We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“little underwhelmed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shula's Hotel & Golf Club

Save Saved
You added Shula's Hotel & Golf Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shula's Hotel & Golf Club
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6842 Main Street, Miami Lakes, FL 33014   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Miami Lakes
Novato, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“little underwhelmed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Just got home from a 3 night stay for a business trip. Shula's 2 was good the one night I ate there also had a good "sports dj" working that night. Found the desk was often un-staffed and had to wait for somebody to come out couple of times. Problem on check-in, they couldn't find my reservation even though I offered confirmation #. Cell phone connections were horriable but i think this is more of a Verizon lack-of-coverage thing. Wireless in the room (#1229) was really bad but they had did have a wire I could plug in with that and that worked well. Wood floors aren't too bad unless you're on the ground floor and there is somebody above you. Especially if that somebody is wearing heels, sounds a lot like rifleshots when they walk

Room Tip: higher floors are little less noisy. good choice of restaurants with in walking distance. watch ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
50-in-Cabo - Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Shula's Hotel. So sorry to hear about your challenges with some of the items you mentioned. We hope the remainder of your stay was enjoyable and look forward to having another opportunity to be of service to you in the near future.

Thank You Again and Safe Travels

Jorge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    95
    68
    35
    27
See reviews for
55
58
22
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I did stay &play package with the golf course. The room had a hardwood floor. One sink in the bathroom was replaced and upgraded to granite countertop. The shower is from 1990's, I could hear conversation in room next to me, a/c unit is loud but working, staff friendly, breakfast was full service, golf course is going under major renovation at end of may, greens being replaced, wish I new that when I made tee time, package price was wonderful , would like to play course after renovation. Keep trying,

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Bermuda
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Front desk staff were courteous as well as your dining staff. Room was very nice. The only downside was housekeeping - I came back to my room after it had been cleaned but all was not completed. For example, a pillow was left on the floor, the bath mat was not replaced, the TV remote had low batteries so was not reliable. These were small details but I think easy to avoid and/or correct.
Otherwise, it's a good hotel in a nice area and I would recommend to others.
Colin

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I've been staying here for business trips because its the closest hotel to the office but wish I had better options. The rooms are decent, good size, laminate flooring instead of carpet so you avoid issues with a high humidity climate and carpet. The rooms could use some love, marks on the walls, chips in paint on the door frame, repair marks from previous water damage on the ceiling. Also, the maid service is horrible. Always leave the ironing board out. They left trash in a co-workers room for a week.

It was also a bit of an uneasy feeling when I drove into the parking lot and saw a vehcile on blocks with no wheels. Not the best feeling to know there is crime like that while security is on staff in the hotel you're staying at.

I will say location is good though. Many restaurants and shops within walking distance. For a decent rate, putting up with the mediocre services isn't unreasonable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I were down in miam for the run for your life 5k zombie race and we stayed for the weekend. From the moment we checked in to the moment we check out the hotel and staff treated us excellent. The rooms where huge and the bed felt like a cloud. We did not get a chance to eat breakfast but we did eat a late meal at the bar and the food was really good. We will stay there again next time we are in Miami

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Business traveler staying for 1st time. Front desk staff efficient and courteous. Appears to me that many items could be corrected with minor maintenance repair, such as cleaning and low cost maintenance items neglected, IE, hair and dirt in dresser drawers, hole in wall at light switch (maybe a roof leak has caused rotting drywall?); minor touch up paint needed on bath door, etc. Low cost, labor items concern me, as this is only what I can see...what is neglected that I cannot readily see? Would not recommend paying over one hundred per night. No frig or micro in room but free and plentiful parking. Within walking distance to a very nice downtown area. No pics to share at this time as in process of phone upgrading.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Robyn Z - Thank you for providing us with some insight into your recent experience at Shula's. We do apologize for some of the conditions you found in your room during your stay. We did just recently renovate our guestrooms and we should not have had those conditions present. We have reviewed your comments with our management team to ensure that these types of conditions are addressed and emphasize the importance of these details. We appreciate you taking the time to share.

Safe Travels

Jorge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt Island, Florida
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Definetly needs a makeover. Come on guys,easy stuff like painting. We stayed in room 1268 and bathroom was gross, but could be easily fixed so I am not sure what your maintenance dept is doing. Needs grout cleaned, door area painted and caulking in tub area redone.

Staff first day made us feel like royalty, second day front desk girl was rude and unhelpful. It was pouring down rain and we were trying to load car and leave and was told we couldnt under the front shelter and had to move???

We are looking for an hotel to travel to in Miami few times a month that has golf and we were excited about Shulas, but now are on the hunt again.

D Ricci, Merritt Island Fl (dlc0413@aol.com)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
dlc0413 - We are very disappointed to hear that your recent stay with us did not meet your expectations. We pride ourselves in providing simply great service and it appears we did not deliver this consistently to you and for that we sincerely apologize. I can also appreciate your perspective on guestroom maintenance and we understand this to be a very critical guest experience touch point. Our maintenance team is very diligent in maintaining our standards but there is always room for improvement. We have shared your observations with them and stressed the significant impact their role is with guest satisfaction. Thank you for sharing your experience with us and we hope you would consider allowing us another opportunity to turn this experience around. We are a wonderful golf destination and we are confident you will feel the same way.

Thank You Again and Safe Travels

Jorge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shula's Hotel & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shula's Hotel & Golf Club

Address: 6842 Main Street, Miami Lakes, FL 33014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Miami Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shula's Hotel & Golf Club 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Shula's Hotel & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shula`s Hotel And Golf Club
Shulas Hotel Miami Lakes
Don Shula Hotel
Don Shulas Hotel Miami Lake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.