We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real Treasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shula's Hotel & Golf Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Shula's Hotel & Golf Club to your Saves list
Shula's Hotel & Golf Club
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6842 Main Street, Miami Lakes, FL 33014   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Miami Lakes
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Real Treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

I have a business [subsid of my UK business] near Miami Lakes, and started using Shula's over 10 years ago. Staff are always polite, very hepful and always smiling - bit like being in a family home. Food is excellent and rooms large clean and comfortable, albeit a little dark.
About 30 mins drive into South Beach and maybe 15 mins to coast, but thats no hassle if you have a car. Miami Lakes has definitely gone more upmarket over the years and there are quite a few good restaurants nearby, and an ice cream shop to die for! i don;t play golf, but some of my colleagues do - and there is a good course attached to hotel. there's also a fantastic Shula's health club which is free to residents.
We've tried other hotels but for value, comfort, service it can't be beaten - so we are settled with Shula's now.

Room Tip: All romms are quiet, but upper floors overlooking inner gardens and pool best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
peterdstokes - Thank you for making Shula's part of you travel plans for the past 10 years. We appreciate your description of Shula's as being in a family home. We consider a lot of our guests as family and it is always nice to hear this from our guests as well. Miami Lakes has developed over the years and there are plenty of dining and shopping choices near the hotel. And yes, our athletic club is fantastic and is complimentary to all our guests.

Wishing you safe travels over the Atlantic and look forward to your many more visits to Shula's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    98
    69
    36
    28
See reviews for
59
59
22
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

I was treated like royalty the whole five days I stayed there "SOLO"!! Great resort to go and relax, swim, exercise, yoga, meditate, eat, massage at the spa, and sleep!!!! The Hotel is beautiful. I had consider staying at another Hotel near by. I am so glad I chose this Hotel it gave me everything I needed for this personal get away!! Great restaurants surrounding the hotel, a movie theather, grocery store, Sushi restaurant right across the street and other shopping areas!! I was graced with a balcony!!! It was wonderful, this hotel is good as well if you want to bring your children!!! House keeping was wonderful!
My only complaint is that they charge additional $10 per night for a microwave..

Room Tip: I enjoyed my balcony looking over the pool!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
realitycanbe - Thank you for choosing Shula's Hotel for your recent getaway and for the wonderful comments you provided regarding your stay. We were glad to hear you took in many of the activities that are available at Shula's and enjoyed them all. If you find yourself needing another much needed getaway please do not hesitate to call Shula's.

Thank you again and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

The sheets were the "scritchy, overbleached" sheets of generally lower quality hotels. And the room was a bit smaller than I anticipated based on the website pictures.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. We had a problem with someone, um, "borrowing" our "Please Do Not Disturb" tag and they provided a new one quickly.

It being Miami, it seems that English was a second language for anyone not on the front desk.

Shula's steak house was OK. Not as great as I expected, but I'd eat there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
ProfShadow - Thank you for posting your review of Shula's Hotel. We are sorry to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations but appreciate the feedback. We have shared your comments with our team and look forward to having another opportunity to have you as our guest.

Thank you again and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

We spent the forth of July weekend there and the Hotel was great as usual. We got excellent rates that included breakfast and a $25 discount to the Steak House. I would have preferred the coupon be for the restaurant in the hotel especially since the Steak House is so expensive. I will say that the Steak House is one of the best restaurants I have ever been to. I dropped my knife and the waiter had another one to me before the first one hit the floor. Hotel staff was great and friendly. Shula's also has a movie theater, art theater, tons of stores and restaurants in walking distance. The French bakery and Victoria's Secret were among out favorite hang outs. We had so much fun and we never made it to the spa. We never needed our car. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, July 8, 2011
Rwq891 - Thank you for spending your holiday weekend with us here at Shula's. We were glad to hear you had a great time and were able to enjoy some of the local flavor. Main Street is a great place that offers a variety of shopping, dining and entertainment for our guest and all within walking distance. Too bad you were not able to visit our Aveda Spa but there is always next time. Thank you again for taking the time to post your review and we hope to see you again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights to see my beloved Phillies play the Marlins. It's about a 10 minute drive to the stadium, and also close to Calder Race track in you like the ponies or casinos. The hotel was clean & well priced. Location is right off Main Street of Miami Lakes with many restaurants & shopping right there. We loved the sports bar that is just across the street behind the hotel (forgot the name). Will be going back in December when the Eagles visit the Dolphins!

Room Tip: We booked the cheapest room and it was first class
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, July 1, 2011
MrValiant - We enjoy hosting Phillies' Fans here at Shula's as they have great spirit. Glad to hear you were able to enjoy some of the amenities this location has to offer. Many nice shops and restaurants in this area to enjoy when you are staying for a few days. Yes, come back and see us for the Eagles vs. Dolphins. Always an exciting game. Thanks for posting your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011 via mobile

Price was great and everyone was very helpful. Loved that the cafe in the lobby brewed Starbucks! I was a little skeptical after reading the reviews but was pleasantly surprised!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, July 1, 2011
Katie12travelgirl - Thank you for your recent stay and for posting your review. Our team was glad to hear that your skepticism did not keep you from experiencing Shula's. We appreciate your comments and hope to have you have another opportunity to stay with us again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

I have stayed several times at the Shula's hotel (for it's location close to my business activities) and there is only one thing that I can think of, the convience of the place. The hotel may have lived its glory time 15 years ago and besides a friendly and competent personnal, the place requires a general upgrade of its services. Not really a business place, not really a holiday resort either, it is lacking the proper identity and tries to solves every market's demand by proposing a bit of everything without doing it exceptionally well.
The fact you can still find a cathodic TV in the bedroom, is showing the lack of interest to match today's international hotel standards. The deco is old and dated, and the aircon is so noisy you may have to turn it complitely off, to be able to sleep.
Generally clean, and with plenty of parking space, it gives a remote taste of Motel8 rather than a real 4star hotel.
Not the worst, but from far not the best

Room Tip: stay close to the elevator, with lots of luggages
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, June 23, 2011
ktulu -Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor and for your continued patronage. We are disappointed to hear that we did not meet your expectations and but do appreciate the feedback you have provided. We did complete updating all of our televisions in our guestrooms to flat panel TVs and we expect to move forward with other enhancements in our guestrooms. We look forward to your next visit and another opportunity to turn your experience around.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shula's Hotel & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shula's Hotel & Golf Club

Address: 6842 Main Street, Miami Lakes, FL 33014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Miami Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shula's Hotel & Golf Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TravelClick, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Shula's Hotel & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shula`s Hotel And Golf Club
Shulas Hotel Miami Lakes
Don Shula Hotel
Don Shulas Hotel Miami Lake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.