We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“James Tisdall Highly Recommends this Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shula's Hotel & Golf Club

Save Saved
You added Shula's Hotel & Golf Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shula's Hotel & Golf Club
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6842 Main Street, Miami Lakes, FL 33014   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Miami Lakes
Miami, FL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“James Tisdall Highly Recommends this Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2008

There is nothing like coming to a Hotel after a long business trip away from home & have a hotel treat you as if you were home.

Shulas is a very personal hotel. There staff is always looking to cater their guests every need.

I would stay here everytime.


J.Tisdall

Southern Wine and Spirits
West Palm Beach, FL.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    83
    99
    65
    37
    25
See reviews for
52
57
22
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2008

Spent 4 nights at the hotel and had a wonderful stay.
Hotel was spotless, staff was well trained and above average in responding to our wishes. Valet parking costs $8.00/day with unlimited in/out.
Main Street venue was fun with many restaurants & ample shopping - could use a good golf store nearby.
Golf course was fun to play & challenging with lots of water hazzards.
Head Golf Pro gave good lessons to spouse (beginner-intermediate) who improved 100% in driving distance and accuracy after a few private sessions.
We will return again. This a hidden gem.

Stayed April 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2008

I thought I would let people know what a fabulous gem Don Shula's hotel is. The junior suite is great with polished wooden floors, plenty of space to relax and complimentary Aveda products in the room!
The true secret of the hotel is the incredible service. Staff remember you by name and cannot do enough to make your stay enjoyable.
Access to the signature floor gave me the service of a truly professional Director of Special Services who makes sure everything is hassle free during your stay. This service gave me complimentary breakfasts, free internet access in the signature room, Monday night football and a weekly cocktail party where I made contacts from all around the world. Also there is a gym and Aveda Spa at the hotel (I got 10% discount at the Spa).
There is a lovely pool area with hot tub surrounded by palm trees and beautiful gardens. Everything you need for business or pleasure.
There is a choice of restaurants from fine dining at Don Shula steak house to great steak and seafood at Shula's 2. The staff were happy to shuttle us over to the steak house at the golf club.
The hotel is in a quiet area called Miami Lakes and I loved Main Street (right outside the hotel) where I walked to great Italian restaurants, chique shops and a cinema.
Access to major roads for business and less than 20 minutes from major malls. Sawgrass oultet a short drive away with a Barney's and Kate Spade store! Less than 30 minutes to Miami beach.
As female business executive, I am extremely fussy. I travel all over the world on business and this is one of the best hotels I've stayed in. Great staff, comfortable rooms, good food and fun sports bar.
If you want to mix a little luxury with getting the work done and need time to wind down - then this hotel is an absolute must!

  • Liked — Staff attention and great room
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2008

This hotel had a central location to Main Street in Miami Lakes where our daughter had her wedding reception. The hotel has great perks like the fitness center (which is really hopping!). It is fully staffed with professionals to help you work out, equipment is top notch, and the fitness classes were professionally run....all this is included with the hotel stay. The pool area is relaxing, but not over hyped. The hot tub was a nice touch, too. The rooms are very adequate in size and we enjoyed the first floor access of our room to the pool deck. They add a nice touch of Aveda products in the bathroom. The front desk staff was very attentive, along with a good support staff in the Conceierge department. In the lobby, there is Shula's 2, which we had very abundant breakfasts and fun at night for drinks and hanging out......even got to see one of my old Philadelphia Phillie faves from my childhood. The hotel is walking distance to ATM's, Publix Food Store, various restaurants, movies, and a CVS. All in all, a wonderful experience. P.S. You have to eat at Shula's Steak house, too. They have a free shuttle to take you to this wonderful dining experience.

  • Liked — Fitness Center
  • Disliked — Even though the front desk staff was very helpful, it was understaffed at times
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California, U.S.A.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2008

I have stayed at Shula's on business several times over the years. It does have a good sports bar and the new rooms are very nice. The Thai restaurant across the street is great.

I was amazed when I checked in at the unprofessional behavior of the front desk staff. I made a request for a certain type of room and they both laughed in my face. Miami is certainly not known for friendly hotel staff unless you bool a boutique hotel in South Beach. But this took the cake! The great thing is that when you check out of Shula's the front desk staff actually asks you what could have been improved with your stay. I told them but I'm sure it did not make it to the hotel managment.

If you want the best hotel in Miami try the Astor in South Beach!

Safe travels!

  • Liked — New room upgrades
  • Disliked — Front desk staff
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Lakes hotels

San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2008

Due to yet another cancellation by the most undependable airline in the country (American Airlines) I was forced to spend a night in Miami waiting for the next flight.

AA put me up at Don Shula's Hotel and while I was expecting another American Airlines disapointment the place was not bad. The room was a little dated but definitely clean. The pink walls were a little hard on the eyes, but for a quick stay it was fine.

It is a little far from the airport (25 Min) and a cab will cost you $42.

Service was good, at the front desk and the steakhouse was a little overpriced but not bad.

Stayed February 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jax
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2008

I have stayed at Shula's Hotel on a regular basis since 2001. I have always found the staff to be friendly, courteous, and always willing to help. The golf course is delightful to play as well as challenging. A GREAT Value.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shula's Hotel & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shula's Hotel & Golf Club

Address: 6842 Main Street, Miami Lakes, FL 33014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Miami Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shula's Hotel & Golf Club 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Shula's Hotel & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shula`s Hotel And Golf Club
Shulas Hotel Miami Lakes
Don Shula Hotel
Don Shulas Hotel Miami Lake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.