but good restaurants and basic shopping are round the corner.
Wi-fi needs improving though, and the Tv reception is not always first class.
Good service, and the team at Reception do their best.
I wish hotels in Florida realized that check-in at 3 or 4 p.m. is very trying for people flying in to Miami airport at the crack of dawn!
The golf course nearby is impeccably maintained. I found it curious, though, that players staying at the hotel don't get a rebate on their green fees!
It was my second stay there and I may very well be back sometime in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the swimming pool have a nice view of the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Neri I - Thank you for sharing these experiences with us and for continuing to have Shula's Hotel as your destination choice while visiting Miami. We apologize for any issue you encountered with your WIFI and TV. We are currently working on our technology infrastructure and you may have experienced some of the affects from the work. We are confident that you will experience a significant difference in these areas on you next visit.

Thank you again for sharing and we wish you safe travels.

Jorge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

First, even I showed up at 1:30 my room wasn't ready until 4pm. An hour after regular check-in. What really annoyed me was when I first checked in, they told me 25 minutes wait. Came back 40 minutes later, they told me to wait 35 minutes more. Came back 40 minutes later and they told 30 more minutes. Wow, I finally checked in at 4pm. Later I accidentally ordered the wrong movie. I called up immediately and explained what happened. They refused to take it off the bill. Finally, I woke up in the morning and notice the bed spread had some dried stains on it. I'm not an expert but it looked like dried blood stains. I took a photo and showed it to the front desk. They said sorry and that was it. They didn't really care. Oh, also no room service which surprises me because I thought that was a basic requirement for an "elite" hotel.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
johnstone01 - Thank you for sharing this with us and we apologize for the issues you encountered during your stay. We understand the burden of traveling and our team does everything they can to ensure we can accommodate guests once they arrive. This can be an arduous task at times when the hotel experiences a high level of occupancy and on rare occasions this can happen and it seems like we did not make this unfortunate situation any better for you. We are also disappointed to hear about some of the other service issues you encountered and this is not what we expect our team to deliver to our guests. We have reviewed these points with our team and identify why we fell short. We will be reaching out to you via direct message in Tripadvisor in hopes of connecting with you to discuss your experience further.

Thank you again and safe travels

Jorge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Lakes hotels

Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shula's Hotel & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shula's Hotel & Golf Club

Address: 6842 Main Street, Miami Lakes, FL 33014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Miami Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shula's Hotel & Golf Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Shula's Hotel & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shula`s Hotel And Golf Club
Shulas Hotel Miami Lakes
Don Shula Hotel
Don Shulas Hotel Miami Lake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.