We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shula's Hotel & Golf Club

Save Saved
You added Shula's Hotel & Golf Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shula's Hotel & Golf Club
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6842 Main Street, Miami Lakes, FL 33014   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Miami Lakes
New York City
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Decent Room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

The parking and room was good. However, only issue was the bathroom. There seemed to be mole/stains on floor and toilet tissue. I guess from humidity. We had the handicap room. Taking a shower, the water would leak out of shower because the bottom lip was about 1 inch. Understandable for handicap access. Just need to use the garbage can and rest it up againt shower curtain pushing shower curtain to not stick outside of 1 inch lip. Room was large and clean. Comfortable beds with a lot of pillows. It was just the bathroom that had some mole. Checkin was fast and friendly. We received two complimentary drink vouchers from the ladies during checkin. The bar restaurant looked clean. All we had was some drinks, didnt try food. All in all, nice hotel and about 20 minutes away from South Beach.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, February 8, 2012
Art800 - Thank you for your recent review of Shula's Hotel & Golf Club and for sharing your experience with us. We apologize for the challenge with the shower curtain and appreciate your understanding that it is wheelchair accessible. Great to hear your stay went well and we look forward to your next visit.

Safe Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    77
    94
    67
    35
    27
See reviews for
53
58
22
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Tennessee
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Shula's Hotel while he was on a business trip. A colleague's secretary recommended we stay here. From looking at the photos and descriptions that are on the website, we were pretty excited. We booked 3 nights in the Signature Room. Well...
The view was of the parking lot and the place only has 3 floors so you're not really on any special limited access area like the website describes.

The bathroom... floor tile, walls, and shower were OBVIOUSLY from the early 90's. Grout was missing, the floor looked dingy. The shower head was about 10 years too old. It had one setting, which was actually quite painful. It felt like a garden spray hose. Every time I tried to adjust the setting, I had to adjust the water temp. The shower curtain was on one of the rounded rods that give you more room, but the curtain kept sliding towards the middle of the rod and water would get all over the bathroom floor. The sink in the shower/toilet room looked like the standard in a military facility with hardware that needed replaced or desperately cleaned.

The pool...small but clean. You have to take your own beach towel or use the towels from your room. There is a thatch roof covered area that probably served food and supplied towels back in the day, but it was run down and deserted. The rooms overlooking the pool are very close. I could hear the conversations of the people sitting on their balcony on the 3rd floor.

Food...we never did get our complimentary continental breakfasts. There was a sign directing us to a room on the third floor, but it was always locked. No one ever did help us figure that one out. Not too big of a deal since the complimentary breakfast included 1 muffin or 1 croissant with coffee or tea.

Staff...they were pleasant enough, I guess. For what we paid per night, we were expecting a little better treatment. I had to call down 2 days to request housekeeping after we had returned to our room and saw that no one had come to freshen it up.

The spa and fitness center...they are across the street from the hotel. Yes, you have to walk outside, go off the premises, cross the street and use the local public facilities. The fitness center is large and is open to the general public. It's like any run of the mill YMCA. Bring your own headset. The spa is Aveda sponsored. Small, decent. The only complaint was that the small, limited seating relaxation area is where the staff stores tea, coffee, water; wash glasses; drop off dirty towels and sheets. If you want to sit outside and relax, you better like tennis because the outdoor seating area backs up directly to the tennis courts.

Shula's steak 2 was the only okay part of the hotel. Even Shula's steakhouse, located off premises, was nice. Pricey, but nice. And if you've read any other reviews on the steakhouse, it does smell musty.
This place is an overpriced, run down, glorified Best Western.

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for the Signature or Patricia rooms, or junior suites. If you want to relax by t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, January 31, 2012
snrbowers - Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club. We are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations but do appreciate you sharing this with us. We always look forward to hearing from our guests and value what they have to say about us. We know from recent reviews that we are in need of some renovations and have already initiated projects and look forward to completion in the summer/fall of 2012. Thank you again for your time.

Safe Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012 via mobile

I can hear the exact coversation the people in room next to me are having- walls made of cardboard!!! Front desk not picking up phone

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, January 31, 2012
Roj222 - We apologize for the inconvenience you encountered with noise in your room and not being able to have it addressed. We do hope the remainder of your stay met your expectations. Thank you for sharing your experience with us and we hope to have another opportunity to turn your recent experience around.

Safe Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayman Islands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

I stayed here with my 18 month old son and was very happy with this hotel. The room was large so he was able to run around a lot. I ordered a cot but it wasn't there but was able to push the bed up against the wall and put him on one side so he couldn't fall out and the beds were super comfortable so we slept very well every night. There is plenty of parking so it is not too far to get from your car to the room. The front desk people were very friendly and helpful. The gym across the road that is complimentary to guests is fabulous! With 50 or so classes available each week, free child care and many machines it was great to get a workout. The restaurant in the hotel lobby was excellent also and I liked that there were shops right next door to the hotel and a large supermarket and pharmacy just 10 mins walk away. Our room backed onto the hot tub and there were groups of people using the hot tub on the Friday and Sunday night so this made for a bit of noise but they seemed to disperse by 11pm. Thank you, will be recommending your hotel to friends and look forward to staying there again.

Room Tip: Rooms not facing pool are very close to the car park and would be noisier, rooms facing the pool ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, January 31, 2012
Vicki T - Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club. We know it is tough traveling with an 18 month old and we are glad we were able to provide you and your son with a great experience. We are also happy to hear you were able to use our athletic facility as it is like no other. We know staying healthy and fit is very important and the club provides a plethora of fitness options for our guests. We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to your next visit.

Safe Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
101 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

I am staying at Shulas and speaking at a conference. The hotel is very old and tired and pricey for what you get. Although the hotel is not full and I asked for a room with a nice view, I look out onto a car park. The shower curtain is torn and the room only gets serviced after noon. I think new management and investment in a serious upgrade will make a difference.
They have free internet which is the slowest I have experienced in any hotel.
The steakhouse is very good and Shulas original steakhouse at the golf club is superb.
This hotel is also far away from the action at South Beach, so unless you really want to be in the area, choose somewhere else.

Room Tip: If you can, overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, January 31, 2012
FrankFurness - We appreciate you taking the time to review Shula's Hotel & Golf Club on Tripadvisor. We apologize for not meeting your expectations on some of the items you mentioned. We are in the process of renovating our guestrooms and public spaces and look forward to completing the project in the summer/fall of 2012. We also want to thank you for your comments regarding Shula's Steak House and glad you had a great dining experience. There are lots of exciting changes at Shula's this year and we hope you have another opportunity to stay at Shula's and see our new look. Thank you again for your time.

Safe Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

The Hotel is in a good location.The staff was very friendly and they respond in a very timely fashion.

I found the hotel to be very clean , along with our room. Loved the decor of the place.The grounds were very nice too, with fountains and a nice pool.

The bed in the room were quite comfy, I slept very well there so that was a plus. The shower had incredible water pressure and hot water, which I rarely have in most places I have stayed at.

There are two sinks - one in the bathroom and one in the vanity area. That really helps when two people are getting ready at the same time, I loved having the extra sink area. Nice flat screen TV.

The hotel has free parking with plenty of parking spots.

Room Tip: Only thing was I found it hard to get to my room as far as distance goes, I have a handicap with my...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, January 31, 2012
Cheryl02760 - Thank you for your recent review of Shula's Hotel & Golf Club. We were happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate your comments regarding our staff and property. We hope you have another opportunity to stay with us in the near future as we are very excited about some upcoming changes in our guestrooms and public areas. Be sure to ask for a room closer to the elevator as we would be happy to make that happen for you.

Safe Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa,Fl.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

We stayed here for a few days in January. I am not to picky, therefore I have no complaints. Check in was quick and easy. The rooms have hard wood floors and are very roomy. The bed was average, the room layout was unique in that it had a very large desk to work on and the hard wood floors are a nice touch that I have not experienced at other hotels. I am guessing it is an older property that Shula's bought and put a steakhouse and sports bar in. The grounds are very tropical and the art throughout the property is exquisite. The business center (closet) needs some TLC but otherwise, no complaints.

Room Tip: Junior suite is just a larger room, not a true suite. Save your money and get the regular suite or a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shula's Hotel & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shula's Hotel & Golf Club

Address: 6842 Main Street, Miami Lakes, FL 33014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Miami Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shula's Hotel & Golf Club 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TravelClick, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Shula's Hotel & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shula`s Hotel And Golf Club
Shulas Hotel Miami Lakes
Don Shula Hotel
Don Shulas Hotel Miami Lake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.