We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shula's Hotel & Golf Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Shula's Hotel & Golf Club to your Saves list
Shula's Hotel & Golf Club
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6842 Main Street, Miami Lakes, FL 33014   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Miami Lakes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Booked this hotel on Priceline a few weeks prior to WMC in Miami. The hotel is a bit of a drive if you're visiting Miami, but not too bad. Room was very comfortable, hotel was quiet, neighborhood was great.

I saw that standard rates for the hotel are usually $160 a night. I think that might be a bit high for this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Jdshaw1987 - We hope you had a great time at Ultra Music Fest. Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent experience at Shula's and we were glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and our neighborhood. We hope to see you in 2014 or sooner.

Thanks Again and Safe Travels

Jorge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    101
    69
    37
    28
See reviews for
61
59
22
97
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I visit Miami frequently and have been staying at The Shula for many years, maybe 10 times a year or so. I am so pleased with what has turned out to be consistent, palpable improvement in every aspect of the hotel, from the beautiful grounds and plantings to the remodeled and well-maintained rooms to the staff service on both the room and foodservice sides. It is a very lovely hotel in a sweet setting on Main Street and a plce I now simply look forward to visiting. Probably the best gym/spa facility of any hotel in all South Florida, which is saying alot. Highly recommended !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Chuck_Ellis - First of all we would like to thank you for being a loyal guest of Shula's and for taking the time to review your experiences. We have in fact made several changes over the years and are very proud of what we have created here. Our team looks forward to creating great experiences for our guests and is very happy to read your comments and look forward to many more years being of service to you. I also humbly agree with you that our athletic club and spa is second to none in South Fl.

Thanks Again and Safe Travels

Jorge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

For me, this hotel was very decently located for my needs. I was there for a baptism and it was pretty centrally located. The hotel staff is not very friendly. The restaurant, Shula's 2 is amazing. The service there was great, but the front desk not so much. Including making a mistake in my reservation and was almost forced to find another hotel on short notice. Apparently they sent a checkout request to my room, but it was a mistake. However, when I called to clear it up, I was very sternly told to leave. Later, the mistake was fixed. But it still took hours away from my vacation because I was scrambling to find another hotel.

Room Tip: If booked through a third party, confirm reservation directly with Shula's Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
alexfganem1 - Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Shula's with us. We apologize for the issue with your reservation checkout date and hope it did not cause you too much of an inconvenience. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your dining experience at Shula's Steak 2 and hope the remainder of your stay went well. Again we apologize for the inconvenience and appreciate the feedback. We hope to have another opportunity to be of service to you in the near future and make up for the inconvenience you encountered.

Thanks Again and Safe Travels.

Jorge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

I read almost everyone's opinion. I loved it here. It is clean and up graded. Great for families or love ones. Your on Main Street where you can shop until you drop. The food is excellent and everyone is really nice . This is Florida where you get all the relaxation, close to EVERYTHING, AND YOU CAN Walk TO CVS, PUBLIX, the MOVIES etc..,Great amazing stay... Love it

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
1hotbabecatherine - The tittle of your review captures it all. We thank you for sharing your experiences with us and are appreciative of the wonderful comments you have provided. We are proud to offer a unique experience at Shula's and always enjoy hearing about it from our guests.

Thank You Again and Safe Travels

Jorge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

I spent one night at Don Shulas. We were in town for a soccer tournament and this was a reasonably priced place for the team to stay. The two highlights were the price and the cleanliness and comfort of the rooms.

March is high season in Miami so it was great to get a room with two double beds, free wifi and a balcony overlooking the pool for $149 including breakfast for two. The room itself was spotlessly clean. It had some kind of laminate wood floor so there wasn't even a dirty carpet feel. The beds were comfortable too.

The pool area was nice and it was convenient to have a restaurant and bar in the hotel.

The hotel is actually in Miami Lakes, not Miami. Miami Lakes is a very small town with a cute downtown with shops and restaurants right outside the doors of the hotel (convenient, but not big enough to spend more than an hour exploring). Since we were not there to head to Miami Beach, I am not sure how convenient the Don Shula is to the more popular Miami tourist attractions. But if you map the drive and it seems reasonable to you, this is a good hotel to choose.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
NewFloridaMom - We appreciate you taking the time to share you recent experience at Shula's. Our team is happy to hear that Shula's exceeded your expectations. We hope your soccer team had a successful tournament and look forward to being of service to you in the near future.

Thank You and Safe Travels

Jorge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Florida
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Nice location very close to shopping and dining.
Pleasant staff.
Nicely remodeled.
Seems like a nice safe area.
Rooms are very nice for this price point.
I will be staying here from now on instead of the Indigo.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dale S - Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Shula's. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to being of future service to you.

Safe Travels

Jorge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The place is quiet and is well located, on a quiet neighborhood. Very good hotel! The rooms are better after renewal, even though room lights are not enough. The hotel gym is very good and spa attendants are courteous and service is excellent. I definitely recommend this hotel when in Miami.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Celio S - Obrigado! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Shula's and appreciate you sharing your experience with us. We also thank you for sharing your comments regarding lighting and are taking this opportunity to review this in our guestrooms. We look forward to being of service to you in the near future.

Thank You Again and Safe Travels.

Jorge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shula's Hotel & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shula's Hotel & Golf Club

Address: 6842 Main Street, Miami Lakes, FL 33014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Miami Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shula's Hotel & Golf Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Shula's Hotel & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shula`s Hotel And Golf Club
Shulas Hotel Miami Lakes
Don Shula Hotel
Don Shulas Hotel Miami Lake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.