We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs some serious updating !” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Shula's Hotel & Golf Club

Save Saved
You added Shula's Hotel & Golf Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shula's Hotel & Golf Club
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6842 Main Street, Miami Lakes, FL 33014   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Miami Lakes
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Needs some serious updating !”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Stayed there 2 times for work, I did not have a choice.
1st time elevator was out, access door to the stairs were locked, it took me 20 minutes to get to my room.
2nd time a pipe burst in the middle of the night, fire alarm went off !!!

Rooms are very dated, and need to be remodeled.
A/C is extremely loud and blows directly on you, woke up with a sore throat.

On the positive side, price is reasonably cheap and the staff is friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
didierv1 - We are disappointed to hear about the challenges you encountered while staying with us and we apologize for any inconveniences they may have caused you. We appreciate you sharing this information with us and hope to have another opportunity in the near future to turn this experience around. Thank you for allowing us to be of service to you.

Safe Travels

Jorge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    83
    100
    65
    37
    26
See reviews for
52
57
22
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I arrived at 8 am on a red eye to Miami and the Shula Hotel receptionist was very accomidating and allowed me to check-in early. She quickly found an clean hotel room. The staff was friendly and pleasant. The rate was great and location allowed for shopping adjacent to the hotel. I plan to stay at this hotel on future visits.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Leticia S - We understand that traveling can be challenging at times and we were happy to be able to accommodate you early. We appreciate the kind words regarding our team and will be sure to share it with them. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and we look forward to being of service to you in the near future.

Safe Travels

Jorge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Got it through hotwire and was impressed by the quality: the room was big, clean, with a nice bathroom.

The parking is convenient and there are plenty of nice restaurants 1 block from the hotel, that you can go walking.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
GlobGoing - Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Shula's Hotel with us. We were glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and also had an opportunity to experience our neighborhood as well. We hope to have another opportunity to be of service to you again in the near future.

Thanks Again and Safe Travels

Jorge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights while Cardinals were playing the Marlins in June 2013. Room was clean, beds were comfortable, nice flat screen TV and parking and WiFi were free. Lots of restaurants nearby. Staff was very friendly. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: the pool side rooms have balcony or patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
IndianaAllinfan - Our team will be happy to hear about your recent experience at Shula's Hotel and we appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts with us. We hope you had a great time at the ballpark and we look forward to your next visit.

Thank you again for sharing and wishing you safe travels.

Jorge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Catering Director, Catering Manager and staff were wonderful and service they provided was excellent. Grand Slam Banquet room and reception area was setup before deadline. We were able to setup our additional items before guests arrive for event. Hotel rooms were comfortable and very clean. I would highly recommend this hotel for your next event.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
sunflowerjunky - Thank you for choosing Shula's Hotel to host your annual event. We are happy to hear that your event was a success and we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

Thanks Again and Safe Travels

Jorge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I had business in Miami Lakes and chose Shula's Hotel. My room was great, spacious, fresh look and bed was too comfy.......they have these cool door locks where you just pass the card key over this disc and voila, it opens. I got there late evening in time to have a sandwich and beer in Shula's restaurant, the place was packed with Miami Heat fans as it was game 7 in the conference finals. The server was terrific and the grilled chicken sandwich was great. Amid the roars and sounds from about 50 TVs in the place it was an enjoyable and fun evening. I left early the next morning so didn't really get to do much but enjoyed my brief visit and will be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
stauggyguy - Glad you enjoyed the energy level at shula's steak 2 during the finals. We hope you have another opportunity in the near future to experience more of what Shula's has to offer. Thank you for sharing your experience with us and we look forward to you next visit.

Safe Travels.

Jorge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Just got home from a 3 night stay for a business trip. Shula's 2 was good the one night I ate there also had a good "sports dj" working that night. Found the desk was often un-staffed and had to wait for somebody to come out couple of times. Problem on check-in, they couldn't find my reservation even though I offered confirmation #. Cell phone connections were horriable but i think this is more of a Verizon lack-of-coverage thing. Wireless in the room (#1229) was really bad but they had did have a wire I could plug in with that and that worked well. Wood floors aren't too bad unless you're on the ground floor and there is somebody above you. Especially if that somebody is wearing heels, sounds a lot like rifleshots when they walk

Room Tip: higher floors are little less noisy. good choice of restaurants with in walking distance. watch ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
50-in-Cabo - Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Shula's Hotel. So sorry to hear about your challenges with some of the items you mentioned. We hope the remainder of your stay was enjoyable and look forward to having another opportunity to be of service to you in the near future.

Thank You Again and Safe Travels

Jorge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shula's Hotel & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shula's Hotel & Golf Club

Address: 6842 Main Street, Miami Lakes, FL 33014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Miami Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shula's Hotel & Golf Club 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Shula's Hotel & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shula`s Hotel And Golf Club
Shulas Hotel Miami Lakes
Don Shula Hotel
Don Shulas Hotel Miami Lake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.