We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best I've styed in but not the worst.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shula's Hotel & Golf Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Shula's Hotel & Golf Club to your Saves list
Shula's Hotel & Golf Club
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6842 Main Street, Miami Lakes, FL 33014   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Miami Lakes
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not the best I've styed in but not the worst.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

This building is old. My room wasn't filthy but it wasn't spotless either. There was hair on the toilet and on the towel rack.
Towel rack is rusty and so is the shower curtain.
Location is not really my preference either. There are some tacky chain restaurants near by and some tacky non chain restaurants and shops.
I'd rather spend the extra money next time and stay closer to the beach or even downtown.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    129
    87
    44
    37
See reviews for
75
79
25
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Was only $99 and included breakfast. Breakfast is served in the Shula's 2 restaurant onsite and was excellent. Had a choice of continental; pancakes or waffles; or, eggs with bacon or sausage. Included coffee and juice too, so was a very good value. Food was very good. Room had a laminate wood floor and not rug which was odd. Was clean and had amenities. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: For security I would ask for a second or third floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Brian D - Thank you for posting your review regarding your recent experience at Shula's. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Thanks again and safe travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Friendly staff, comfortable rooms, bright and cheerful atmosphere! All this nestled in quiet Miami Lakes close to everything! Main street shops a nice area to walk right out front. Shula's restaurant adds a nice touch for convenient place to lounge or have a yummy meal. A real value for people who want hometown surroundings and a no-nonsense experience.

I look forward to my next trip there. Nothing beats feeling welcomed!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
retailnet - We were very happy to hear you enjoyed your experience at Shula's and we look forward to welcoming you again real soon. Thank you for sharing.

Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Richey, Florida
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I stayed this past weekend at Shula's during a group trip to Miami and a football game at nearby Sun Life Stadium. This hotel was very convenient to the stadium and was selected primarily on that basis. It turned out to offer much more, however.

I had never visited Miami Lakes before and it was quite intriguing. The hotel and area are so different from what I have experienced in the rest of Miami. The hotel, is located on a relatively quiet and quaint "Main Street" area where you can easily walk the oak-lined streets to various small small shops, restaurants and even a theater. As one might expect from a hotel bearing the name of former coaching legend Don Sula, it has a lot of sports-related memorabilia and artifacts but the hotel also boasts a lot of interesting historic information on the history and development of the Miami Lakes area and the Graham family's role in that.

The hotel, apparently built in the late 1980s appears a bit dated on the outside and in some common areas but the rooms have been pleasently updated and upgraded. They are spacious, comfortable and well appointed. Another highlight is the large and well-equipped fitness center and spa just across the street for guests of the hotel. For dining, there is an on-site sports cafe and restaurant and Don Shula's steakhouse is only a short walk or quick shuttle ride away for tasty and filling dining experience.

All in all, I found Shula's Hotel to offer a unique and pleasantly surprising stay. I would recommend it for those visiting the north Miami area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Bullzfan - Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and for familiarizing yourself a little with our history. There is a wonderful story behind the hotel as well as the surrounding community that we are extremely proud of. We like to think that we offer a great unique alternative to what one would expect when staying in Miami all thanks to the vision of the Graham Family and Coach Shula. We hope you had a great time at the game and we look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Thanks again and safe travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Shula's Hotel last weekend while attending his 40th high school reunion. The reunion was also held there. The property is apparently undergoing a total renovation. The lobby and restaurant were open, bright and spacious, the front desk clerks were friendly and helpful. I loved the hard wood floors in our room! There was also a desk and a comfy lounge chair with ottoman. The shower pressure was fabulous, and the toiletries provided smelled great. The hallways were being painted, and the baseboards being replaced while we were there so things looked a little slap-dash, but it's going to be quite nice once they are all finished. The only real problem we encountered was that the valet/bellman people tended to be a bit elusive. I think that's probably due in part to them playing a dual role, it's hard to man the valet desk when you are transporting luggage! The property also has a pool, full gym and spa and apparently a golf course, although we didn't see it or look for it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Robsmom32207 - it was our pleasure being the host hotel for your reunion event. You all were such a wonderful group of people and we enjoyed having you as our guests. We are glad to hear that you liked some of the completed renovation projects and apologize for some of the ongoing work you encountered. We agree that once completed, it will be very nice. Thank you for taking time to post your review and we look forward to having another opportunity to serve you in the near future.

Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutz, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

I was greeted warmly by the front desk personnel and immediately felt at home again. The rooms are wonderful - hardwood floors, comfortable bed, all the amenities you could ask for. Breakfast at Shula's II is a treat - I recommend it.
Upon leaving, I was treated like part of the Shula family. Such a neat experience! I highly recommend this wonderful hotel whenever your travels take you to Miami.

Room Tip: There isn't a bad room in the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Mark P - thank you for sharing your experience at Shulas with us. Our team truely appreciates your kind words and looks forward to you next visit.

Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

I was concerned about the last review of this hotel but booked it directly to attend an event with my family just in case they were right about expedia. You can tell when some people want everything for nothing and still complain. Most of you can figure out this type of person for yourself. Not our experience. The hotel, room and grounds were clean and the staff was friendly. The double room we stayed in appeared to be renovated and the kids enjoyed it. Comfortable for the $99 we spent as it was good and the restaurant food was good too. I am a seasoned traveler staying at Hilton, Embassy and Westin on business. Location was nice; definitely not the Hilton but saved $104 for the night as we needed location and would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Scout109 - Thank you for sharing your experience regarding your recent stay at Shula's. We are glad you and your family enjoyed your stay and we appreciate the comments regarding our staff and grounds. We are also happy that you had an opportunity to stay in one of our newly renovated rooms and thank you for commenting on it as well. We look forward to completing this project in the very near future. Thanks again for taking the time to post.

Safe Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miami Lakes
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes
Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes
#2 of 4 in Miami Lakes
4.0 of 5 stars 272 reviews
1.0 mi away
Courtyard Miami Lakes
Courtyard Miami Lakes
#1 of 4 in Miami Lakes
4.0 of 5 stars 145 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Miami Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ft Lauderdale / Miramar
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Miami-Hialeah (Miami Lakes)
5.8 mi away
El Palacio Sports Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shula's Hotel & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shula's Hotel & Golf Club

Address: 6842 Main Street, Miami Lakes, FL 33014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Miami Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shula's Hotel & Golf Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Odigeo, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Shula's Hotel & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shula`s Hotel And Golf Club
Shulas Hotel Miami Lakes
Don Shula Hotel
Don Shulas Hotel Miami Lake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.