We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, lots of fun.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Calder Casino

Calder Casino
21001 Northwest 27th Avenue, Miami Gardens, FL 33056
+1 305-625-1311
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Calder Casino, located on South Florida's Miami-Dade / Broward county line, offers gaming action with nearly 1,100 slot machines and Thoroughbred horse racing in the fall. Calder is a wholly owned property of Churchill Downs Incorporated.
Tampa, Florida, Usa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place, lots of fun.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I thought this was a great place to visit. Its not as grandiose as Gulfstream Park or Churchill Downs but its a great clean place. The negative reviews I've read scared me off a bit but when I went I thought it was a wonderful clean place. They keep it well manicured and clean. They have great wings you can eat while you watch the race!! So go enjoy this laid back race track.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    3
    4
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Calder race course needs overhaul”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I have been going to Calder since it opened in 1971. Now the track is a racino. The casino looks nice and has all the slot machines anyone could want.
The race track is another story. The track is in deep need of repair and renovation.
The seats inside the track are all very uncomfortable.The track looks dingy. They obviously don't care about horse racing anymore. The casino appears to be the only thing important to the owners of this racecino.
The race track has all but eliminated ticket sellers and cashiers during their simulcasting at night.
The casino has a tiny room for betting. However, if you win, you have to trek all the way back into the track to cash in your ticket. Ridiculous! Talk about cheap. Add a do it yourself race track cashing machine.
Calder is close to my house. However, I will be taking a longer ride to Gulfstream or Mardi Gras until I hear Twin spires has spent some money to fix up the race track.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauderdale Lakes, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“You Can Horse Around Here!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Calder Race Track is a great way to spend and afternoon enjoying the power and majesty of race horses. The excitment builds as the jockey's leave the paddock and circle around the gardens before entering the race track itself. What's great about Calder is that you can see the horses and jockey's, "up close." You can bet as little as you like, or nothing at all. Grand Stand entrance is free.

Come out and enjoy the thrill of a day at the races!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
145 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Improved, still not as nice as Gulfstream park”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

The racetrack is in Miami and has been improved in the last 10 years. It doesn't have the sophisticated appeal of Gulfstream Park, but it's a good place if you like horseracing.
The meet at Calder is of mid level, the facility is old but again, some improvements were made to make it more appealing to visitors.
It is a typical racetrack, you go for the horses, unlike Gulfstream Park were you can also follow the races from an outside bar, while your wife shops or window shops in the Village of Gulfstream.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
126 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Nice place to play”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Great buffet! I love that they post the average slot payout percentages; They are in line with the Vegas strip slots. Live racing and simulcast for anywhere in the country.This is a Churchill Downs track.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calder Casino also viewed

 

Been to Calder Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calder Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.