We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and beautiful hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shula's Hotel & Golf Club

Save Saved
You added Shula's Hotel & Golf Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shula's Hotel & Golf Club
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6842 Main Street, Miami Lakes, FL 33014   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Miami Lakes
El Paso, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location and beautiful hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

For me, this hotel was very decently located for my needs. I was there for a baptism and it was pretty centrally located. The hotel staff is not very friendly. The restaurant, Shula's 2 is amazing. The service there was great, but the front desk not so much. Including making a mistake in my reservation and was almost forced to find another hotel on short notice. Apparently they sent a checkout request to my room, but it was a mistake. However, when I called to clear it up, I was very sternly told to leave. Later, the mistake was fixed. But it still took hours away from my vacation because I was scrambling to find another hotel.

Room Tip: If booked through a third party, confirm reservation directly with Shula's Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
alexfganem1 - Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Shula's with us. We apologize for the issue with your reservation checkout date and hope it did not cause you too much of an inconvenience. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your dining experience at Shula's Steak 2 and hope the remainder of your stay went well. Again we apologize for the inconvenience and appreciate the feedback. We hope to have another opportunity to be of service to you in the near future and make up for the inconvenience you encountered.

Thanks Again and Safe Travels.

Jorge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    77
    93
    65
    34
    26
See reviews for
52
58
22
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

I read almost everyone's opinion. I loved it here. It is clean and up graded. Great for families or love ones. Your on Main Street where you can shop until you drop. The food is excellent and everyone is really nice . This is Florida where you get all the relaxation, close to EVERYTHING, AND YOU CAN Walk TO CVS, PUBLIX, the MOVIES etc..,Great amazing stay... Love it

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
1hotbabecatherine - The tittle of your review captures it all. We thank you for sharing your experiences with us and are appreciative of the wonderful comments you have provided. We are proud to offer a unique experience at Shula's and always enjoy hearing about it from our guests.

Thank You Again and Safe Travels

Jorge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

I spent one night at Don Shulas. We were in town for a soccer tournament and this was a reasonably priced place for the team to stay. The two highlights were the price and the cleanliness and comfort of the rooms.

March is high season in Miami so it was great to get a room with two double beds, free wifi and a balcony overlooking the pool for $149 including breakfast for two. The room itself was spotlessly clean. It had some kind of laminate wood floor so there wasn't even a dirty carpet feel. The beds were comfortable too.

The pool area was nice and it was convenient to have a restaurant and bar in the hotel.

The hotel is actually in Miami Lakes, not Miami. Miami Lakes is a very small town with a cute downtown with shops and restaurants right outside the doors of the hotel (convenient, but not big enough to spend more than an hour exploring). Since we were not there to head to Miami Beach, I am not sure how convenient the Don Shula is to the more popular Miami tourist attractions. But if you map the drive and it seems reasonable to you, this is a good hotel to choose.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
NewFloridaMom - We appreciate you taking the time to share you recent experience at Shula's. Our team is happy to hear that Shula's exceeded your expectations. We hope your soccer team had a successful tournament and look forward to being of service to you in the near future.

Thank You and Safe Travels

Jorge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Florida
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Nice location very close to shopping and dining.
Pleasant staff.
Nicely remodeled.
Seems like a nice safe area.
Rooms are very nice for this price point.
I will be staying here from now on instead of the Indigo.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dale S - Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Shula's. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to being of future service to you.

Safe Travels

Jorge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The place is quiet and is well located, on a quiet neighborhood. Very good hotel! The rooms are better after renewal, even though room lights are not enough. The hotel gym is very good and spa attendants are courteous and service is excellent. I definitely recommend this hotel when in Miami.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Celio S - Obrigado! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Shula's and appreciate you sharing your experience with us. We also thank you for sharing your comments regarding lighting and are taking this opportunity to review this in our guestrooms. We look forward to being of service to you in the near future.

Thank You Again and Safe Travels.

Jorge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We travel to Miami frequently and we had stayed at this hotel many years ago, now we decided to book at Shula's because they were offering a better rate than our usual choice, well we were glad we did, the staff is incredibly helpful, my 4 year old was crying for hot milk and the front desk staff went out of they way to help me, the gentleman found me a warm glass of milk at the Shula's Steakhouse. We also forgot our tooth brushes and sure enough they brought them free of charge also tooth paste. The rooms were exceptionally clean (no carpet) that's a plus for us, Beds are super, common areas and grounds are well kept, This hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Miami Lakes with easy access to Main Street where you can find from dinning to movies.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Joel P - Many thanks for giving us the opportunity again to be your choice hotel while in Miami. We are happy to be of service to you and your family and look forward to being your usual choice hotel in your future travels. We also appreciate you sharing your experience with us and will be sure to share your comments with our team.

Thanks Again and Safe Travels

Jorge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earth City, Missouri
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I was really impressed by the helpful, professional staff who worked w/me during a recent golf tourney (i.e. obtaining the room, pointing out great place to eat -- El Novillo restaurant nearby and telling me that we could park outside and not incur a valet charge) The only small negative was the server who brought me a glass of flat proseco and then replaced w/another and told me somewhat sarcastically that there was no charge since I didn't drink it!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3rd floor away from pool area to assure quieter stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Proseco - We are glad to hear about your recent experience at Shula's and appreciate you taking the time to share it with us. We do apologize for the issue with the sparkling wine and hope that the remainder of your dining experience met or exceeded your expectations. We will be sure to share your comments with our team and we hope to have another opportunity to be of service to you in the near future.

Thank you again and safe travels.

Jorge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shula's Hotel & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shula's Hotel & Golf Club

Address: 6842 Main Street, Miami Lakes, FL 33014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Miami Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shula's Hotel & Golf Club 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Shula's Hotel & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shula`s Hotel And Golf Club
Shulas Hotel Miami Lakes
Don Shula Hotel
Don Shulas Hotel Miami Lake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.