We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice Hotel as usual.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shula's Hotel & Golf Club

Save Saved
You added Shula's Hotel & Golf Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shula's Hotel & Golf Club
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6842 Main Street, Miami Lakes, FL 33014   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Miami Lakes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very nice Hotel as usual.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

We spent the forth of July weekend there and the Hotel was great as usual. We got excellent rates that included breakfast and a $25 discount to the Steak House. I would have preferred the coupon be for the restaurant in the hotel especially since the Steak House is so expensive. I will say that the Steak House is one of the best restaurants I have ever been to. I dropped my knife and the waiter had another one to me before the first one hit the floor. Hotel staff was great and friendly. Shula's also has a movie theater, art theater, tons of stores and restaurants in walking distance. The French bakery and Victoria's Secret were among out favorite hang outs. We had so much fun and we never made it to the spa. We never needed our car. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, July 8, 2011
Rwq891 - Thank you for spending your holiday weekend with us here at Shula's. We were glad to hear you had a great time and were able to enjoy some of the local flavor. Main Street is a great place that offers a variety of shopping, dining and entertainment for our guest and all within walking distance. Too bad you were not able to visit our Aveda Spa but there is always next time. Thank you again for taking the time to post your review and we hope to see you again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    82
    99
    65
    37
    25
See reviews for
52
57
22
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Key West, Florida
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights to see my beloved Phillies play the Marlins. It's about a 10 minute drive to the stadium, and also close to Calder Race track in you like the ponies or casinos. The hotel was clean & well priced. Location is right off Main Street of Miami Lakes with many restaurants & shopping right there. We loved the sports bar that is just across the street behind the hotel (forgot the name). Will be going back in December when the Eagles visit the Dolphins!

Room Tip: We booked the cheapest room and it was first class
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, July 1, 2011
MrValiant - We enjoy hosting Phillies' Fans here at Shula's as they have great spirit. Glad to hear you were able to enjoy some of the amenities this location has to offer. Many nice shops and restaurants in this area to enjoy when you are staying for a few days. Yes, come back and see us for the Eagles vs. Dolphins. Always an exciting game. Thanks for posting your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011 via mobile

Price was great and everyone was very helpful. Loved that the cafe in the lobby brewed Starbucks! I was a little skeptical after reading the reviews but was pleasantly surprised!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, July 1, 2011
Katie12travelgirl - Thank you for your recent stay and for posting your review. Our team was glad to hear that your skepticism did not keep you from experiencing Shula's. We appreciate your comments and hope to have you have another opportunity to stay with us again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

I have stayed several times at the Shula's hotel (for it's location close to my business activities) and there is only one thing that I can think of, the convience of the place. The hotel may have lived its glory time 15 years ago and besides a friendly and competent personnal, the place requires a general upgrade of its services. Not really a business place, not really a holiday resort either, it is lacking the proper identity and tries to solves every market's demand by proposing a bit of everything without doing it exceptionally well.
The fact you can still find a cathodic TV in the bedroom, is showing the lack of interest to match today's international hotel standards. The deco is old and dated, and the aircon is so noisy you may have to turn it complitely off, to be able to sleep.
Generally clean, and with plenty of parking space, it gives a remote taste of Motel8 rather than a real 4star hotel.
Not the worst, but from far not the best

Room Tip: stay close to the elevator, with lots of luggages
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, June 23, 2011
ktulu -Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor and for your continued patronage. We are disappointed to hear that we did not meet your expectations and but do appreciate the feedback you have provided. We did complete updating all of our televisions in our guestrooms to flat panel TVs and we expect to move forward with other enhancements in our guestrooms. We look forward to your next visit and another opportunity to turn your experience around.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

I reserved rooms for myself and my colleagues at Shula's for 6 nights in April. After reviewing Trip Advisor I was concerned that I made a mistake. After staying at the hotel, though, I was glad I did.

The service of the hotel personnel was great - the people I interacted with were very friendly and professional. The hotel, although not new, is being updated. One of the rooms I stayed in had a beautiful new wood floor, flat screen tv, and courtyard access. The room I stayed in the remainder of the time (two trips), was clean & nicely appointed, though not updated. The food (steaks) at Shula's II was fantastic, as was the service. The location is good - close to bot MIA & FTL airports, and close to the freeways. Main Street Miami Lakes is always an adventure, too.

I'll definitely stay again, and will recommend it to co-workers.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, April 24, 2011
mnpedwards - Thank you for providing us with your comments regarding your recent stay. We are glad that you and your colleagues did decide to stay with us and our team was happy to hear we exceeded your expectations. We were also glad to hear that you were able to stay in one of the rooms we had recently enhanced. We are very excited about some of the changes and know that our guests will be as equally excited. Thanks again for your time and comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

Very outdated, dirty carpet, old bathroom fixtures, and NO ROOM SERVICE ?
The restaurant was just as bad, bad food, very high prices, bad service.
The location was good and dictated the high prices but the quality was very poor.
A 2 star hotel with 5 star prices. You are only paying for the name.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, April 24, 2011
34515Traveler2007 - thank you for providing us with your comments regarding your recent stay. We do apologize for not meeting your expectations and hope you will give us another opportunity to turn your experience around. We are currently working on some enhancement projects and hope to complete them in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Lakes hotels

Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2011

I had a "standard" room, which was spacious and clean! Some colleages got an upgraded Junior Suite, which was fantastic! Overall staff in restaurants, guest services, etc. were very professional and prompt. Just outside the hotel's doors is a fantastic Bouelevard-style "Main St." with lots of various "upscale" shops.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, April 5, 2011
klausdj - Thank you for sharing your experience with us and for the nice comments about our service staff and accomodations. We will be sure to share your comments with our team and appreciate you taking the time to post them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shula's Hotel & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shula's Hotel & Golf Club

Address: 6842 Main Street, Miami Lakes, FL 33014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Miami Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shula's Hotel & Golf Club 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your Shula's Hotel & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shula`s Hotel And Golf Club
Shulas Hotel Miami Lakes
Don Shula Hotel
Don Shulas Hotel Miami Lake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.