We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Spa...great staff, relaxing time, good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shula's Hotel & Golf Club

Save Saved
You added Shula's Hotel & Golf Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shula's Hotel & Golf Club
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6842 Main Street, Miami Lakes, FL 33014   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Miami Lakes
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“The Spa...great staff, relaxing time, good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012 via mobile

Small but very pleasant atmosphere...staff is fantastic...I highly recommend...shop or dine a few steps away...

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
mar1234 - Great to hear you had an opportunity to enjoy our spa facilities at Shula's. Thank you for posting your review and we hope to have another opportunity to be of service to you in the near future.

Safe Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    96
    68
    35
    27
See reviews for
55
59
22
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

I expected more since the name is famous "Don Shula" and the brunch is usually great. I got my quiet and tanquility and thats basically it. Furniture was worn, balcony not clean, baby item left in refrigerator, coffee spoiled in cup. I was on the Signature floor but did not receive anything special. Most of the food was bland, kudos on the keylime pie and southwestern egg rolls though. Not impress with the complimentary breakfast, McDonald and Dennys is better and less expensive. Would have preferred room service than to go get my food and bring back. Why have a restaurant in hotel and you dont provide room service. No collaboration with hotel and surrounding shops such as discount or menus. I thought that was odd when hotels provide surrounding information in a manual. the plus is its a great location to shop, go to the movie and relax. The a/c was noisy had to maintain it in the 70s to have peace and quiet. If I ever go back it will be just for the quiet , location and tranquility. The room cost and food is too high with the lack of room service and add'l amenities.

Room Tip: Signature floor w/balcony and private access was the great part of the stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
FS51 - Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay at Shula's Hotel. We appreciate your comments and are disappointed we did not meet your expectations on some points. We are in the middle of our room renovation project and most of the issues you mentioned are being addressed. We have also shared your comments with our food and beverage team and have made some changes to the breakfast offerings on the signature floor. We do hope to have another opportunity to serve you in the near future and allow you to experience some of the changes made at Shula's. Thanks again for your time.

Safe Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

We stayed here for one night. We had found a cheaper rate on a travel website and true to their web site they met the price and gave us a free upgrade. They actually upgraded us to a suite which was very nice and spacious. The courtyard area is lovely and the hotel staff was very nice. It's about 30 minutes away from Miami beach area but definitely a good place to stay. Lots of shops and restaurants in walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
pgjudy - Thank you for staying with us and for posting your review on Tripadvisor. Glad to hear you exercised the Best Rate Guarantee and received the complimentary upgrade. We hope you were able to enjoy the neighborhood as you mentioned, there are many shops and dining options within walking distance.

Thanks again for posting and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Dated and greatly in need of renovation, room drab, furnishings tired and worn.
We chose this hotel based on its website and reviews plus location being close but not too near international airport; however did not allow for local airport runway proximity!!
In my opinion website is overly complementary. In response to pre- arrival email I booked table in steak house but received no acknowledgement/confirmation. Had trouble with key cards not working consistently. Steak house 2 dark and service slow - food was ok. Business centre advertised on Signature room floor but also used for breakfast so only open for that period. Huge fitness area with lots of equipment is probably only saving grace.
Would not recommend nor return.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
SweetpeaBasel - We were very disappointed to hear that we did not meet your expectations during your stay at Shula's Hotel. We appreciate the feedback and we value what our guests have to say regarding their experience. We have recognized the fact that we need to renovate and have a plan to complete by the end of the summer of 2012. Thank you for sharing and we hope we have another opportunity to have you as our guest again and turn your experience around.

Safe travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

I was very pleased. With this hotel, it had everything. The best part was the amazing gym with a great weight selection. Also by main street with countless shops, a movie theatre and several more places. This place was truly paradise but also had a bad experience with bed bugs. My mom was bitten several time and also had a swollen eye etc...BEWARE! Don't let this put you off as the destination and the hotel aside from this unrecognised issue was perfect. Spa right next to hotel, free of charge and great nice people. Good service and awesome restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Ryan M - Thank you for taking the time and posting your review of Shula's Hotel. We appreciate the wonderful comments and are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We were sorry to hear about your mom's condition and hope it was short-lived. We look forward to having another opportunity to serve you.

Thanks again and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

We won this hotel through Priceline. I just wanted 1 night in Miami. Initially I wanted Miami beach and downtown Miami, but I could not get a room with a $100 budget. I finally got this hotel after I decided to compromise and stay further inland. Room was clean. Check in was quick. There are so many shops and food options on Main st. There was also a movie theater. This hotel is ok for 1 night. It is 30 minutes from all the actions.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
newbees - Thank you for posting a review of Shula's Hotel on Tripadvisor. We hope our team meet or exceeded your expectations during your stay. We hope to have another opportunity to serve you in the near future.

Thanks again and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Enjoyed our stay here. The area around the hotel is nice and various restaurants and shops are within walking distance. Very close to Sun Life Stadium. The hotel is not near South Beach or downtown Miami. If you're looking for a quiet, clean place to stay while in the Miami area, this is it!

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
RobChoc - We were happy to hear you were able to enjoy not only the hotel but the great neighborhood we are nestled in. Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor and we looked forward to being of service to you again.

Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shula's Hotel & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shula's Hotel & Golf Club

Address: 6842 Main Street, Miami Lakes, FL 33014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Miami Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shula's Hotel & Golf Club 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Shula's Hotel & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shula`s Hotel And Golf Club
Shulas Hotel Miami Lakes
Don Shula Hotel
Don Shulas Hotel Miami Lake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.