We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shula's Hotel & Golf Club

Save Saved
You added Shula's Hotel & Golf Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shula's Hotel & Golf Club
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6842 Main Street, Miami Lakes, FL 33014   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Miami Lakes
Las Vegas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Location!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

If you're looking for a 5 star hotel, this is not it. If you are looking for a 3.5 star hotel in a good location with a clean room, than you will be satisfied. The room itself is fine, nothing fancy, but it does the trick. There is plenty of storage for your clothes. The walls are yellow and the floors are laminated imitation hardwood. The floors look brand new. The room has a flat panel TV with plenty of channels. All the rooms have a terrace. Ft. Lauderdale and Hollywood Beach are a half-hour drive. They are my favorite beaches.

PROS

1. Hotel is in a good location. There is a shopping area right around the corner from the hotel that has restaurants and a movie theater. TIP - Do not eat at the Thai Cafe.
2. The hotel has free parking with plenty of parking spots.
3. The beds in the room were quite comfy. I slept very well.
4. The shower had incredible water pressure.
5. The maintenance staff is great. They respond in a very timely fashion. Brent was fantastic.
6. There are two sinks - one in the bathroom and one in the vanity area. That really helps when two people are getting ready at the same time.

CONS

1. There is no refrigerator in the room. You can rent one for $10.00 per night, but my feeling is that a refrigerator should be a standard item in every room. This is the first hotel that I have ever stayed at that did not have a refrigerator in the room.
2. The bathroom and the vanity area lights are controlled by one switch, which was rather strange. If you need to go to the bathroom in the middle of the night, than you will wake up the other people in the room since the light in the vanity area will also come on. The room was not wired properly.
3. The business center has only one computer. The printers were not working. I could not print out my boarding pass.
4. The rooms do not have enough electrical outlets.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, January 22, 2012
girliebeck - Thank you for your recent review of Shula's Hotel & Golf Club and we appreciate the nice comments you have provided. We have also made note of some of the cons you mentioned and hope to have them addressed in upcoming renovations scheduled for mid 2012.

Safer Travels

PS - We will be sure to pass along your comments to Brent and the engineering team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    77
    94
    67
    35
    27
See reviews for
53
58
22
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

we recently stayed at this hotel and were very disappointed. the bathroom had ants and when we told the front desk, the woman was apologetic and told us she would make sure the room was cleaned properly. that night there were still ants in the bathroom.the person who serviced our room threw our pjs on the desk in the morning instead of folding them. the lady who worked the breakfast room hates her job. the first morning we came in at 910 am and she told us breakfast is over at 930. there was 1 bagel sitting on the counter and there were 7 of us. we had to ask whether there were more and only then she took more out. she was upset when we asked her to put the oatmeal in the microwave. if its too much work, leave the microwave out on the counter! for the weekend, we were told we had 2 breakfast vouchers for the restaurant. well there were 3 of us in our room. when we got to the restaurant, we were told we were only allowed to have the bread otherwise we would have to pay and our 9 year old daughter would have to pay 9 dollars for the bread! keep your breakfast. don't even offer breakfast if you are going to nickel and dime your clients.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, January 22, 2012
janm296 - We are sorry to hear about your recent stay at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club. After reading your review, we went back to our food service and housekeeping teams to review your comments and determine what we need to do to correct these issues. We are very disappointed that we did not meet your expectation but do appreciate the feedback. We hope that if you find yourself back in Miami, you will give us another opportunity to turn your experience around. Thanks again for your time.

Safe Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston TX
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

This is not a bad hotel, by any means. But it falls short of the expectation created by the famous name of Don Shula on the marquee.

PROS
--------
Clean, safe. Friendly front desk. Fairly large pool in the inner courtyard. Walking distance to Miami Lakes "Main Street," including shops and a movie theater. Sports bar and restaurant off lobby. Plenty of free parking, and valet is optionally available. Golf course very close by. Rooms facing the courtyard have balconies or a small porch. Rooms are decent size, with one sink in the bathroom and another outside it, which is helpful. The towels, although not full size, are passable.

CONS
--------

I'll prioritize the factors that added up to some disappointment for me. In the hospitality business, it's the little touches that can signal a great place to stay. Attention to detail is not evident here.

1. You'll read about recent "renovation." To me it looks like a minor freshening at best (I've stayed here in past years). The main visible change is that the renovated rooms now have fake-wood laminate floors. It's a matter of taste, but they don't represent much of an improvement to me since they're obviously fake. There is also an (apparently fake) granite counter around the second sink outside the bathroom. There is a 32-inch wide-screen TV that has a low-quality (non-HD) signal coming to it, so the picture is nothing special. The chest of drawers might be new, but in our room it was not level, so the drawers coasted open on their own and would not stay shut no matter what we tried. It provided some entertaining whack-a-mole moments but didn't class up the room.

2. The rooms have either one king or two double beds. Why didn't they go for two queen beds when they "renovated?"? Double beds may have been the norm in the 1970s, but now you can find low-priced chains with queen beds, and for families sharing a room, that makes a huge difference. After the first night, two of us arranged to stay with family members, one in a nearby town, so the other two could get some sleep. Of the other three hotels in Miami Lakes, only one (the C---tyard) has any queen beds, so maybe Shula's didn't feel the competitive pressure to offer queens. I don't know if the beds are new. The mattresses are pillow-top, but they're a bit lumpy and did not provide enough support at least for me. Pillow top mattresses, plush though they seem in the showroom, inevitably form depressions over time.

3. The room has only one AC plug that is free and easily accessible. Otherwise you have to unplug one of the very few lights in the room, or fumble behind the heavy dresser. What was management thinking? Any hotel built in the last ten years has lots of AC plugs for all the PCs and other gadgetry modern travelers carry around with them. The "renovation" forgot this one.

4. The primary color for the resort including the rooms is a mustard yellow. Yes, it's an earth color I guess, but I found the room dark and therefore a little depressing. If you are in the room only at night, this won't matter much, but even then the lighting in the room is dim at best. The little things matter: when you enter the room, the wall switch controls only a small light over the doorway. To turn on any room lights you have to walk through the semi-dark to the bed and fumble for the bedside light switch. When you leave, you can't turn the bedside light off from the doorway. The renovation did provide management with a cost-saving tool, however. The rooms have motion sensors so the AC will shut itself off when you leave the room. On a 95-degree summer day you may have mixed feelings about this. Temperatures were in the 70s during our stay so it wasn't a problem for us. The curtain covering the window does not wrap around at one end, so morning daylight targets the eyeball of the person in the adjacent bed. However there are slatted shutters you can close to fix this problem. It just takes extra hassle.

5. The air conditioning unit is a typical hotel all-in-one box with vents near floor level along the outside wall. Ours made a huge racket when it was on. It wasn't broken, just naturally loud. When we checked in, we couldn't get it to shut off, and the thermostat on the wall was dead. The hotel engineer who fixed it told us that the previous occupant complained about noise from people at the pool, so they hard-wired her air conditioning unit to stay on 24 hours a day, disabling the thermostat, so the AC would drown out the fun at the pool. I guess this qualifies as highly responsive hotel management. But when the previous party checked out, they forgot to rewire our room. So we waited while they returned the AC to its normal function. It does cool effectively. Whether you will find the loud fan a benefit is a matter of personal taste.

6. Another baffling room design flaw: The sink-and-closet alcove outside the bathroom has no door, but also has the only light switch for both the alcove and the bathroom. So when someone gets up in the night to use the bathroom, they have to turn on the light in the alcove in order to get the bathroom light on, which spills light into the bedroom to annoy others who are sleeping there. And if you are in the bathroom with the door closed, and someone else shuts the alcove light off, you are in the pitch dark with no recourse but yelling to get the light back on. Bathroom lighting consists of two bright and industrial-looking vertical florescents on either side of the mirror. Gets the job done, but without class. The toilet stops up incredibly easily. The shower head is an inexpensive, low-flow unit that sprays hard enough, but unevenly, and it's not adjustable. In our room there was a rusty metal plate near the ceiling that the "renovation" did not replace, just to remind us what things used to look like. The bathroom ceiling vent (AC or fan) was caked with dust, and obviously had not been cleaned in a long time. Fortunately, there was no noisy fan in the bathroom that in some other hotels is annoyingly hardwired to the light switch. This might explain why they left the light switch for the bathroom outside the bathroom.

7. The shower curtain is not long enough to reach from one end of the shower to the other. Huh? Flooding is the inevitable result.

8. The walls between rooms seemed quiet enough to us, but the door to the hallway does not block noise effectively. This is a problem shared by a great many hotels. Two nights in a row I was up for hours because a group came back from evening revels and decided to discuss their day outside my door at 2:00am.

9. We had one of the more desirable room locations, on the ground-floor opening directly onto the courtyard pool deck. That was nice, but the door to the pool (at least in our room) only closed or opened with a great deal of force, and thus a loud bang. This was a noise issue but more importantly a security issue, since the door does not latch by itself. It has to be forced closed. When they "renovated" our room, why didn't they fix this?

10. Running along the baseboard of our door to the pool area, inside the room, was a small exposed electrical wire that had been pulled away from the wall, cut, and then closed up again by simply twisting the leads together. How could an exposed electrical kludge like this persist unnoticed?

11. The pool is fairly big and in good shape, but it is surrounded by acres of naked concrete that's not visually inviting. This design decision was made decades ago. A management comment on another review here says that they will be upgrading the pool area in 2012. However nothing they do will fix the pool's most fundamental problem. It lies directly under the final approach path to an active runway at Opa-Locka airport, which is very close by. Several times an hour, a business jet will cross directly over the pool at about 300 feet in altitude. On some days there are also small training planes buzzing in. Opa Locka has no airline traffic, but it is one of Miami's busiest non-commercial airports. The planes are a major distraction for sun-worshippers at the pool.

12. There are no pool towels, so if you swim you have to use the room towels and then request more towels from housekeeping.

Bottom line - not a bad hotel, but could be a lot better, and the "renovation" seems like a missed opportunity.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool and courtyard have direct access (ground floor) to the pool or a balcony with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, January 22, 2012
SleptThruIt - We know your time is very valuable and we appreciate you taking the time to post your review. We have completed our first phase of our renovations which was the floors and internet service. We are eager to start the second and final phase which is scheduled for late spring/summer of 2012. You have made some great points in your review and you should be pleasantly surprised once we complete our project. We look forward to your next visit and reading your future review of Shula's Hotel & Golf Club. Thanks again for your time.

Safe Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

We were on vacation to the Everglades and chose Shula because it was much cheaper than the hotels in downtown Miami. The room was very good, staff were very helpful and the location was good. There were plenty of good restaurants nearby.

Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, January 22, 2012
wonyoung - We hope you enjoyed your trip to the Everglades. Thanks for choosing Shula's Hotel & Golf Club and for posting your review. We appreciate the nice comments and hope to be of service to you again in the near future.

Safe Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

We travelled to Miami November 11-15 primarily for the Dolphins game but also to visit Miami. First, I should point out that there is no transportation to and from the airport offered by the hotel and a cab ride is about $50.00 before tip, without traffic. The hotel itself is in a neat area and there is a street that runs down one side of it that has a lot of restaurants and shops and a movie theater. If you don't rent a car, walking up and down that street is about the only thing to do though. We booked a "signature" room which was on the third floor. A room key is required to access the floor and we had a lot of problems getting our key to work in both the elevator and in our room door. The room itself was very spacious, clean, and the beds were comfortable. We stayed in a room with no balcony and suggest asking for a room with a balcony as they are on the interior side of the hotel and probably quieter. Our room was off the parking lot and there is very little insulation to keep the noise out...we could hear conversations of people in the parking lot.
The "signature" rooms come with a complimentary breakfast and while the breakfast was worth it on Monday and Tuesday, it was not on Saturday and Sunday (in fact, we didn't even redeem our breakfast vouchers on Sunday due to it being a waste of time). On Saturday and Sunday, they give you vouchers for pastries in the restaurant downstairs and they set the pastries up next to a breakfast buffet that you can purchase for $10 more. Once you let the waiter know you just want the complimentary breakfast, good luck getting them to come back to refill your coffee or juice. Also, the pastries get picked through quickly. Now, on Monday and Tuesday, the breakfast is set up in a suite on the 3rd floor and there are a ton of options and it is excellent. We figured this is probably because people staying here for business come during the week and they want to impress them with a good breakfast but we would have liked to have the option of a good breakfast on the weekend too. Fortunately there is a bakery attached to the hotel that is awesome and very reasonably priced and will even sell you patries at half price in the evening...we defintely recommend stopping there!
Now for location...a taxi cab to the Dolphins game was around $25 and totally worth it not to have to try and navigate our way and pay for parking. This hotel is a great place for a Dolphins/sports fan (which my husband is) as there is a lot to look at around the hotel and the sports bar attached has excellent food and plenty of TV's. This hotel is not a great place to stay if you are wanting to see the rest of Miami with no plans of a Dolphins game as it is pretty far north of most Miami attractions. We ended up renting a car 2 different days and travelling to South Beach, Downtown, and the Everglades so it worked out but nothing is really walking distance or even a reasonable cab fare distance so renting a car is a must.
Overall, the hotel was clean, has spacious rooms, had WONDERFUL front desk staff, and had plenty of restaurants in walking distance. It was a good choice for us since we went to Miami primarily for the Dolphins game and we would stay again if that was the purpose of our trip. If we were going to Miami just to go to Miami though, we would probably stay downtown or closer to the airport.
Final tips: We did not have time to use the spa and it has odd hours. The Thai restaurant next to the hotel is more of a Chinese restaurant in our opinion. The bakery attached to the hotel is a must. The sports bar (Shula's 2) is very good but kind of expensive and there is a sports bar about a block away that we would recommend trying instead. Rent a car, they have free parking and the car company's will let you leave your car there for pick up or will drop you off at the airport for less than the cost of a taxi at the end of your stay.

Room Tip: Ask for one that is not off the parking lot as there is very little insulation from noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, January 22, 2012
ohiolovestotravel17 - Thank you for choosing Shula's Hotel & Golf Club and for sharing your experience with us. We hope that despite your key and weekend breakfast issue, your enjoyed your time in Miami. We do apologize for the issues you encountered and have reviewed them with our team in order to prevent them in the future. Thank you again for taking the time to post your comments and we hope to see you again next season.

Safe Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

You will need earplugs. The hotel walls are very thin, and the corridors echo. Add to bedroom doors being tight to close and you have a noise problem.

The Signature floor is a nice touch for a very basic continental breakfast (complimentary), however, the (complimentary) Internet was painfully slow - even when hard wired.

Wirelessly - forget it.

Road noise and trash pickup at 3am made for a night of little rest.

Room felt old and dated, and, despite wooden floors, the room felt unclean.

There are a lot better options in the area. I would not return to this property.

Room Tip: Try for an inner courtyard room on the Signature floor - avoid anything facing a road -the glazing d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, January 22, 2012
PBRD - Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Our guest's feedback is very important to us and we appreciate your time. We do apologize for the noise you encountered and have discussed service times with our sanitation company to ensure appropriate pickup times. We have also recently made upgrades to our internet service and you may have experienced some service issues while upgrades were being performed. We are planning phase two of our renovations for spring-summer. Floors and internet are completed. More to follow. We hope you reconsider staying with us again as we are sure you will not be disappointed. Thanks again for your time.

Safe Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

Stayed at hotel for business. Had to change room due to an ant problem in first room. Second room had air conditioner, toilet, and IT connection problems which took a few tries to resolve. Hotel under rennovation - that's clear. Got the message. Gym was spacious and well equipped but difficult to get access as it too is under renovation. Buffet at breakfast was average. Restaurant staff were friendly and very attentive. Shuttle bus driver extremely gracious and accommodating. Management acknowledged the issues and did their best to resolve them and make amends for which I was appreciative. Speaks volumes about their desire to be customer focused. I do a significant amount of business travel (26+ weeks/year) and my decision on where to stay is based on a few simple needs like a working room, accessible gym, good restaurant, IT/phone access. The time and energy it takes for me to address issues with basic needs during any stay is a true inconvenience and this was one of those stays. Management responded appropriately but I am on the fence about returning.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, January 22, 2012
Norcaltransplant - Thank you for posting your review of Shula's Hotel. We do apologize for having to assign you to a smoking room and understand as a nonsmoker how this could be an undesirable situation. We have started our hotel renovations and part of the plan is to make Shula's a smoke free property by the end of Jan 2012. We understand your experience was short of your expectation but hope you give us another opportunity to turn this around.

Safe Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Shula's Hotel & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shula's Hotel & Golf Club

Address: 6842 Main Street, Miami Lakes, FL 33014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Miami Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shula's Hotel & Golf Club 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TravelClick, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Shula's Hotel & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shula`s Hotel And Golf Club
Shulas Hotel Miami Lakes
Don Shula Hotel
Don Shulas Hotel Miami Lake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;