We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dry Check In” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shula's Hotel & Golf Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Shula's Hotel & Golf Club to your Saves list
Shula's Hotel & Golf Club
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6842 Main Street, Miami Lakes, FL 33014   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Miami Lakes
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Dry Check In”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

This hotel was very nice, however upon checking in the receptionist was very dry. Not even a smile, had me wondering what was next to come. i think all people working the front desk should be a little more welcoming on any establishment. other than that, everything else was very nice. the room and big, nice and clean. Good Stay

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Pepper6321 - We agree that the front desk should be setting the tone for our guests and ensuring that our guests are feeling welcomed from the moment they arrive at Shula's. We are sorry to hear that your initial contact was not one that made you feel as welcomed and appreciate you letting us know. The previous reviewer also mentioned a similar experience and we have taken action to ensure our team is ready to deliver simply great service. We are glad to hear the remainder of your stay went well and look forward to being of service to you again in the near future.

Thank you for sharing and we wish you safe travels.

Jorge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    126
    84
    43
    35
See reviews for
73
77
25
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Recently stayed at this hotel while attending the orange bowl. Found the hotel to be adequate, clean, good location, nice pool and friendly valet staff. Front desk staff might need a renewal course on southern hospitality. Not very helpful, friendly or happy. I might say down right rude at times. The bar is nice, but Paying $10 for a small house vodka and tonic while listening to the manager and a waiter argued with each other is very unprofessional. Save your money, head across the parking lot to the Ale House. Friendly staff, good food and drinks, reasonably priced. Not a horrible hotel, but definitely less than we expected when we booked.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Marianne B - Thank you for sharing your review of Shula's Hotel. We are sorry to hear that some of your interactions with our staff were not at the level you expected at Shula's. We expect our team to deliver a consistent, great experience to our guests and will review this with our team to identify where the inconsistency occurred. We appreciate you letting us know and hope that the remainder of your Orange Bowl experience was fabulous.

Thanks again and safe travels

Jorge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

First time staying and would highly recommend. All the staff were very helpful from the valet to the desk clerks to the housekeeping staff. If in the area again we will definitely stay at Shula's again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Nancy R - Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent experience at Shula's Hotel. We hope you had an equally enjoyable experience at the Orange Bowl and we look forward to being of service to you in the near future.

Thanks again and safe travels

Jorge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We booked this room through last minute.com and got a fairly good deal.
PRO's:
-Location was perfect for our business needs located close to major highways
- Sports facilities, the gym was probably one of the best I have visited and we would return due to this. There is also a fantastic jogging route.
-Rooms were clean and bed was comfortable (apart from fighting with sheets every night)
CON's:
- Internet is poor which I find unacceptable in this day and age..I needed to join a conference call and was unable to connect via cable or wifi. I ended up using Starbucks about 5 mins away. Please sort this out!!!
- Lacks of towels, there seemed to be a towel shortage as 2 nights in a row we were given no towels. A little frustrating when you've been out working for 14 hours and you want a shower without having to wait for clean linen at midnight!
- Linen, please purchase sheets that fit the bed..every night we ended up on the bare mattress (unacceptable) due to the sheets coming away from the corners
- Room move, we had an issue with the first room allocated. It was interconnecting and I will not stay in an room that has a single door into a strangers room. The staff member dealt with this poorly when I asked to move, I was basically told we have nothing until day 5 of a 7 day stay (excuse me?) I was told everyone had checked in ( this was not correct) I was then asked if I wanted to see the blocked rooms report since I didn't believe her (excuse me?) it was only after 15 mins of waiting and the assistance of another staff member did we get another room. The staff handled the situation badly.

Overall not a bad hotel but please sort out your internet it's 2014!!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
LohraC - Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us at Shula's Hotel and we apologize for some of the experiences you encountered during your stay. We are reviewing your comments with our team in order to ensure these types of issues are averted in the future. We also understand the importance of a reliable internet access source and are currently working on enhancements to our system. We were glad to hear that you enjoyed our athletic club and some other aspects of you experience. We look forward to having another opportunity to be of service to you again in the near future.

Thanks again and safe travels.

Jorge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutz, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

I have the opportunity to stay at Shula's two or three times a year, and I really look forward to staying there. It's right off the Palmetto Expressway, in a great part of town, and yet pretty close to downtown Miami. The amenities are unique, and the sports memorabilia must be seen to be appreciated.
However, it is the staff that sets Shula's apart. Ask a favor and it will happen! They are friendly, kind and really helpful. Such a different feel from the downtown Miami hotels...and so very worth it!

Room Tip: An inside room gives you a great view of the courtyard. And don't forget to ask about Indigo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Mark P - We appreciate your loyalty to Shula's and always look forward to being of service to you.

Thank you

Jorge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

1. I stayed here for a week a couple of weeks ago for work and had some problems. When I went to check into the hotel after 4pm, I was told that my room was not ready yet. Since I was a customer of a company that housed all their students here all the time, how could the hotel not know what customers were coming and roughly what time they would be arriving. Eventually there were over 6 customers sitting in the lobby, waiting for their rooms. This was not a one time occurrence as I heard another group get told the same thing the next afternoon. why would a hotel repeatedly have the same problem?
2. The room was okay, but I found my sliding door did not lock, I had to work at aligning the catch but was able to fix it. I would say this is a safety concern.
3. The hotel had a nice pool, but it was only open from dawn to dusk. Since I was in class in November, i was out of the hotel from dawn to dusk, so obviously I could not use the pool. I realize that a pool can noisy, but I still feel that adding a few hours to the open times would have been beneficial.
4. I realize that this hotel was founded on the premise of sports, and that the on-site restaurant was supposed to be a sports bar, but it would be nice if there was a quiet area of the restaurant away from the TV's where someone who is not a sports fanatic could relax and talk or read a book. The
TV's were even on news in the morning.
5. Although most of the employees were nice, one of the women behind the front desk was rude to several of the people I heard her talk to. It may have been a very stressful time for her, but it was also stressful for the customers whose rooms were not available after long flights to get there.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard had nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Michtraveler_12 - Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us and for allowing us an opportunity to review some of the items you mentioned. Guest insight is a valuable tool to us and we appreciate your comments. We are reviewing what you have shared to see if we can effect some changes to continue to enhance guest experience in the restaurant and pool area. We do apologize for the experience you had with one of our front desk team members and hope this was an isolated experience during your stay. Our focus is to provide simply great service and it is disappointing to hear this. Hoping the remainder of your stay met or exceeded your expectations and we look forward to being of service to you in the near future.

Thank you again and safe travels

Jorge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Miami Lakes is a lovely residential area; but it's in the middle of nowhere. If you're going to Sunlife Stadium and that's the primary reason for your visit to this area, it's an OK place to stay. The hotel is clean but loud hallway and outside noise kept waking us up. The a/c unit sounded like a mac truck every time it turned on, I mean it was ridiculously loud. Last but not least, they try to put a queen size fitted sheet on a king size bed. Every time you move, the sheet would "pa-twang" off the mattress and smack you in the head. Oh, don't expect clean towels the next day unless you ask for them. The housekeeper left our used, damp towels on the hook ready to be used the next morning, really?? A mehtza place to stay but again, conveniently located to the stadium and no where else.

Room Tip: I don't think any room is better than another......
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
PAABOO - A belated thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Shula's Hotel with us. We apologize for some of the items you encountered during your stay. We have since identified the linen issue and have made the necessary changes to avoid future occurrences. Again, we apologize for this and we hope to have another opportunity in the near future to turn this experience around.

Thanks again and safe travels

Jorge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Shula's Hotel & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shula's Hotel & Golf Club

Address: 6842 Main Street, Miami Lakes, FL 33014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Miami Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shula's Hotel & Golf Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Despegar.com so you can book your Shula's Hotel & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shula`s Hotel And Golf Club
Shulas Hotel Miami Lakes
Don Shula Hotel
Don Shulas Hotel Miami Lake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.