We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shula's Hotel & Golf Club

Save Saved
You added Shula's Hotel & Golf Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Shula's Hotel & Golf Club
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6842 Main Street, Miami Lakes, FL 33014   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Drink Voucher!
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Miami Lakes
Miami lakes
1 review
“Great spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We came to dinner and everything was wonderful. Dinner, drinks and dessert. All great. The service was on point and the general manager came around to make sure we had a great experience. Thanks Bill Wilson. I will be back here again. I enjoyed the crowd. Nice people. Nice place.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    88
    59
    35
    23
See reviews for
44
51
19
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Seems a bit outdated, but very clean and receiving touches of modernization here and there. Staff was very friendly and professional. Extensive fitness center for guests across the street. Walk out the side door of the hotel to a touristy Main Street, filled with a variety of restaurants and shops all within steps of the hotel. Shula's Steak House 2 is located within the hotel. Bed was very good but AC unit was loud. HDTV in room. No free breakfast. Free make your own coffee in the room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I stayed here because of a conference we had at the same place, nevertheless I found it expensive for what it has to offer. It doesn't worth it considering that there's no atrractions around or anyplace close to go by. Although employees are very nice, and the restorant has a good service. Breakfast buffet is just average.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramar, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel many times with family and just my husband and I. We enjoyed the newly renovated wood floors, lighting and a/c noise what improvement. The staff are professional and very friendly. We stay at least twice a year! Location is excellent, great food, have to try the buffett, great. You have shops, movies, just amazing!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmeadow, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The property was lovely and well located and the grounds were well kept and attractive. The rooms need some tweeking though. The A/C was very noisy so you had to blast the TV volume to hear it. The bed was fine but the pillows were lumpy foam masses. My bedside lamp was broken and the halo bulb as falling down,it worked sometimes other times not! Staff was friendly except when I ask a bellman to order me a cab for the airport for the following morning. He pointed to some parked cabs across the street and told me to go over there and order it myself. Other than these things, my stay was fine.

Room Tip: Ask for feather pillows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Anne K - Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We have shared your comments with our team and appreciate the opportunity to address some of the points you mentioned. We do apologize for the inconveniences these may have caused you. We look forward to having another opportunity to be of service to you in the near future.

Thanks again and safe travels.

Jorge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I stayed here for the Miami Football game 2 weeks ago, and whle the hotel and property was well kept, very nice, and the staff were hospitable, the biggest downside was that our room was not able to get or ESPN, ESPN2.

We figured it'd be fine to just stream the game on an iPad using the Watch ESPN app... but the internet signal was so poor that the streaming video kept stuttering and eventually crashing.

For most, this wouldn't be a huge issue, but for a college football fan, this was hell on earth.

Again, if first things are first, the hotel was very nice and i felt safe. But the lack of these channels and when the staff came to fix it, they never returned or replied after calling to let them know again that it didn't work.

C+ marked down from an A-.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
g8rphann - Thank you for providing us with some insight into your recent stay with at Shula’s. So sorry to hear about your challenges with our IT systems during your stay and we hope you were eventually able to watch your college team play as desired.

Thanks again and safe travels

Jorge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hallandale Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Only good thing about this hotel is the pretty pool and courtyard. Check in was ok but my room was right next to the ice maker. Worst part about that was the ice buckets are metal. All day and all night people getting their ice and all we heard was clanging all day and all night. LIke the other review said the sheets didn't fit and the mattress cover didn't either. The first night the maid just casually fixed the bed up. Did not leave one hand towel. Shulas Steak 2, the Sports Bar attached to this property was horrible. Both days and nights the service was the worst! The waitresses and bartenders are clueless. The prices in there are not cheap and the food runner brought the wrong food 3 straight times. I have stayed here before and it was pretty good but the this Hotel has steadily declined. They wont see me again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
nocurfu53 - We sincerely apologize for some of the experiences you encountered during your stay. We hope that you would reconsider staying with us in the near future based on your previous experiences with Shula's. We would love an opportunity to turn this experience around. Thank you for providing us valuable information and allowing us to share it with our team.

Safe Travels

Jorge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shula's Hotel & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shula's Hotel & Golf Club

Also Known As:
Shula`s Hotel And Golf Club
Shulas Hotel Miami Lakes
Shulas Hotel
Don Shula Hotel
Don Shulas Hotel Miami Lake
Address: 6842 Main Street, Miami Lakes, FL 33014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Miami Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shula's Hotel & Golf Club 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Shula's Hotel & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.