We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful event, nice accomodations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shula's Hotel & Golf Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Shula's Hotel & Golf Club to your Saves list
Shula's Hotel & Golf Club
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6842 Main Street, Miami Lakes, FL 33014   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Miami Lakes
Hollywood, Florida
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful event, nice accomodations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

I was concerned about the last review of this hotel but booked it directly to attend an event with my family just in case they were right about expedia. You can tell when some people want everything for nothing and still complain. Most of you can figure out this type of person for yourself. Not our experience. The hotel, room and grounds were clean and the staff was friendly. The double room we stayed in appeared to be renovated and the kids enjoyed it. Comfortable for the $99 we spent as it was good and the restaurant food was good too. I am a seasoned traveler staying at Hilton, Embassy and Westin on business. Location was nice; definitely not the Hilton but saved $104 for the night as we needed location and would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Scout109 - Thank you for sharing your experience regarding your recent stay at Shula's. We are glad you and your family enjoyed your stay and we appreciate the comments regarding our staff and grounds. We are also happy that you had an opportunity to stay in one of our newly renovated rooms and thank you for commenting on it as well. We look forward to completing this project in the very near future. Thanks again for taking the time to post.

Safe Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    123
    83
    41
    35
See reviews for
72
77
24
112
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Centreville, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

This place is a dump! Shula’s Hotel was recommended because it was the closest place to the cemetery where my Grandmother was being laid to rest. We booked through Expedia last minute since obviously this wasn’t a planned trip! My first piece of advice is not to book through Expedia if you still consider this horrible hotel. They acted like they were letting us stay there for free since went through Expedia. They made it very clear at the front desk that we weren’t a “priority” guest.

We got to the hotel very late since our flight was delayed and we had issues picking up our rental car. We booked the night before and requested a room with a king size bed. The lady at the front desk didn’t say anything… after parking and carrying our luggage to the room… We got stuck in a room with 2 twin beds!! By the way, the parking lot was empty. There were maybe 6 cars in front of the section we were staying in. We called down to the lobby and the lady at the front desk told us that since we booked through Expedia there was nothing she could do, nothing else was available and when going through Expedia you can only “request” a room… but nothing is guaranteed!

The next morning someone from Expedia tried calling the hotel so we could cancel our stay and the manager at Shula’s wouldn’t allow it. When I called to speak with the manager Anna, and explained the balcony door didn’t even lock, she moved us to a room with a king size bed… 2 doors down. This was done at 10:00 am…. So it was available the night before.

The hotel is absolutely GROSS! You can tell they tried to do some minor upgrades like paint and new furniture… but everything was nasty. The walls outside haven’t been pressure washed in a decade, the floor is fake wood, our balcony door lock was broken, the shower heads were old and nasty, there were bugs in the bathroom, the room was dark and creepy, some of the lamps had to be plugged in to work (they didn’t have switches). The worst part was the smell coming from the entire place. The room, the hallways, the lobby, the elevators, etc… it all smelled old and moldy.

I was reading some reviews on Trip Advisor and other guests had complained about bed bugs! GROSS! I’m also pretty sure someone is putting fake posts about that place on Trip Advisor. There is no way anyone in their right mind would say this place was nice!

Save your money, go to a Holiday or Day’s Inn… it will be WAY nicer!

And please Mr. Manager on here commenting on what everyone says.... just don't reply to my post!

Room Tip: Don't book through Expedia and just don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dawn K - Our sincere condolences to you and your family for your recent loss and we offer our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
novi
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
254 helpful votes 254 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Great hotel if you are with children. The building is laid out around a golf course & large health club. There are interior facing rooms and exterior facing rooms. The rooms were not carpeted, due to the proximity to the pool - but access to the pool for the interiro facing rooms was quick & very convenient. The pool is in an enclosed courtyard with a spa....with plenty of deck chairs & nightlife.

Hotel has a buffet breakfast at the Shula restaurant. The restaurant is set up like a sports bar and should not be mistaken for a typical Shula Steak House. They did not serve "Prime" steaks (only Choice)...but a good food selection and plenty of TV's to watch.

The furniture was a little worn...but all in all a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
m w - Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at Shula's. We were glad to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay and your dining experience. We look forward to being of service to you and your family in the near future. Thanks again.

Safe Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012 via mobile

Small but very pleasant atmosphere...staff is fantastic...I highly recommend...shop or dine a few steps away...

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
mar1234 - Great to hear you had an opportunity to enjoy our spa facilities at Shula's. Thank you for posting your review and we hope to have another opportunity to be of service to you in the near future.

Safe Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

I expected more since the name is famous "Don Shula" and the brunch is usually great. I got my quiet and tanquility and thats basically it. Furniture was worn, balcony not clean, baby item left in refrigerator, coffee spoiled in cup. I was on the Signature floor but did not receive anything special. Most of the food was bland, kudos on the keylime pie and southwestern egg rolls though. Not impress with the complimentary breakfast, McDonald and Dennys is better and less expensive. Would have preferred room service than to go get my food and bring back. Why have a restaurant in hotel and you dont provide room service. No collaboration with hotel and surrounding shops such as discount or menus. I thought that was odd when hotels provide surrounding information in a manual. the plus is its a great location to shop, go to the movie and relax. The a/c was noisy had to maintain it in the 70s to have peace and quiet. If I ever go back it will be just for the quiet , location and tranquility. The room cost and food is too high with the lack of room service and add'l amenities.

Room Tip: Signature floor w/balcony and private access was the great part of the stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
FS51 - Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay at Shula's Hotel. We appreciate your comments and are disappointed we did not meet your expectations on some points. We are in the middle of our room renovation project and most of the issues you mentioned are being addressed. We have also shared your comments with our food and beverage team and have made some changes to the breakfast offerings on the signature floor. We do hope to have another opportunity to serve you in the near future and allow you to experience some of the changes made at Shula's. Thanks again for your time.

Safe Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

We stayed here for one night. We had found a cheaper rate on a travel website and true to their web site they met the price and gave us a free upgrade. They actually upgraded us to a suite which was very nice and spacious. The courtyard area is lovely and the hotel staff was very nice. It's about 30 minutes away from Miami beach area but definitely a good place to stay. Lots of shops and restaurants in walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
pgjudy - Thank you for staying with us and for posting your review on Tripadvisor. Glad to hear you exercised the Best Rate Guarantee and received the complimentary upgrade. We hope you were able to enjoy the neighborhood as you mentioned, there are many shops and dining options within walking distance.

Thanks again for posting and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Dated and greatly in need of renovation, room drab, furnishings tired and worn.
We chose this hotel based on its website and reviews plus location being close but not too near international airport; however did not allow for local airport runway proximity!!
In my opinion website is overly complementary. In response to pre- arrival email I booked table in steak house but received no acknowledgement/confirmation. Had trouble with key cards not working consistently. Steak house 2 dark and service slow - food was ok. Business centre advertised on Signature room floor but also used for breakfast so only open for that period. Huge fitness area with lots of equipment is probably only saving grace.
Would not recommend nor return.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
SweetpeaBasel - We were very disappointed to hear that we did not meet your expectations during your stay at Shula's Hotel. We appreciate the feedback and we value what our guests have to say regarding their experience. We have recognized the fact that we need to renovate and have a plan to complete by the end of the summer of 2012. Thank you for sharing and we hope we have another opportunity to have you as our guest again and turn your experience around.

Safe travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shula's Hotel & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shula's Hotel & Golf Club

Address: 6842 Main Street, Miami Lakes, FL 33014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Miami Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shula's Hotel & Golf Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Shula's Hotel & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shula`s Hotel And Golf Club
Shulas Hotel Miami Lakes
Don Shula Hotel
Don Shulas Hotel Miami Lake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.