We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I will stay again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shula's Hotel & Golf Club

Save Saved
You added Shula's Hotel & Golf Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shula's Hotel & Golf Club
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6842 Main Street, Miami Lakes, FL 33014   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Miami Lakes
Hamilton, Bermuda
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I will stay again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Front desk staff were courteous as well as your dining staff. Room was very nice. The only downside was housekeeping - I came back to my room after it had been cleaned but all was not completed. For example, a pillow was left on the floor, the bath mat was not replaced, the TV remote had low batteries so was not reliable. These were small details but I think easy to avoid and/or correct.
Otherwise, it's a good hotel in a nice area and I would recommend to others.
Colin

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    77
    94
    67
    35
    27
See reviews for
53
58
22
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I've been staying here for business trips because its the closest hotel to the office but wish I had better options. The rooms are decent, good size, laminate flooring instead of carpet so you avoid issues with a high humidity climate and carpet. The rooms could use some love, marks on the walls, chips in paint on the door frame, repair marks from previous water damage on the ceiling. Also, the maid service is horrible. Always leave the ironing board out. They left trash in a co-workers room for a week.

It was also a bit of an uneasy feeling when I drove into the parking lot and saw a vehcile on blocks with no wheels. Not the best feeling to know there is crime like that while security is on staff in the hotel you're staying at.

I will say location is good though. Many restaurants and shops within walking distance. For a decent rate, putting up with the mediocre services isn't unreasonable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I were down in miam for the run for your life 5k zombie race and we stayed for the weekend. From the moment we checked in to the moment we check out the hotel and staff treated us excellent. The rooms where huge and the bed felt like a cloud. We did not get a chance to eat breakfast but we did eat a late meal at the bar and the food was really good. We will stay there again next time we are in Miami

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Business traveler staying for 1st time. Front desk staff efficient and courteous. Appears to me that many items could be corrected with minor maintenance repair, such as cleaning and low cost maintenance items neglected, IE, hair and dirt in dresser drawers, hole in wall at light switch (maybe a roof leak has caused rotting drywall?); minor touch up paint needed on bath door, etc. Low cost, labor items concern me, as this is only what I can see...what is neglected that I cannot readily see? Would not recommend paying over one hundred per night. No frig or micro in room but free and plentiful parking. Within walking distance to a very nice downtown area. No pics to share at this time as in process of phone upgrading.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Robyn Z - Thank you for providing us with some insight into your recent experience at Shula's. We do apologize for some of the conditions you found in your room during your stay. We did just recently renovate our guestrooms and we should not have had those conditions present. We have reviewed your comments with our management team to ensure that these types of conditions are addressed and emphasize the importance of these details. We appreciate you taking the time to share.

Safe Travels

Jorge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt Island, Florida
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Definetly needs a makeover. Come on guys,easy stuff like painting. We stayed in room 1268 and bathroom was gross, but could be easily fixed so I am not sure what your maintenance dept is doing. Needs grout cleaned, door area painted and caulking in tub area redone.

Staff first day made us feel like royalty, second day front desk girl was rude and unhelpful. It was pouring down rain and we were trying to load car and leave and was told we couldnt under the front shelter and had to move???

We are looking for an hotel to travel to in Miami few times a month that has golf and we were excited about Shulas, but now are on the hunt again.

D Ricci, Merritt Island Fl (dlc0413@aol.com)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
dlc0413 - We are very disappointed to hear that your recent stay with us did not meet your expectations. We pride ourselves in providing simply great service and it appears we did not deliver this consistently to you and for that we sincerely apologize. I can also appreciate your perspective on guestroom maintenance and we understand this to be a very critical guest experience touch point. Our maintenance team is very diligent in maintaining our standards but there is always room for improvement. We have shared your observations with them and stressed the significant impact their role is with guest satisfaction. Thank you for sharing your experience with us and we hope you would consider allowing us another opportunity to turn this experience around. We are a wonderful golf destination and we are confident you will feel the same way.

Thank You Again and Safe Travels

Jorge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurley, Alabama
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Shula's Hotel for a week. He had to be in Miami Lakes on a business trip and joined him. We arrived, received our key and went to our room. The ladies at the front desk were really nice. The hotel looked inviting and the gardens are beautiful and well kept. The room we were given too was on the third floor facing the pool. The room had hardwood flooring and looked very nice until I went into the bathroom and found a long black hair on the wall above the bathtub and some hairs behind the door. I then noticed who ever cleaned the glassdoor to the balcony didn't do a good job because it was all smeared up. But I thought, it's not that important, I'm here to relax and my husband had been staying here before and was pleased with the hotel. I was wrong. It was difficult to relax, there was a party going on by the pool and after we thought the pleople left, they continued to party until 3am in the morning in the room next to us. We didn't get any sleep. The next morning, which was a Sunday, we went downstairs to have breakfast. The first thing we were asked was: "Do you have a voucher?". My husband wondered why we needed a voucher since breakfast was included last time he stayed there. The ladies at the desk told us breakfast is no longer included and costs $13.95 per person but we could upgrade to another room for an extra $30 a night (breakfast included). Do the math... , we kept our room. We then told the receptionist we were not happy about this at all, especially after we had such a bad night. She then apologized and offered us free breakfast but only for that morning. We thanked her and went to the restaurant. We sat and waited hoping someone would bring us coffee because other guests were waited on. But nothing happened. So we got up and went to the breakfast bar and helped ourselves. The breakfast was not worth $13.99. Holiday Inn has a better breakfast. The sausage, bacon, eggs - which should have been warm - were cold. The service was bad and it seemed like everyone was served coffee but us. Well the rest of the week was nice, no more parties or anything else disturbing our sleep. The only other thing as far as noise goes are the constant sound of the airplanes flying very low over the hotel property, landing at the nearby airport. The room attendant was very nice but didn't speak nor understood English. I also was hoping to use the pool but the water was freezing cold. I got to use the fitness center which is located across the street of the hotel. The great part of the location of this hotel is, it is right on Main Street and there are plenty of good restaurants to go to for lunch or dinner. There is also a CVS and a Publix in walking distance, which I went to every day. There are no refrigerators in the room but you can have one for $15/day. I guess nothing is free anymore.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
GiselaF - Thank you for providing some insight into your recent stay at Shula's. We were sorry to see that we did not meet your expectations on some of the items you mentioned and appreciate the opportunity you have provided us by sharing. We look forward to using this information as a platform to ensure we consistently provide the level of service that exceeds our guest's expectations and are indicative of what a guest at Shula's would expect. Again we apologize for some of the challenges you encountered and know that your perspective is of value to us and we appreciate you taking the time to share. We hope we have another opportunity to be of service to you in the future and turn this experience around.

Thanks Again and Safe Travels

Jorge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

I shared a room with a friend and that was fine as the room is big enough. The beds are fantastic! In my opinion the hotel is in need of a make over but otherwise good. The steak house serves great food. The break fast buffet is boring and limited.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Kristian S - Dobrý den! Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Shula's with us and we hope you had an opportunity to enjoy our neighborhood during you week you stayed with us. So sorry to hear that breakfast did not capture your interest and appreciate your perspective. We will be sure to share this with our food and beverage team.

Thank You Again and Safe Travels

Jorge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Shula's Hotel & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shula's Hotel & Golf Club

Address: 6842 Main Street, Miami Lakes, FL 33014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Miami Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shula's Hotel & Golf Club 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TravelClick, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Shula's Hotel & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shula`s Hotel And Golf Club
Shulas Hotel Miami Lakes
Don Shula Hotel
Don Shulas Hotel Miami Lake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;