We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will go back for sure!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shula's Hotel & Golf Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Shula's Hotel & Golf Club to your Saves list
Shula's Hotel & Golf Club
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6842 Main Street, Miami Lakes, FL 33014   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Miami Lakes
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Will go back for sure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We travel to Miami frequently and we had stayed at this hotel many years ago, now we decided to book at Shula's because they were offering a better rate than our usual choice, well we were glad we did, the staff is incredibly helpful, my 4 year old was crying for hot milk and the front desk staff went out of they way to help me, the gentleman found me a warm glass of milk at the Shula's Steakhouse. We also forgot our tooth brushes and sure enough they brought them free of charge also tooth paste. The rooms were exceptionally clean (no carpet) that's a plus for us, Beds are super, common areas and grounds are well kept, This hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Miami Lakes with easy access to Main Street where you can find from dinning to movies.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Joel P - Many thanks for giving us the opportunity again to be your choice hotel while in Miami. We are happy to be of service to you and your family and look forward to being your usual choice hotel in your future travels. We also appreciate you sharing your experience with us and will be sure to share your comments with our team.

Thanks Again and Safe Travels

Jorge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    105
    71
    37
    28
See reviews for
61
61
22
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Earth City, Missouri
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I was really impressed by the helpful, professional staff who worked w/me during a recent golf tourney (i.e. obtaining the room, pointing out great place to eat -- El Novillo restaurant nearby and telling me that we could park outside and not incur a valet charge) The only small negative was the server who brought me a glass of flat proseco and then replaced w/another and told me somewhat sarcastically that there was no charge since I didn't drink it!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3rd floor away from pool area to assure quieter stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Proseco - We are glad to hear about your recent experience at Shula's and appreciate you taking the time to share it with us. We do apologize for the issue with the sparkling wine and hope that the remainder of your dining experience met or exceeded your expectations. We will be sure to share your comments with our team and we hope to have another opportunity to be of service to you in the near future.

Thank you again and safe travels.

Jorge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The location is 40 minutes from Miami Airport and over an hour to the beach. But it is close to several restaunrants which I would recommend over the one on property. The bar was okay but pricey. Better options close by. The fitness center is okay but could use a good cleaning. The front desk personnel are good but they have significant issues with the cleaning staff. Rooms are not ready when they should be and rooms are not clean. I like the hardwood flooring but you need to do a better job cleaning them. The whole room should be mopped not just the entry way. The bathrooms need remodeled. Mine came with hair on the floor that was never removed even though I stayed several days. They need more cleaning staff and better housekeeping management.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
wade j - thank you for sharing your recent experience at shula's hotel. We apologize for the delay you encountered while checking in and for some of the issues you endured in your room. We appreciate you sharing this with us and we will be sure to review with our housekeeping team and stress the importance of their role at our property. We do hope you enjoyed the other aspects of your stay as well as the surrounding neighborhood. Thank you again for sharing.

Safe travels

Jorge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Lakes hotels

Jonesboro, AR USA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Our football team stayed one night before playing at Florida International. The property is gorgeous and the staff is very professional and courteous. The meeting facilities were top notch and the restaurants had great food. Great overall experience!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
ccpillow - Thank you for allowing Shula's Hotel the opportunity to be your pregame host hotel. We enjoy the activity surrounding football season and always look forward to the energy the players bring with them as well as the professionalism the coaching and support staff always display. We look forward to being of service to you again in the near future and wish you a very successful 2013 season.

Safe Travels

Jorge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

After being forced to move from a far less superior hotel late one evening, we were able to book ourselves into this hotel after10PM at night! Even at that time of day, staff were enthusiastic, helpful and sympathetic to our situation. The room was clean, warm and welcoming. The location, near major highways (10-15 minutes to MIA), was a bonus. The grounds/landscaping/fountains etc are all tastefully done and a photographer's paradise. The entire resort area was clean and gave us the feeling of safety and security.

The only complaint we had with this hote is that we can't find anything to complain about!

Kudos to the front desk staff who put a whole new meaning to the word "friendly", and to all the maintenance staff who keep this area looking like a 5 star location.

If you are looking for great value for your hard-earned dollar, a stress-free stay and service which sets the bar, this might be the place for you!

Thanks for an incredible stay after an unfortunate previous hotel choice in the same area!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
1OttawaBob1 - Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Shula's Hotel with us. We are happy to hear about your experience and are very appreciative of the wonderful comments regarding our staff. We are very proud of what we have here at Shula's and our team truly enjoys providing our guests with simply great service. We will be sure to share these comments with our team.

Thanks again and safe travels.

Jorge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scouseville
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for a few weeks last year, and the couple things made an impression on me. Why I did not have ants or bugs crawling around my room like other reviewers (luckily), my thermostat broke on the first night and was unable to turn the air conditioning on. After this, I had to regulate the temperature manually by turning the cooling system on and off as required. This was the start of a few issues I had.

While the room is okay overall, I found the air conditioning to be very ineffective. After just a week my papers felt down and it seemed like the humidity could not be gotten rid of! For Miami, this is very poor.

Finally, the shower was very stiff to turn on and off, I even had to call maintenance a couple times to help me get it off.

I do not see myself returning to this location.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
grouse4scouse - Thank you for posting a review of your August 2012 stay at Shula's Hotel. We are sorry to hear about some of the issues you encountered during your stay. At the time we were in full swing with our renovations and have since completed our guestrooms and common area refreshing. We hope you would reconsider giving Shula's another opportunity to show you what changes we have made since your last visit and turn your August experience around. Thank you again for your time.

Safe Travels.

Jorge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Our room had new floors on the 1st floor near the jacuzzi. The room was nice, clean though the hallways were in need of new carpet and some renovation as it smelled a lot like beer. The hotel has a lot of events so it does get noisy at times. Stay away from the room near the jacuzzi as it gets noisy as it's open 24 hours a day.

Front desk staff was very helpful and friendly. Well trained. Provided an extra bed and fridge for us as well as picking up a ton of packages reliably.

Location is great, near the airport and central to most areas in Miami. Safe area with services nearby. Has an athletic center, golf course and restaurants associated with the property.

Hotel is a bit dated and is need of some renovation. I'd come back again. Not a Hyatt but certainly good value for what we paid.

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms near the jacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
will678021 - Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Shula's with us. We are in our final phase of completing or renovation and believe that the beer odor may have been caused by a guest accidentally. We have also recently changed the policy regarding the hours as we recognized the fact that after hours use may disturb guests nearby and do apologize for the noise. We appreciate the kind words regarding the staff and will be sure to share your comments with them.

Thank you again and safe travels

Jorge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shula's Hotel & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shula's Hotel & Golf Club

Address: 6842 Main Street, Miami Lakes, FL 33014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Miami Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shula's Hotel & Golf Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Shula's Hotel & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shula`s Hotel And Golf Club
Shulas Hotel Miami Lakes
Don Shula Hotel
Don Shulas Hotel Miami Lake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.