We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shula's Hotel & Golf Club

Save Saved
You added Shula's Hotel & Golf Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shula's Hotel & Golf Club
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6842 Main Street, Miami Lakes, FL 33014   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Miami Lakes
Peoria, Illinois
1 review
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Great location including gym. Staff was helpful and friendly. Room was clean and well maintained. Was there for a business meeting; great to have amenities close and all the food was excellent - not just the steak! I look forward to the next stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Brian T - We were glad to hear you had a great experience at Shula's and we too look forward to your next stay.

Thank you

Jorge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    77
    93
    67
    35
    27
See reviews for
53
58
22
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Lakes, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Very nice hotel and the prices are fair compared to the other hotels in the area. We live in Miami lakes and always book this hotels for guests. Nice area safe for families. Theres a restaurant in the hotel or a starbucks type bakery you can go to for breakfast that's very good. The bakery is kind of noisy because they turn up the music so loud its annoying.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Granny P - Thank you for sharing your comments and for using Shula's to accommodate your guests. We do apologize if the volume level for the music in the bakery is too loud. We have shared this with our bakery team to ensure the music volume enhances the experience of our guests.

Thank you again for posting

Jorge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Impersonal staff, advertised hot tub but recently filled in and gone, hoarders of towels...nearly impossible to get more, not enough soap provided, light switch in bathroom removed so that both vanity and bathroom on one switch (ridiculous setup), why even have the second vanity in the bathroom? For a week stay the maid never cleaned the hard wood floors. No laundry facilities. Not kid friendly at all, no heated pool. The planes flying over every 2 minutes were annoying, probably wont find that advertised on their website. No fridge, no microwave. I have stayed at far cheaper hotels that had more standard features.

Room Tip: No room is quite as planes fly over every 2 minutes because the hotel is situated at the end of a ru...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
David L - Thank you for sharing your week long experience at Shula's with us. We are sorry to hear that we did not meet some of your expectations during your stay. Shula's is a unique property with many different amenities available to our guests and we do our best to anticipate guest needs and provide them with as many options as possible. We appreciate hearing from our guests and we continue to listen to what they tell us and use that information to continue to evolve our business. As always, we will share with our team and appreciate you letting us know about your experience.

Thank you again and safe travels

Jorge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

This hotel was very nice, however upon checking in the receptionist was very dry. Not even a smile, had me wondering what was next to come. i think all people working the front desk should be a little more welcoming on any establishment. other than that, everything else was very nice. the room and big, nice and clean. Good Stay

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Pepper6321 - We agree that the front desk should be setting the tone for our guests and ensuring that our guests are feeling welcomed from the moment they arrive at Shula's. We are sorry to hear that your initial contact was not one that made you feel as welcomed and appreciate you letting us know. The previous reviewer also mentioned a similar experience and we have taken action to ensure our team is ready to deliver simply great service. We are glad to hear the remainder of your stay went well and look forward to being of service to you again in the near future.

Thank you for sharing and we wish you safe travels.

Jorge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Recently stayed at this hotel while attending the orange bowl. Found the hotel to be adequate, clean, good location, nice pool and friendly valet staff. Front desk staff might need a renewal course on southern hospitality. Not very helpful, friendly or happy. I might say down right rude at times. The bar is nice, but Paying $10 for a small house vodka and tonic while listening to the manager and a waiter argued with each other is very unprofessional. Save your money, head across the parking lot to the Ale House. Friendly staff, good food and drinks, reasonably priced. Not a horrible hotel, but definitely less than we expected when we booked.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Marianne B - Thank you for sharing your review of Shula's Hotel. We are sorry to hear that some of your interactions with our staff were not at the level you expected at Shula's. We expect our team to deliver a consistent, great experience to our guests and will review this with our team to identify where the inconsistency occurred. We appreciate you letting us know and hope that the remainder of your Orange Bowl experience was fabulous.

Thanks again and safe travels

Jorge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

First time staying and would highly recommend. All the staff were very helpful from the valet to the desk clerks to the housekeeping staff. If in the area again we will definitely stay at Shula's again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Nancy R - Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent experience at Shula's Hotel. We hope you had an equally enjoyable experience at the Orange Bowl and we look forward to being of service to you in the near future.

Thanks again and safe travels

Jorge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We booked this room through last minute.com and got a fairly good deal.
PRO's:
-Location was perfect for our business needs located close to major highways
- Sports facilities, the gym was probably one of the best I have visited and we would return due to this. There is also a fantastic jogging route.
-Rooms were clean and bed was comfortable (apart from fighting with sheets every night)
CON's:
- Internet is poor which I find unacceptable in this day and age..I needed to join a conference call and was unable to connect via cable or wifi. I ended up using Starbucks about 5 mins away. Please sort this out!!!
- Lacks of towels, there seemed to be a towel shortage as 2 nights in a row we were given no towels. A little frustrating when you've been out working for 14 hours and you want a shower without having to wait for clean linen at midnight!
- Linen, please purchase sheets that fit the bed..every night we ended up on the bare mattress (unacceptable) due to the sheets coming away from the corners
- Room move, we had an issue with the first room allocated. It was interconnecting and I will not stay in an room that has a single door into a strangers room. The staff member dealt with this poorly when I asked to move, I was basically told we have nothing until day 5 of a 7 day stay (excuse me?) I was told everyone had checked in ( this was not correct) I was then asked if I wanted to see the blocked rooms report since I didn't believe her (excuse me?) it was only after 15 mins of waiting and the assistance of another staff member did we get another room. The staff handled the situation badly.

Overall not a bad hotel but please sort out your internet it's 2014!!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
LohraC - Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us at Shula's Hotel and we apologize for some of the experiences you encountered during your stay. We are reviewing your comments with our team in order to ensure these types of issues are averted in the future. We also understand the importance of a reliable internet access source and are currently working on enhancements to our system. We were glad to hear that you enjoyed our athletic club and some other aspects of you experience. We look forward to having another opportunity to be of service to you again in the near future.

Thanks again and safe travels.

Jorge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shula's Hotel & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shula's Hotel & Golf Club

Address: 6842 Main Street, Miami Lakes, FL 33014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Miami Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shula's Hotel & Golf Club 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Shula's Hotel & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shula`s Hotel And Golf Club
Shulas Hotel Miami Lakes
Don Shula Hotel
Don Shulas Hotel Miami Lake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.